RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


CT-1(8 posts)

CT-1zeego
Jan 30, 2003 8:23 AM
After reading a lot of positive reviews on the Colnago Ct-1, I decided to buy a 2001 (pre B-Stay) new 56 cm CT-1 frame with a Force fork. I got it for a good price (I think): 2500Can$ (about 1600US$). Living in the frozen white North, I won't be able to ride it before late March or early April. Lately, I came across a few contradictory comments about the possible harshness of this frame, and I'm wondering if I will find it uncomfortable compared to my Schwinn Super Sport GLX (Reynolds 853 main triangle, carbon fork), which doesn't beat my 150 pound body even after 70 or 80 miles.
Does anybody know if the CT-1 with the B-Stay might be harsher than the non B-Stay model?
maybe....C-40
Jan 30, 2003 8:42 AM
I switched from a non B-stay C-40 to a B-stay model and noticed a little improvement in the ride, but nothing real significant.

Don't worry about it.
re: CT-1mmaggi
Jan 30, 2003 8:54 AM
Depends on how much you weigh and your riding style. If you're relatively lightweight (140-155lbs) and ride pretty hard, expect your ride to be a little harsh.

The heavier you are the more the frame will give, therefore the ride will be flexier and more comfortable.
Harsh?djg
Jan 30, 2003 10:02 AM
No way. This is a very comfortable frame. Extraordinarily so, I'd say, given how responsive it is. Look, opinions vary, and if the fit is wrong any frame can be uncomfortable. Tires matter, pressure, blah, blah, blah. But for a road racing bike I'd say you've got a pretty plush ride waiting for spring. Don't worry, just salivate.
re: CT-1rogue_CT1
Jan 30, 2003 11:58 AM
The CT-1 has to be one of the best riding, most comfortable bikes made. Don't worry about a thing. What paint sceme do you have?
re: CT-1zeego
Jan 30, 2003 12:45 PM
The colour is CTB. It is different from the pictures I found on the web. The blue is the same, but the parts which appear green on the pics are actually kind of lavender. The store owner told me there was a problem with the original colour, didn't hold well or something, but that the new colour scheme was ok. Any wheel suggestion for this frame? I was thinking of Campagnolo Zondas, or maybe Speed Dreams.
Thanks for your answers
re: CT-1rogue_CT1
Jan 30, 2003 10:10 PM
As for wheels I use Velocity Spartacus for training, Mavic Ksyrium SSC SL for road racing and Hed 3 for TT. I can't say I've even tried any other wheels besides these three. Of the three I really prefer the Ksyriums. They are durable as hell and are the lightest too. I really shouldn't but I find myself using them for training more and more now. I love the way they respond when climbing or really hammering out of the saddle. And they look natural on a bike like the CT-1.
re: CT-1Rob Sal
Feb 1, 2003 2:16 AM
Depends on the experience of the people giving the reviews, it could be that they couldn't tell purely from riding it but assumed that because it's made from 6/4 Ti which is stiffer than 3/2.5(compared to a tube of equal size) it was in theory harsher.

I bought a Ti Colnago and didn't feel I could tell much of a difference in ride quality on 'normal rides', but when I used it for my first double century for 4 years I found that, when I got home, I didn't ache all over as previously had when using my 531 bike.