RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


out of curiosty, a poll.....(194 posts)

out of curiosty, a poll.....allezrider
Jan 23, 2003 8:55 PM
I visit here everyday, although I don't post much I have been wondering what your day job is to fund the passion.....

I'll start it off

Professional Photographer for the music and entertainment industry. Freelance affords a lot of time to ride....

thanks for posting ahead of time...

take care and ride nice w/others
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....cipolini2b
Jan 23, 2003 9:15 PM
I'm a waiter twice a week, student all other days...
day jobmacalu
Jan 24, 2003 6:57 AM
Bureaucrat.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....PseuZQ
Jan 23, 2003 9:35 PM
Communications and research for market and business development -- basically PR on steroids.

I'm in the process of starting up a firm with a former colleague of mine, which means I have like zero discretionary income. (Am I allowed to troll for business here? ;-)) The good news is that I can ride to work.

It's fun.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....ParticleMan
Jan 23, 2003 10:49 PM
I am the administrator for the Down Syndrome Association [Singapore]. I try to ride to work and back, and on weekends. Used to race when I was younger, but now I ride cos its the best thing in my life now.
Where do we start!empacher6seat
Jan 23, 2003 10:04 PM
From September to April I'm a full time student and a grocery clerk at a supermarket. From Mid April to the end of August I'm a rowing coach, grocery clerk and dock boy.

Hopefully in a few years I'll have only one job that pays the equivalent of all these others combined :).
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Juanmoretime
Jan 24, 2003 1:44 AM
I'm a General Manager for a corporation that is an industrial launderer. I oversee multiple locations.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....bicycle268
Jan 24, 2003 3:57 AM
mutual fund shareholder rep.. when the market closes at 4 pm eastern, I'm out the door and on the bike....
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Alexx
Jan 24, 2003 4:24 AM
Mechanical Engineer (currently between jobs, and filling his time mostly with home improvement and driveway shovelling...)
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....mainframe
Jan 24, 2003 4:44 AM
Recently retired executive from a small cap stock exchange company. Amongst riding,ice skating,strength training, pocket billiards, and wrenching my M3, don't know how I ever had time to work!
M3, eh? Nice...jtferraro
Jan 24, 2003 7:38 AM
What year? Ever do any track events w/it?

-Jeff
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....netso
Jan 24, 2003 4:38 AM
Superintendent of Public Works. Finish @3:30 then I RIDE!!
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....jjdbike
Jan 24, 2003 4:48 AM
I am a fulltime kinesiology student (heath & physical education/fitness specialist), part time Spinning instructor, working on ACSM certification & cycle coach want to be.
JD
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....inallston
Jan 24, 2003 4:48 AM
I restore ornamental woodwork (self-employed) and one day a week I work for Blue Man Group Boston as a theater jack (carpenter).
cool!_rt_
Jan 24, 2003 7:48 AM
i'm dying to see Blue Man Group.

do you have any pics of your woodworking?

