RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Best Bike for $2k(20 posts)

Best Bike for $2koffroadie
Jan 28, 2003 12:48 PM
What would you buy if you had $2k to spend on a road bike? I usually do 2-to-4 hour fitness rides, averaging about 17 mph on rolling hills. I'll have this bike for another 10 years, so I'd like something classically styled and timeless, not necessarily trendy or "cutting edge." It doesn't have to be super light or super "fast." I don't race and I don't think I'll ever want to, but I do like to do group rides every now and then, and we all know how
i that
goes!

I think I'd like a steel or ti frame. I could probably get a lower-level Airborne frame and build it with decent parts for under $2k, but would like input on steel frames of interest and thoughts on parts (wheels, Campy v. Shimano, etc.). Also, the Dean Vado caught my eye... I could come in on budget with so-so parts and upgrade in due course on soemthing like that. Maybe the Colngago Classic? Aluminum isn't out of the question if there is a compelling reason for it.

Thanks!
re: Best Bike for $2kwookieontherun
Jan 28, 2003 1:49 PM
What about the Trek 2300? A good bike, not a race bike for sure, but its a nice ride...Any Trek retailer should have one in stock :-)
Moto Team is better than Trek 2300 - my opinionphil the wheel
Jan 28, 2003 4:56 PM
but on balance - if you like the Trek 2300 - a Fuji team which you can get for $1100 is lighter and nicer
(although I still prefer a steel bike - Bianchi or Mercier)
I'v got a Trek 2300- a great bike-employee purchase $ though -nmbenja15
Jan 28, 2003 7:53 PM
re: Best Bike for $2kHeron Todd
Jan 28, 2003 2:07 PM
Here are some of my faves: :-)

http://www.heronbicycles.com/complete.html

Todd Kuzma
Heron Bicycles
LaSalle, IL 815-223-1776
http://www.heronbicycles.com
And this is not spam because . . . ? (nm)djg
Jan 28, 2003 3:25 PM
Its not spam because the company is a sponsor!!...nmchopper
Jan 28, 2003 3:53 PM
Reasonable alternatives to racing bike reccos (nm)geeker
Jan 28, 2003 4:04 PM
Maybe or maybe not.djg
Jan 29, 2003 7:03 AM
Some of the component choices seem a bit odd to me, but to each his own. My point was that this is--apparently--a manufacturer's employee (shareholder?) who is using the discussion board and not the advertisements to push his wares. That seems to me contrary not only to the spirit of the board but to the posted rules.
Maybe or maybe not.Heron Todd
Jan 29, 2003 8:13 AM
My apologies. I've participated in this group for quite some time most often offering advice without any mention of my brand except in my signature. In fact, I am often recommending brands other than my own. If you look at the recent American vs. Italian steel discussion, you'll see that the only brand I mention, and recommend, is Torelli. I try to offer neutral technical advice, and this once I jumped before thinking and put in a little plug. For that, I apologize. Given my past postings, I hope that you'll cut me a little slack.

Todd Kuzma
Heron Bicycles
LaSalle, IL 815-223-1776
http://www.heronbicycles.com
Apology accepted.djg
Jan 29, 2003 9:03 AM
Your usual posts seem fine to me.
Hey Todd, don't be a putz, buy an ad if you're gonna advertise**Niwot
Jan 29, 2003 1:23 AM
**
Hey Todd, don't be a putz, buy an ad if you're gonna advertise**Heron Todd
Jan 29, 2003 8:15 AM
Actually, I do advertise on rbr, and we're currently sponsoring the retroclassic discussion group. Still, point taken.

Todd Kuzma
Heron Bicycles
LaSalle, IL 815-223-1776
http://www.heronbicycles.com
And those of us who hang on the retro boardOldEdScott
Jan 29, 2003 9:17 AM
appreciate your sponsorship.
re: Best Bike for $2kSharkman
Jan 28, 2003 3:53 PM
Check out the Landsharks from GVH bikes online. Full ultegra for $2,000. Frame is Dedaccai steel, with a Reynolds Ouzo Comp carbon fork. Wonderful riding bike and a great deal.

I got a Landshark with Dura Ace for about $2,300 delivered to my door. If you have time to wait, you can get your Landshark custom built to your specs for the same price. Or if you're in a hurry, you can buy one of the frames Gary has in stock.

Good luck
re: Best Bike for $2kserbski
Jan 28, 2003 4:55 PM
I was in the same boat as you this past summer as a long-time marathoner who was looking at buying a road bike in order to cross-train (overuse injury, of course). I don't even know exactly why, but I ended up with a LOOK KG361 w/Ultegra and Mavic Open Pros for a little over 2K from my LBS. It's carbon rather than steel but it's got a very "classic" design/geometry and I am super pleased with it 5,000 miles later. I notice that Excel Sports has these for $1,999 w/Ultegra which seems like a spankin' deal and, like you mentioned, I ended up upgrading the shifters not too long ago. Just an opinion from a non-racing cross-training cyclist. Good luck.
re: Best Bike for $2kabelson
Jan 28, 2003 6:44 PM
I'm getting a Gunnar Sport for just under 2k with full Ultegra. YOu may want to chekc out the Gunnar Sport or Roadie. Also check out the Lemond Zurich.
Deda steel with Campy Chorusbsdc
Jan 28, 2003 7:35 PM
www.bicycleblowout.com has this bike for sale for $1899.

Marin Treviso 2002

(regular price $2800.00)
Dedacciai Eom 16.5 Full Double Butted steel • Mizuno Full carbon 1 1/8" Integrated Fork • Headset Campagnolo Chorus, 10 Speed Shifters • Campagnolo Chorus Front Deraileur • Campagnolo Chorus, 10 speed Rear Deraileur • Campagnolo Chorus 12-25, 10 speed Cassette • Campagnolo Chorus 39-53 Crankset • Campagnolo Chorus differenziati Brake Calipers • Brake Levers San Marco Era pro Saddle • Selcof Aero forato Seat Post • Deda Newton Handlebar • Deda Newton 31.7 Stem • Cork Ribbon Tape • None Pedals Campagnolo Chorus Hubs • Ambrosio Excellight Rims • Spokes • Vittoria Ultraspeed 23/622 blk 145g Tires
Deda steel with Campy ChorusS-U-B
Jan 28, 2003 8:10 PM
wow, that Marin sounds like a great deal. check out the Look 361 at excel as well. The Zurich is a great bike as well. good luck with your search.
How about his little beautyStevieP
Jan 29, 2003 4:27 AM
Being a little biased towards steel as I am, here is one
of my recommendations.

http://www.excelsports.com/new.asp?page=8&description=Compact+Pro+Bike+Chorus+Proton+55CM&vendorCode=GIOS&major=1&minor=1

$2100 for full Chorus & handbuild Italian beauty. Something to look at and enjoy when you are not sat on it. Watch out for the geometry. There is a post on Gios about a week ago so scroll through the archives for more info.

If it were my money then this would be a serious consideration. This & a Tomassini Sintesi. Now, where's my credit card.....:-)

Steve