RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Dura Ace Road Bikes for $1395?(19 posts)

Dura Ace Road Bikes for $1395?brerabbit
Jan 30, 2003 11:46 AM
I was offered a Dura Ace road bike for $1395 - brand new 2002 closeout.

It is a Motobecane Le Champion Team. Should I get it?
buy it then.....cdale02
Jan 30, 2003 12:23 PM
all you will need to do is upgrade the frame and you should have a pretty sweet bike.

Just kidding, my first bike was a hand me down Motobecane Grand Record - Reynolds 531 with Campy front and rear ders, so when I see the new "Motobecanes" they are not the same to me. Can't comment on the ride, but the workmanship (welds, paint and decals) is not quite the same as some other bikes. (At least in the few I've seen in person)

Good Luck.
re: Dura Ace Road Bikes for $1395?noveread
Jan 30, 2003 12:35 PM
What kind of wheels? Look at it this way: how much does a complete Dura-Ace group cost? Not much less than $1400, add in the wheels and everything else (frame). Sounds like you have a good deal to me.

Noveread
re: Dura Ace Road Bikes for $1395?raboboy
Jan 30, 2003 1:13 PM
As long as it fits!
Status vs savingsStraightblock
Jan 30, 2003 2:07 PM
Don't look down at the decals while you're riding.

One of my best friends bought an Iron Horse road bike w/9 speed Ultegra from Nashbar a few years ago. It's probably got 98% of the performance of a bike costing double what he paid. It doesn't to me what he rides; he's a great friend (introduced me to my wife) and a strong, skilled rider, but I always feel like he's riding with the stigma of a "no-name" discount bike weighing him down.

If you're not jealous of guys riding DeRosas with Record 10 & don't mind the occasional sneer from some Postie wannabe, the Motobecane should be a decent ride. Keep in mind, though, that if you decide to keep the DA group & upgrade the frame in the future, the Moto will have very little resale value.
I'd definitely go for it!Uncle Tim
Jan 30, 2003 2:50 PM
You will be getting superior made in Taiwan quality (just ignore the complicated stuff about how the workers are poorly compensated and how Taiwan has terrible environmental regulation)!

Most of your riding buds won't even suspect that your bike is Made In Taiwan because Motobecane is a great French name!

You can ride with pride because you saved lots of money and have Dura-Ace. You will be the star at the next club ride!
re: Dura Ace Road Bikes for $1395?B2
Jan 30, 2003 3:24 PM
If you deduct the DA group & wheelset, you're left with about $300.

If you think the frame, fork, headset, stem, handlebar, seatpost and saddle are worth at least $300, you should go for it.

Bryan
BAD MATH - dura ace kits are not $1000phil the wheel
Jan 30, 2003 4:06 PM
I have never seen a new Dura Ace build kit for $1000 - they are more like $1300 to $1400

The frame on this bike is 2.7 lbs and the carbon fork seems fine -- those two together have to be worth over $500

this bike was written up by bicycling as being worth twice the $1800 MSRP
at under $1400 it is about the same as the list price on most 105 bikes

how could you go wrong?
actually...seyboro
Jan 30, 2003 5:19 PM
...Colorado Cyclist has the group for $989.-. Add it up and B2 is about right.
actually... A BIKE NEEDS WHEELS - include thatphil the wheel
Jan 31, 2003 1:11 AM
Colorado shows a DuraAce triple 'group' at $1069 -- but that has no wheels! -- if you convert to double and add wheels with DuraAce hubs - you are at $1300 to $1400 for the BUILD KIT

if you can find a coomplete BUILD KIT for $1000
please list it with sourse
wheels? I don't need no stinking wheels! (nm)velocity
Jan 31, 2003 10:33 AM
FULL Dura Ace? I doubt it!Alexx
Jan 30, 2003 4:33 PM
What companies do sometimes is put on a good set of derailleurs (D/A are, what, $125 for a set, wholesale?), then cheap out on the rest. Is is a D/A headset? D/A BB (although I personally believe it's a waste of money for all but the true racres..)? D/A hubs? Calipers? Pedals? Crankset?
I'll bet you that the only thing D/A on it are the derailleurs.
FULL Dura Ace? yes - it is full including hubsphil the wheel
Jan 30, 2003 4:54 PM
according to the review in Bicycling - this bike is Full
DuraAce including hubs - very unusual - but a great deal
even at full price
Wheelset is Velomax Circuit Comp per WebsiteB2
Jan 30, 2003 7:13 PM
See http://www.motobecane.com/2003tea.html for specs on the bike. It appears that it is a DA group plus a Velomax Circuit Comp wheelset.

If you look at the comparison pricing website for DA components pricing, less hubset and headset it comes to just a tiny bit over $700. Add the wheelset at say $400 and you get $1,100. Well my math says that leaves you $300 left over for the rest.

Bryan
2002 model is different than 2003 - different wheelsphil the wheel
Jan 31, 2003 1:12 AM
I thought the question was on the 2002 model
that oner has DuraAce hubs - 2003 model has VeloMax
another one: full dura, al / carbon for $1495 w/tax.....Bruno S
Jan 30, 2003 8:33 PM
my local club is sponsored by a well known brand. Their top of the line bicycle is AL, full dura-ace, carbon fork and seatstays, velomax comp wheels, selle italia SLR saddle, thompson post and more. The bike is less than 17 lbs. Anyone in this club can by the bike and anyone can join the club. The bike retails for about $1000 more in stores. My point is that yes, someone can be offering a full dura ace at that price.
Where are you getting that deal? do they more? sizes?insidebirds
Jan 31, 2003 11:51 AM
I might be interested in that deal - care to share the seller??
The Seller Is...brerabbit
Jan 31, 2003 8:41 PM
It is from bikesdirect.com and for 50cm and 52cm - Lucky me, that is my size range :)

I've had a Fuji Team from them last year, got that for $1095 with full Ultegra. I will probably turn that into my trainer/loaner bike. They were great to deal with and I had 30 days satisfaction guarantee on the bike.

One other thing to factor in is that they don't charge for shipping. Every other place I have seen charges for shipping.

You know, I don't understand the logic that group retail price - bike price = price of frameset. That means you are inferring that every single company has the exact same operating costs / expenses. That is just not true.

Anyway, the $1395 is for a 2002 model closeout in 50cm and 52cm so I guess that is why bikesdirect has it discounted. Yay - short people win on this deal!
If bikesdirect had my size I would buy one...insidebirds
Feb 1, 2003 2:20 AM
too bad for me - when you ride a 56cm, closeouts are never your size -- the more I think about it the better that bike looks at $1395