rt
cool!inallston
Jan 24, 2003 9:48 PM
No. I should, but I haven't needed to put a portfolio together.
LA East?? I lived on Mansfield St. nm128
Jan 24, 2003 8:20 AM
LA East?? I lived on Mansfield St. nminallston
Jan 24, 2003 1:33 PM
LA West, over near Twin Donuts. Years ago I lived on Lincoln St.
Oh yeah, Twin Donuts. Model Cafe. Whoe...nm128
Jan 28, 2003 5:02 AM
Lovely Allstonboneman
Jan 25, 2003 10:12 AM
Lived on Adamson Street in 1974, my senior year at BU. Apartment got broken into and bike ripped off. A couple of weeks later ZZ Top, yes indeed, were giving a free concert on the Esplanade and spotted the bike. Got into the brawl with the thief and we ended up falling on a couple of bikers, as in Harley types, from the local chapter of Satan's Disciples. They grabbed the thief for the cops and I got my bike back. Fond memories.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....GileyD
Jan 24, 2003 4:56 AM
Credit Manager for a large UK law firm. Pays for shoes for the kids and a nice stable of bikes for me!!
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....joekm
Jan 24, 2003 4:57 AM
Director of Airframe Structures and FAA designated engineering rep. (DER) at a consulting firm on the east coast. Although between the weather and my two children (7 months and 25 months), I'm lucky to get roller time lately.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....mfuchs1
Jan 24, 2003 5:05 AM
A&P (Airframe and powerplant) mechanic for Delta Airlines in Atlanta. 6:00am -2:30pm m-f. Too cold right now to ride(9 degrees this morning!!) Ride couple evenings a week, spin classes in winter, weekends on bike.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Sadlebred
Jan 24, 2003 8:04 AM
Hey mfuchs1-are you in Atlanta? Too cold here this morning!!
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....PEDDLEFOOT
Jan 24, 2003 5:12 AM
Full time job is SR.Communications Technician for Motorola.
Part time personal trainer and Spinning instructor at the local park district fitness center.Keeps me really busy.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....syart
Jan 24, 2003 5:15 AM
I am a sociologist from UC Berkeley, currently I work in the Science and Tech Ministry in Caracas, Venezuela. Due to the energy shortage I ride to and from work everyday. That`s about 40 miles a day. I take a break on saturday and on sunday I bike around 50-60 miles. I am 42 years old, and trainning for the "vuelta tuy" (3 days plus tt), which will take place next month. The category I ride in is called "master B", 41 to 50 years old. We hope somebody in our team can make the podium. And we can finished in among the top ten.
Controller for a Labor Uniondzrider
Jan 24, 2003 5:22 AM
Network Engineermleptuck
Jan 24, 2003 5:32 AM
NetWare, Windows NT/2000, Cisco, HP-UX, Solaris, Linux, CheckPoint, etc...
Certified Management Accountant, in the public service nmSpunout
Jan 24, 2003 5:32 AM
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....LactateIntolerant
Jan 24, 2003 5:33 AM
Computer application (Lotus Notes) developer.
bt, dt nmJS Haiku Shop
Jan 24, 2003 5:41 AM
Yeah?LactateIntolerant
Jan 24, 2003 7:19 AM
Notes or application development in general?
Have you gone to R6--oops, Notes6--yet? nmKristin
Jan 24, 2003 12:05 PM
Have you gone to R6--oops, Notes6--yet? nmLactateIntolerant
Jan 24, 2003 12:30 PM
Just brought up a server for testing yesterday, but haven't had a chance to do anything with it. It's unlikely we'll make the switch anytime soon.
notes nmJS Haiku Shop
Jan 24, 2003 12:16 PM
notes nmLactateIntolerant
Jan 24, 2003 12:34 PM
Wow...you were able to give up the glamourous lifestyle and adulation of the masses!? :-)
went from lotus to CA products. it's all good (not) nmJS Haiku Shop
Jan 24, 2003 12:43 PM
"went from lotus to..." is becoming a popular phrase. nmKristin
Jan 24, 2003 12:46 PM
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Hereford Flyer
Jan 24, 2003 5:36 AM
Teacher - Head of ICT in a private prep school ages 4-11.

Great holidays for training - about 20 weeks total a year. The month off at Easter and more or less 2 months in summer are the best.
computing overlord nmJS Haiku Shop
Jan 24, 2003 5:37 AM
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Mike P
Jan 24, 2003 5:37 AM
I am a Network Engineer working for a local hospital system. I've been working 7-3 for a few years now and it is nice to be able to just forget about work by 3:01; most of the time anyway.

Don't waste your life working all the time.

Mike
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....mleptuck
Jan 24, 2003 5:43 AM
Where are you located, Mike?

I spent about 5 years working privately for 2 hospitals in the Philadelphia area, and then spent another two travelling the lower 48 consulting for various hospitals.

