RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Foot position while squatting - Raven?(8 posts)

Foot position while squatting - Raven?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jan 27, 2003 12:37 PM
People are probably gonna shoot me for asking this but I'd like someones qualified opinion on how foot position affects not quad activation but instead the hamstrings and glutes. I was doing a body weight squat the other day and noticed it felt a lot different when my feet were out at 45 degrees than it was when they were pointed straight forward. Any idea why this would be?

Thanks,
Nick
re: Foot position while squatting - Raven?52-16SS
Jan 27, 2003 1:29 PM
I usually have a stance of a little wider than shoulder width with my feet pointing slightly inward, this gives me a much better lift where I'm able to drive my hips forward for an added boost. Also, this keeps me on my toes compared to being on my heels where balance is poor. If you use a guided squad rack this is not a problem however. I think you feel the difference due to the fact that can get your rear lower with your toes pointed outwards compared to
straight/inwards.

SS
Balance is better on the heels!! nmRaven1911
Jan 27, 2003 10:13 PM
Not Raven, but I thought I'd throw this out.brider
Jan 27, 2003 1:30 PM
And no flames headed your way from me.

Foot position will affect the recruiting of the adductors more so than the hips and glutes. Body lean makes more of a determination on glute recruitment. And if you're getting a lot of hamstring involvement, I'd venture to guess your hips are rising first, then you're doing essentially a good morning (again, just a guess).
My opinion...spankdoggie
Jan 27, 2003 2:55 PM
Podiumbound, my opinion, for what it is worth (not much) is that you should keep your feet straight ahead or very slightly outward, for comfort. I believe that pointing the toes in, is not very good for the knees...

Unless you have 31 inch thighs and need to target different parts of the legs for extra size, you will never need to deviate from keeping your feet fairly straight. It can take years to achieve good form with just your feet straight.

Don't make it complicated.
Keep it simple.

If you are really looking for some strength/endurance, never squat less than 20 reps per set. Go as light as you have to, to do em'.

Quadzilla even used to do reps of 50. Be careful, though, your legs might get too big...

Here is a picture of Fred Hatfield squatting 1019lbs... I don't even think he deviates from standard form...
Thanks... interesting info on endurance weights thoughPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jan 27, 2003 5:48 PM
Thanks for the post. I think you may be right. Its interesting because the strength coaches all with masters in kines kinda have the opinion to do what works and feels best.

But as for weights with 20 reps or more I've heard studies that say as the muscle fatigues the tendons and ligaments begin to take on the weight. This is a bad thing as I think it'd increase the chances of injury. I'd be interested to know what someone experienced in this field thinks though.

Thanks again,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
QuadzillaRaven1911
Jan 27, 2003 10:22 PM
This guy and Tom Platz are two of the most famous guys with big legs, great genetics for leg development, and very expensive drugs! I would venture to say that Tom Platz was more impressive because he was pear shaped to his upper body even as a professional bodybuilder! That is hard to do!

About Quadzilla doing 50 reps... Strength endurance will come from reps between 12-20 and from low cadence work (70-80 rpms on a steady hill) on the bike. I would not do more than that because when you fatigue secondary muscles come into play to squeeze out reps and that is when injuries happen(like Nick said). In squats that is typically the low back, and trust me, you don't want a low back problem.

Raven
re: Foot position while squatting - Raven?Raven1911
Jan 27, 2003 10:11 PM
Nick,

ABOVE ALL: MUSCLE RECRUITMENT IS IN THE MIND. If you want to get more hams and gluts out of a squat then you have to concentrate on thinking about squeezing those muscles you want to recruit during the movement and they WILL be recruited, but to answer your question.

This all depends on the width of your stance and where on your foot you are pushing your squat from. You will get more hams and gluts if you push from your heels and squeeze your gluts(which is correct form) rather than excessively leaning forward and pushing from your toes or forefoot. It shouldn't matter where your toes point as long as they are shoulder width. I think you found that there was a difference because when your toes are pointed at a 45 deg angle you have to push more with your heels (gluts) rather than your toes (quads) because of biomechanics of the squat and the fact that you have to lean slightly forward. Your feet might have been wider than shoulder width as well, but I'm not sure.

A wider stance with the toes pointed out will also recruit more of the adductors because they are required to for stabilization of the hip joint during the movement.

Did that answer your question? If not then ask again and I will explain further.

Raven