RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


should I buy this bike?(11 posts)

should I buy this bike?j_ryder
Jan 27, 2003 2:44 PM
hello

Im an xc mt bike sometimes racer frequent rider that wants to get into road riding/ perhaps racing. I saw this on the classified board on this site. ritchey makes good stuff no? I like steel for longer rides. its about what I want to spend :) and Im a good mechanic so I can likely fix the shifter. the bike got incredibly good reviews on this site. what are anyones thoughts? thanks!
sorry, I reloaded the wrong page.j_ryder
Jan 27, 2003 2:48 PM
and did it 3 times. sorry for the multiple posts
I might be wrong, but...Lon Norder
Jan 27, 2003 5:03 PM
Didn't Tange stop making tubing long before '98? Maybe the bike is older than claimed. Prestige is good stuff, though.
I love my Tange Prestige bike...jtolleson
Jan 27, 2003 6:19 PM
but like you I think that tubeset wasn't still around in the late-90s. (Mine is an early 90s Bianchi... it is a boat anchor but it is a sweet ride).
Me too...noveread
Jan 28, 2003 8:58 AM
It's my trainer bike and commuter. I just got some touch-up paint for it, the old celeste, and it looks great! And Jtolleson, it's really not that heavy! After putting 8sp 600 STI and Mavic Open 4CDs on it comes in at a feather-like 23lbs. I even took it on a group ride once when my then-main ride was down.

Noveread
That's my ride!!!!jtolleson
Jan 28, 2003 9:47 AM
A celeste Bianchi Alfana! I love the ride and I've never weighed it. Putting it on and off a car or wall rack though, I have always perceived it to be heavy.

I still use it for some of the casual group rides. It is virtually identical to yours except with barend shifters.
Hmmmmmmmm--The Walrus
Jan 27, 2003 6:50 PM
Couldn't have stopped making tubing too long before '98--my '97 VooDoo Wazoo is Prestige...
I'd pass...biknben
Jan 27, 2003 5:11 PM
$500 is a lot to spend on an average bike with a mixture of parts that aren't working. I'd look elsewhere. There are better deals to be had.
road logicj_ryder
Jan 27, 2003 5:24 PM
thanks for the advice. Is the frame average though? I havent ridden one so I dont know, maybe thats the point, but look at the reviews here maybe ritchey did something different between years but the reviews are pretty solid. maybe Im being too optomistic. Id like a smooth steel ride in that $ range though.
Offer him $250 without the components, build w/ new 105 nmSpunout
Jan 28, 2003 5:17 AM
love the ride of my trainer w/ Prestige 2look271
Jan 28, 2003 10:26 AM
I'd offer him less. Maybe $350 and go up to $400 if he won't deal. It should be a nice riding frame but $500 is pushing it a bit. Here's a pic of my Nishiki. It's a trainer/commuter, hence the reflectors etc on it!