RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


This is a good deal, right?(30 posts)

This is a good deal, right?singletrackusa
Jan 24, 2003 12:24 PM
I am about to buy a 2001 Giant TCR One with
Shimano Dura Ace shift levers – Shimano DA Rear derailleur
Ultegra cranksets and front derailleur, Campy veloce brakes
Wheels- Mavic rims with Durace hubs, tubulars
Size Medium
Price $600.00 + shipping.
Looks to be in great shape. Ridden by an older guy in Florida. Frame size is OK.
This is a great deal, right?
re: This is a good deal, right?No_sprint
Jan 24, 2003 12:30 PM
How do you release the brakes to get the wheels off? Campy brakes utilize the mech. in the shifters. Since the shifters are DA, no go. I suppose you could use the barrel adjuster every time, however, there aint a whole lotta adjustment there. There goes the free lap!

I be curious about mileage and why the odd mix of parts.
re: This is a good deal, right?CHRoadie
Jan 24, 2003 12:31 PM
In great shape except where he crushed the top tube with the workstand.
whith all of that seatpost showing......cdale02
Jan 24, 2003 12:34 PM
Why does he clamp the bike on the top tube?! that is probably the thinnest part of the frame... hope he didn't dent it.

It seems like a good deal. If your are using it for general training, I'd probably in invest in a set of clinchers too.

FWIW - interesting parts mix DA, Ultegra, Veloce.
Good pointssingletrackusa
Jan 24, 2003 12:54 PM
Is the top tube really thin enough to crush in a repair stand? Maybe he's hiding something. Seems like a decent guy- owns a bike shop in Miami. I'll ask him specifically about the top tube.

Also, I've never run tubulars, how do you fix flats? Why wouldn't I want to run them as my everyday wheelset? Thanks for the input.
Singletrackusa, you got some learnin' to do...No_sprint
Jan 24, 2003 1:03 PM
You're obviously tremendously *green*. Firstly, if you're going to run tubies and it's your only pair of wheels, expect a lot of down time. If you don't have anyone show you how they work, how to glue them on so you don't kill yourself during a 50+ mph descent, practice with them until you're competent, your best bet is a cell phone, someone to give you a ride home and repair by your local LBS.

Yes, aluminum especially can be dented there. Did you figure out how you're going to release the brakes?
RelaxRJF
Jan 24, 2003 1:49 PM
"Did you figure our how you're going to release the brakes?" That's kinda smart-alecky. C'mon, cut him some slack. You may have been lucky enough to be born a cycling genius, but the mortals among us actually need to learn things.
You are really overly sensitive.No_sprint
Jan 24, 2003 2:05 PM
Sounds like that to you, not me. This guy needs to know these things before he puts down $600 on something he knows very very little about. I would never recommend that a serious rookie buy used. That money would be better spent on a serious fitting, on a touch less bike with clinchers, some basic tools, Zinn's book, from the local shop, with a warranty and friendly mechanics that'll help him along the learning process. In my opinion.
FIGHT!mickey-mac
Jan 24, 2003 2:09 PM
This is awesome. I'd love to see a Friday afternoon slugfest erupt over tubulars. If you guys live anywhere near each other, you should get together and work this out mano-a-mano. ;-)
LOL! nmNo_sprint
Jan 24, 2003 2:11 PM
Thanks Hombresingletrackusa
Jan 24, 2003 2:10 PM
Thats's what I'm talkin' bout. First time posting here and I run straight into the stereotypical "roadie". And I thought it was just that!
I aint nothin' compared to some you'll run into.No_sprint
Jan 24, 2003 2:27 PM
It wasn't my intention to sound *smart alecky* and I don't think I did. Good luck. You'll find a ton of expertise here.
If I was gonna plunk down 6 billsColnagoFE
Jan 24, 2003 3:32 PM
I think I'd want to know if there were going to be any major problems--smart alecky or not. The Campy brake release thing is a good lesson to learn BEFORE you buy and not after and not many MTB riders would even know that is an issue because they don't use Campy.
tubulars arent that bad if you flatishmael
Jan 24, 2003 2:46 PM
carry an extra tube and put it on without glue to get home...just take all the corners really slowly..
I've got Veloce calipers and Ultegra levers....scrublover
Jan 24, 2003 7:25 PM
and they work fine together, with noooo problems getting wheels in or out..... Using 23mm wides. Even when I used full Shimano, I never needed the QR's on my calipers.
Just passin' on the info...
similar setup with no problemsj-son
Jan 25, 2003 5:48 AM
I've got DA levers and old school Campy single pivot calipers on one bike. WOrks fine. No problem whatsoever with removing x23 tires.
You don't fix tubularsLC
Jan 24, 2003 1:04 PM
That is why they are only used for racing, with a support vehicle following with extra wheels and preglued tires ready to go.

