RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Worth the wait: changing to D/Ace STI??(10 posts)

Worth the wait: changing to D/Ace STI??Maverick
Jan 24, 2003 7:10 AM
Guys,

Is it worth waiting for the new D/Ace grouppo or should i just change my current Ultegra STI to D/Ace?
The Ultegra STI levers are badly corroded, but they still shift smoothly.
Thanks for the opinions
re: Worth the wait: changing to D/Ace STI??Mike-Wisc
Jan 24, 2003 7:22 AM
Let your budget and component condition be your guide.
Unless the cosmetics really bother you my opinion is if it isn't broke then don't fix it, and if it isn't worn or if it's condition looks good for the full upcoming season then leave well enough alone. But if it really bothers you, or if you can swing the price, and if your not concerned with break-in problems, then go for it as soon as you want to. This is kind of one of those "only you can decide" things.

Saying this I must say that I'm thinking of changing to new tires on my main road bike because I don't really like the color of the current ones as much as the new tire colors. Totally cosmetic, but hey "they're just tires".
re: Worth the wait: changing to D/Ace STI??Maverick
Jan 24, 2003 7:44 AM
thanks Mike.
i'm a racer, and although the Ultegra shifters are still working fine, i'm sure the D/ace shifters are better overall in terms of shifting precision etc, durability, and probably a little lighter. do you think the shifters makes any difference in competitive races?

given the choice, should i opt for the D/ace crankset or the STI shifters? Or maybe even both?
i'm currently using Ultegra (STI and cranset), with D/ace drivetrain
re: Worth the wait: changing to D/Ace STI??Mike-Wisc
Jan 24, 2003 8:03 AM
Corrosion sometimes implies other wear not visible. The most economical route would be to change out the components with the most obvious wear. My preferred LBS usually has at this time of year a lot of take-offs from local teams and individuals upgrading parts with very reasonable pricing. It might be a way to stave off the major upgrade for a season.

At the Ultegra/DuraAce level of components the main difference is price and weight, those last few grams cost a lot to remove. The difference in a race between equal riders with one using Ultegra and the other using D/Ace may be more mental or psychological than functional. There may be slight differences but only you can say if it will matter to you.

A further point to consider: if your levers have enough use to show corrosion then how far off are you from upgrading to a new frameset as well? Someone else just posted about an October 2003 release date for new gear, that might be a good goal to shoot for. Snag take-offs and new old stock and overstocks to fix or repair your current setup and use next winter for a total whole-bike upgrade. How's that for taking the money in your wallet and spending it twice????? ;)
just got a new framesetMaverick
Jan 24, 2003 8:15 AM
well mike, i've just got myself a new scandium frameset, weighing at 2.3lbs minus the fork. my current bike is on complete D/Ace components including the wheels, except for the Ultegra levers and Crankset. total weight is 17.8lbs
all components were transferred from my previous Trek onto the new frame.

my idea is to have a complete bike with full D/ace components. problem is i don't know if i should wait for the '04 D/Ace complete grouppo or upgrade my current Ultegra to have a complete D/ace

I'm into competitive racing, and hope that upgrading the components would hopefully gave me some edge when competing.
re: Worth the wait: changing to D/Ace STI??Ian
Jan 24, 2003 7:31 AM
The 04' D/A group won't be unveiled to the public until Oct. 03'. Then figure a couple of months for it to become readily avaiable. I'm not sure what a complete set goes for now, $1,000? Add 15% or so to whatever the current group costs and that will be about what the new one goes for.

Ian
8 or 9 speed? I may have a deal for you.......curtis
Jan 24, 2003 8:01 AM
......if you need 8 speed D/A STI levers. I am dismantling my road bike to use some of the parts on my 'bent. I will sell you a pair of cosmetically flawed but mechanically perfect levers. Respond here if interested.
I'd replace with Ultegra (Or D/A) now..........Len J
Jan 24, 2003 8:07 AM
as opposed to waiting for the new D/A. Intro will be late 03, availability will be mid 04 and then there will be minor changes to fix/improve real world functionality. I would expect that 05 the group will begin to stabilize.

I try not to ever be on the "bleeding Edge" of new technology. Let other people be the Market guinea pigs.

Len
I'd replace with Ultegra (Or D/A) now..........Maverick
Jan 24, 2003 8:22 AM
Thank for the advice. I guess you have your point there. some 'bugs' usually exist when new groupsets are first launch. like what you said, it probably take a yr or two before problems are properly fixed.
re: Worth the wait: changing to D/Ace STI??No_sprint
Jan 24, 2003 12:00 PM
If you're as you say you are, a *competitive racer* already, then you should full well know that changing shifters from Ult. to DA will absolutely not give you the competitive edge you speak of and hope for.

If it's worn, change it out, keep the old stuff around. If you're a racer you know how often crashes occur. In my area where all cats have loaded fields week in week out, it's only a matter of time or pure luck or quitting racing that'll keep you from your turn in the wrong place at the wrong time.