RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What are peoples opinions of new Dur-ace pedals?(9 posts)

What are peoples opinions of new Dur-ace pedals?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jan 29, 2003 2:15 PM
Just curious to hear peoples opinions on the new dura-ace pedals.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
My opinion: Look copies 10 years late....Bruno S
Jan 29, 2003 2:45 PM
They maybe be an improvement over Look pedals. (e.g. better quality, more refined design, etc) But the thuth is that they are based on the Look design. I've read they are great and have seen them already on the road and my LBS. Their main drawback is the price.
re: What are peoples opinions of new Dur-ace pedals?j-son
Jan 29, 2003 3:42 PM
My wife has a pair on her Steelman, and she likes them very much. They replaced a pair of ancient low-end Looks, that had seen better days. They are noticeably lighter than the Looks they replaced, and much more evolved in appearance.

My wife said she doesn't notice a huge difference in function compared with the Looks, but then she's pretty easy to please when it comes to componentry.

I still prefer Speedplay. Although if Speedplay weren't an option, I think the DA pedals would be my choice.
I have a pair of new Dur-ace pedals and this is what I think!Morgan
Jan 29, 2003 3:59 PM
I am an individual who is trying to escape the bounds of the Shimano empire, but every time I try to get away, they pull me back in. I purchsed a pair from a LBS when they first hit the market. I paid 240.00 plus tax!!! At first I thought that was way too much and it still might be but, its the most comfortable pedals I have ever ridden. I have tried SPD, Speedplay, Look, and they all caused my feet to develop Hot Spots on long rides. At first I replaced out my Specialized team shoes with Carnacs. It was a step in the right direction but still had the Hot Spots. That is until I installed the DA's. Long rides NO PROBLEM! And any one who has had foot pain know that they would pay just about any amount for the pain to go away.

So to sum it up:

Positives:
Comfort
Ease of entry
Style
Light weight

Negatives:
Cost
When cranking hard they tend to squeek a little
re: What are peoples opinions of new Dur-ace pedals?JFST
Jan 29, 2003 5:22 PM
I guess compared to LOOK pedals they are not a huge improvement but they are lighter, sleeker, and have a much thinner profile. Compared to the previous SPD-R Dura-Ace pedals which I rode for a year and half and hated them every single day they are vastly superior. Even though they are expensive its still comparable to other high end pedals and even cheaper than some LOOK's. I bought them as soon as they became available and so far I can say its the most confortable road pedal I have ever used. Entry is incredibly easy, almost like a mountain bike pedal. I also really like the three rubbery studs on the three corners of the cleat which makes them very easy to walk in without slipping or damaging the cleat. My opinion is that anyone interested in them will not be disappointed.
Can't wait to get mine! Hope to get them for bday. Now shoes!?nmjtferraro
Jan 29, 2003 9:16 PM
I LOVE EM! Perfect at about 100mi.(nm)James
Jan 29, 2003 10:51 PM
re: What are peoples opinions of new Dur-ace pedals?NEIL
Jan 30, 2003 2:03 PM
These are basically the same pedals Shimano made 12-13 years ago with a new pretty face and some reduction in weight. Those old ones where great. More streamlined and lower corner radius and not to mention cooler looking than the Looks at the time. Then they went through all the other iterations of designs to avoid paying royalties to Look, only to return to return to the same design!
re: What are peoples opinions of new Dur-ace pedals?NEIL
Jan 30, 2003 2:04 PM
These are basically the same pedals Shimano made 12-13 years ago with a new pretty face and some reduction in weight. Those old ones where great. More streamlined and lower corner radius and not to mention cooler looking than the Looks at the time. Then they went through all the other iterations of designs to avoid paying royalties to Look, only to return to the same design!