RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Serotta or Seven Cycles Frame or...?(9 posts)

Serotta or Seven Cycles Frame or...?huffer
Jan 25, 2003 8:45 PM
Apparently I'm of freakish proportions and require a custom frame to be fitted properly. The two frame builders most often recommended by people I talk with are Serotta and Seven Cycles. Both are awesome frames, but I'm just wondering if anyone had any opinions as to which of the two they would choose for road racing applications and why. Or are there other custom frame builders out there just as good or better? The frame I get needs to be titanium and cost no more than $3000 or so. Any help would be appreciated!
re: Serotta or Seven Cycles Frame or...?jtolleson
Jan 25, 2003 9:07 PM
There is no right answer. These two companies, plus Independent Fabrications, Holland, Moots, Merlin... all make wonderful ti frames.

If I were you I'd shop the LBS with the best reputation for custom fitting and go with whatever they sell. Maybe you'll have the benefit like here of two options (we have one good Serotta fitter and one good Seven vendor). But what you need is good service as much as a good frame.

If anyone says that any of the high end ti manufacturers is the only way to go well... I'd humbly disagree.

One other difference is whether paint is really important to you, though Seven offers it now.
re: Serotta or Seven Cycles Frame or...?koala
Jan 26, 2003 4:46 AM
Go to the Serotta forum. There are a few people who post there who have both Legend ti and Axioms with identical geometry(must be nice). There is a very current post about that very subject. It certainly seems to be a win-win from what is posted there.
Which stickers do you like on the frame?bsdc
Jan 26, 2003 7:07 AM
I've looked a lot at the two companies. I've read the posts of people with essentially identical Sevens and Serottas. Reviewers of the two bikes would say they were both fabulous fitting bikes with very similar ride characteristics. If forced to choose between the two, the reviews made their pick based on quality of the welds, paint, some admittedly imperceptible ride characteristics or just a feeling about one brand vs. another. There were no outright winners between the two. The most mentioned benefits of the Sevens are the welds. The most mentioned benefit of the Serottas is some magic imparted on the frame by Ben Serotta.

I do like the fit system of the Serottas. It would be nice to get on the fit bike and feel the difference a tiny adjustment would make. If I did pick Seven, I would try to find a shop that had one of these bikes.

The most substantial difference is the paint. Seven offers the Axiom unpainted for $2595. Serotta offers the Legend with paint for $2995. So, if you want an unpainted titanium frame the Seven will be a bit cheaper. If you want paint, then your back to picking stickers again.
Test Ride...Len J
Jan 26, 2003 7:47 AM
and then decide.

At this price it is hard to go wrong, assuming that you are fit correctly for both pyhsical fit and fit to your purpose. Look for a good fitter that fits to both Seven's methods & Serottas as there are differences.

At the end of the day the choice between these two is purely subjective. I choose the Serotta because I wanted paint, I love the lines, I don't like the wound up fork, and I thought the Legend was "Snappier". Either Company can build you a bike that is perfect for your use, if you are clear on what you really want.

Len
Wound-Up Forkbsdc
Jan 26, 2003 1:03 PM
I've heard the Wound-up fork tends to be a little too stiff from a number of different sources. This might be good for a heavy weight. I'd skip the Wound-up and go for a tried and true Reynolds Ouzo Pro if I were going with Seven.
re: Serotta or Seven Cycles Frame or...?Caseysdad
Jan 26, 2003 1:33 PM
Not to complicate matters, but IMO, no discussion of high-end ti frames (and custom ti frames in particular) would be complete without bringing Tom Kellogg at Spectrum Cycles into the picture. If you're looking for a ti frame that will accommodate "freakish proportions" while still providing you with a finely tuned ride and impeccable quality, Tom might very well be your man. I'm not sure whether you'll be able to stay within the $3000 range, but if not, you'll still definitely still benefit from giving Tom a call and learning more about your options from one of the most knowledgeable and generous people in the industry.
Had Legend have Axiom now.gsxrawd
Jan 26, 2003 10:15 PM
Both are almost identical in geometry. the Seven has a .5 degree steeper head tube angle, 1cm lower stand over height . everything else the same. The Seven is a bit stiffer. The tubes on the Seven are much fatter. But since both are custom you can decide how stiff you want it to be. Both bike handle about the same. you can't go wrong with either one.
It really comes down to paint & stickers (nm)bsdc
Jan 27, 2003 11:21 AM