Now, I consult fulltime for a local county government. Like you, I'm able to check my job at the door every day at quitting time.
SE - Chattanooga, TN nmMike P
Jan 24, 2003 10:02 AM
Machinisttheeatkins
Jan 24, 2003 5:46 AM
I am a machinist for a major aerospace company in Seattle, Wa. Bet you can't guess which one? I ride a Calfee, an Aegis
Trident, and a Specialized Enduro Pro.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Skidoo
Jan 24, 2003 5:50 AM
Printing/graphics project account representative (F/T 6:30-3:00)
Research assistant, Department of Labor (P/T T/Th 3:00-6:00)
Grad Student, Sociology (rest of the time)
-not much time to ride these days :-(
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....RickC5
Jan 24, 2003 6:02 AM
Director of Professional Services, for a computer storage solutions VAR in Castle Rock, CO
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....toomanybikes
Jan 24, 2003 6:02 AM
Chartered Accountant and Bankruptcy Trustee. Work with one of the big four accounting firms.

Too much work time, not enough family or bike time.
Drafter / CAD Manager...biknben
Jan 24, 2003 6:04 AM
For a Structural Engineering firm in NJ.
I'm a......CARBON110
Jan 24, 2003 6:17 AM
Teach and consult with Autistic children for 7 years now. I make a small fortune since a friend of mine owns a firm and set me up very nice. I am also doing net schooling and looking to eventually become an Intellectual History professor after too many hours of interning for free watching other teachers.... zzzzzz. I ride on average about 15 hours every week 3 weeks out of every month from Oct-Sept.The other week is my rest week which is 10 hours. I take a two week break in Oct and a one week break in July. I surf this forum daily and must say its made me laugh more then mot anything else. Recently there have been some informative posts and I only see RBR getting better and better. You should have seen it 3 years ago... remember that Greg. Its a good place to come for informative and sometimes just entertaining discussion.
Graphic Desinger, Martial Arts Instructor (nm)CJ838
Jan 24, 2003 6:05 AM
Former high-ranking official of Nigerian Governmentmickey-mac
Jan 24, 2003 6:07 AM
$46,560,000.00

I, on behalf of my other colleagues from different Federal Government of Nigeria owned parastatals decided to solicit your assistance as regards the transfer of the above stated amount into your bank account.

This fund arose from the over-invoicing of various contracts awarded in my parastatals to certain foreign contractors some time ago. We as holders of official positions in various parastatals, were mandated by this new civilian government to scrutinize all payments made to certain foreign contractors by the past military government and we discovered that some of the contracts they executed were grossly over-invoiced, either by omission or commission.

Also we discovered that the sum of $66,560,000.00 (Sixty-Six Million, Five Hundred and Sixty Thousand United States Dollars Only) was lying in a suspense account, although the foreign contractors were fully paid their entitlements after executing the said contracts. We all agreed that the over-invoiced amount be transferred (for our own use) into a bank account provided by a foreign partner, as the code of conduct of the Federal Civil Service does not allow us to operate foreign accounts.

However, we have succeeded in transferring some of these money, precisely US$20,000,000.00 (Twenty Million United States Dollars Only) into a foreign account in GENEVA (SWITZERLAND) last week. But unfortunately, the provider of the account has severed all forms of contacts with us as he has refused to adhere to our earlier mutual agreement insisting that the total amount be paid into his nominated bank account before disbursement will take effect. If for US$20M (Twenty Million United States Dollars Only) we are not compensated, how can one guarantee full compensation on remittance of the balance of US$46.560M (Forty-Six Million, Five Hundred and Sixty Thousand United States Dollars Only).

We are therefore seeking your assistance based on the balance amount of US$46.560M, which can be speedily processed and fully remitted into your nominated bank account. On successful remittance of the fund into your account, you will be compensated with 25% of the amount for assistance and services and 5% set aside for expenses contingency.

This transaction is closely knitted and in view of our SENSITIVE POSITION we cannot afford a slip, I assure you that this transaction is 100% risk free. We will avail you with our identities as regards our respective offices, when relationship is fully established and smooth operation commences.

