RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


The Rivendell Bar Wrap(21 posts)

The Rivendell Bar WrapScot_Gore
Jan 26, 2003 7:44 AM
I wrapped my bars using the Rivendell Weave as described here: http://www.rivendellbicycles.com/html/rr_handlebar.html
The last time this was put up someone asked for some shots of the process along the way. I thought I try to give a little step by step coaching from my experience. Ok here goes.
Here are my naked bars. As you can see, I've got an ergo bar. The angle of the weave changes with every change in angle on the bars. This weave is probably a better solution for traditional bars. It still worked fine for me, it's just that I lost the clean diamond look almost right away as the wrap came to the ergo bend in my bars.
The start of the wrapScot_Gore
Jan 26, 2003 7:49 AM
The Rivendell article recommends cutting off the first color flush with the bar end. I did that in this picture. The blue is cut flush with the bar end and the orange is wrapped around it with overlap off the ends of the bar. At the end, I had some of the blue flopping free when I put the bar end cap. When I did the other side, I had both color one (blue) and color two (orange) start with overlap off the end of the bar. I found it much easier to start and got a cleaner look.
The secret of successScot_Gore
Jan 26, 2003 7:53 AM
The whole secret of success is at the point of intersection of the two colors on each rotation around the bars.
In the below illustration, orange is being wrapped underneath blue.
What you need to do is peel the blue back so that it's pulling evenly at the edge the previous orange wrap and then lay the orange down right along that same edge.
In the picture below, if I didn't need to let go to take the picture. I would be pulling back on the blue tape, down and back toward the bar end, against the previous orange rotation edge (which is hidden by the slack blue tape in the picture). With my other hand I'd be pulling up and around toward the wheel and laying the orange flush against the edge I'm creating with the peel back of the blue. I took the shot below right after this action, so you can see the orange tape has already been laid flush against the edge.
Half WayScot_Gore
Jan 26, 2003 7:57 AM
You can see how the ergo bend broke up the weave pattern just above the curve.
The HoodsScot_Gore
Jan 26, 2003 8:01 AM
Getting around the brake levers was a problem. I did it differently on the left side than I did it on the right and don't have any good tips on technique. I think this will be somewhat of a decision that has to be made as it happens. I ended up having a rip develop in my orange loop because I wrapped and unwrapped so much.
Start of the Left BarScot_Gore
Jan 26, 2003 8:04 AM
Here's the start of the left bar where I left hangover of both colors.
Left SideScot_Gore
Jan 26, 2003 8:07 AM
Here's the completed left side. It did get easier having done it once.
Both Sides DoneScot_Gore
Jan 26, 2003 8:11 AM
As you can see, since I went around the hoods differently on each side I ended up with an opposing diamond pattern on the topside of the bars. This wasn't the look I was trying for, but it's growing on me.
That's itScot_Gore
Jan 26, 2003 8:16 AM
i now let's see how long it takes for someone to bash my spacers

Scot
My Gawd... I didn't know you could space a stem that high...Akirasho
Jan 26, 2003 8:48 AM
... just kidding...

Nice job on the pics and explanations!

Be the bike.
I like it! How much tape was left over?Tig
Jan 26, 2003 9:37 AM
Did this method use most of the tape or was there plenty left over? I usually have very little left over with a single wrap.

I like the different color pattern on each side.
Lots left over, but you use twice as many rolls.Scot_Gore
Jan 26, 2003 4:37 PM
I had 20-25 inches per roll left over.

Scot
From someone who knows how difficult it is...biknben
Jan 26, 2003 9:48 AM
A couple years ago I tried to do this wrap. I got up to the lever before throwing in the towel. Admitedly, I was short on patience. I was not able to keep the pattern straight around the bend. The thought of trying to get around the lever seemed futile. The adhesive on the back of the wrap was making it more difficult. I was so anxious to ride my new bike, I bagged the weave idea.

My bars are looking really dirty lately and I'll be rewrapping them before the season starts. I was considering trying the weave again. In my opinion, it looses something if the diamond pattern isn't straight. Seeing and reading about your difficulties is fueling my interest but isn't helping my confidence.

Thanks for offering the pics and advice.
Thanks for the great pics....allezrider
Jan 26, 2003 7:06 PM
I guess now I have no excuse but to attempt to do this now. Great pics Scot. Thanks for the detailed account.

eric
Based on your handle, we might share a color scheme (nm)Scot_Gore
Jan 26, 2003 7:11 PM
actually red/yellow color scheme....(nm)allezrider
Jan 28, 2003 3:29 PM
when you start it the same on both sides you can get it straitbenja15
Jan 26, 2003 12:56 PM
It takes some time but it is worth it
oooo! That is purdy! nmrwbadley
Jan 26, 2003 7:19 PM
Hmmm...Miss M might just like that-thanks. nmMB1
Jan 26, 2003 4:30 PM
How is it comfort wise?Mel Erickson
Jan 27, 2003 6:36 AM
Is it noticeably thicker? Is it more cushioning? Looks like it would resist separating better, especially on the top bend. Nice job, think I'll try it on the single speed.
How is it comfort wise?Scot_Gore
Jan 27, 2003 7:00 AM
It's the same thickness as a double wrap, but does have a wavey grip feel that "hugs" your fingers.

I think it will resist sepeartion well. One trick is keeping the tension on the color your wrapping over the top of. It's easy to let up a little and let a little bubble develop that over time would wear quickly.

Scot