If you carry an extra tire, you can sometimes peel the old tire off and hope the new one will stick, but not really very easy to patch and go like a clincher. You are also screwed in a rain storm :(
You don't fix tubularssingletrackusa
Jan 24, 2003 1:26 PM
So what's the advantage of tubulars? Less rolling resistance? Sounds like I'll need to get sponsored by someone with a team car. A team soigneur (sp?) would be nice too.
I sure as sh!t do!!!!Alexx
Jan 24, 2003 1:52 PM
Unless you are made of money.....
or you ride clinchers instead and save the hassle (nm)ColnagoFE
Jan 24, 2003 2:45 PM
From where I am looking....burdiman
Jan 24, 2003 1:19 PM
that clamp doesn't appear to be closed. You can dent
the tubing however.
I'm certainly no expert, but...brider
Jan 24, 2003 1:05 PM
that top tube seat tube junction looks awfully low compared to the rear wheel for this one to be a medium. I could be wrong.
I'm certainly no expert, but...singletrackusa
Jan 24, 2003 1:29 PM
Do you have a TCR? If so how do you like it? I'm coming off a steel cross bike that is too small (for sale in the marketplace) and want a lighter, faster ride.

I am in-between a small and medium, and would actually prefer a small. Are you pretty confident it's a small?
I ride a Softridebrider
Jan 24, 2003 2:27 PM
I have no experience with Giant anything, so I'm just going off-the-cuff here. Just something that stood out to my eye. Like I said, I could be way off base here.
stay awayyeah right
Jan 24, 2003 2:08 PM
you don't know what you want, haven't tried out a similar bike, will be out another few hundred for a clincher setup.

before you start buying used bikes over the internet you need to know what you're looking for and whether you're getting a deal or not. for the record, if you were looking for this bike and were okay with tubs and the mishmash or parts, yeah, it's a good deal assuming good condition and no blemishes.
I agree. nm.No_sprint
Jan 24, 2003 2:09 PM
Agreed.look271
Jan 24, 2003 2:56 PM
Plus you'd need a new set of brakes (Shimano) with the clinchers. Gotta wonder what kind of a bike shop this guy owns if he clamps the bike on the top tube.
brakes..Rusty Coggs
Jan 24, 2003 3:16 PM
Fer craps sake, if the guy owns a shop have him throw on at least a set of 105 dual pivots.
The bottom line...cydswipe
Jan 24, 2003 5:46 PM
..is that you are hesitant to purchase this ride. Otherwise you wouldn't have posted for the group opinion. That being said, pass on it. $600 is a hell of a lot of money. It will seem like a greater ammount if this bike, well, sucks. Mish-mash parts, tubular set-up, questions about the top tube, all add up to uncertainty. Test ride at your LBS. Ask questions there or here. Keep saving money. Be patient. Keep learning. You will find a ride that doesn't have so many questions or concerns surrounding it. You will be happier in the end.
Good luck!!
Not a bad deal.MR_GRUMPY
Jan 24, 2003 7:07 PM
I'm sure he has it in the stand just to take the photo. Half the time, I hang my bike by the top tube.
$600 is a pretty good deal for a race ready bike. You'll need to get some Ultegra brakes and you will need a set of clincher wheels to train on. See if he will swap out the wheels for a set of clincher wheels. You really don't need sew ups unless you plan to race a lot of crits.
Ps. You will probably have to get a new stem to make it fit you.