I am at your disposition to entertain any question(s) from you in respect of this transaction, so contact me immediately through the above telephone and fax numbers for further information on the requirements and procedure. Please note that the DEAL needs utmost confidentiality and your immediate response will be highly appreciated and we will use our own share of the money to establish a lucrative firm in your country.

Yours truly, ALHAJI MUSA BELLO aka mickey-mac

;-) ;-) ;-) ;-) ;-)

(It's even worse; I'm a actually a lawyer.)
You write like a lawyer......PEDDLEFOOT
Jan 24, 2003 6:30 AM
...couldn't understand a word.:-)
Which reminds memickey-mac
Jan 24, 2003 6:33 AM
What do you get when you cross a lawyer and the Godfather?
Someone who will make you an offer you can't understand. (Rim shot.)
:-) (nm)PEDDLEFOOT
Jan 24, 2003 6:35 AM
Mickey-mac, didn't you meanLazywriter
Jan 25, 2003 7:53 AM
rim job?

<^>..<(*¿*)>..<^>
No, that's not what I meantmickey-mac
Jan 25, 2003 11:08 AM
but anything that reminds me of the season finale of Curb Your Enthusiasm is good for a laugh. Thanks for that.
now that made my day!philippec
Jan 24, 2003 7:15 AM
although I receive about 4 of these messages a week, I cannot even come close to duplicating their prose -- thanks!

A+

Philippe
lol!_rt_
Jan 24, 2003 7:51 AM
they obviously don't keep you busy enough at the firm where you work.

;-P

rt
FBI -- stop right there!!! nmDougSloan
Jan 24, 2003 8:27 AM
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....chriscpa
Jan 24, 2003 6:10 AM
CPA in Wisconsin. Today is -4 here. Too cold and no time to ride during tax season.
Couldn't stand taxes..toomanybikes
Jan 24, 2003 6:35 AM
.. that's why i went into the Insolvency business, FAS in our firm. Don't really have a busy season, busy time on start of new file, but that's OK.

Keep you head above water through tax time!
Computer Wiz to JanitorsKristin
Jan 24, 2003 6:40 AM
Just kidding. My official title is Systems Analyst II: Lotus Notes Administrator. My company provides custodial services for various organizations, so in the end, mostly what I do is help janitors figure out how to "work stuff" on their computers. It pays the bills. It doesn't pay for enough bikes/adventures though.
Charge technologist in a moderately large hospital lab.look271
Jan 24, 2003 6:41 AM
I work 330pm to 12 midnight. Lots of time in the morning to ride plus I get to commute home under the clear, moonlit skies of PA =).
V.P. for a financial investment firmPaulCL
Jan 24, 2003 6:43 AM
But father of three all the time.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Klein_man
Jan 24, 2003 6:50 AM
Environmental consultant by day and part-time ballroom dance instructor by night. On the bike the rest of the time.
Engineering Technologist ...Humma Hah
Jan 24, 2003 6:51 AM
... which translates essentially to "practical engineer."

I'm presently helping develop and manufacture avionics intended primarily for the unmanned air vehicle market (drones, unmanned spyplanes, etc).

Previously, I've done nuclear fusion research, nuclear rocket science, and general laboratory testing.

At the moment, my life allows almost NO time for recreational cycling, but I'm perfectly set up to commute by cycle, which is the mainstay of my riding for the last year.
nuclear rocket science??Pack Meat
Jan 24, 2003 7:08 AM
Is that like ion engines?
can be, but ...Humma Hah
Jan 24, 2003 11:33 AM
... I was working for R. W. Bussard, a man with little patience for low-thrust engines. He likes fast cars and fast rockets. Most ion engines tried to date will only drive a rocket at maybe 0.001 g acceleration. Doc wants engines that push you back in the seat and get you to Mars in 3 weeks. The concept we were working on is supposed to be such an engine, powered by p-B11 fusion and utilizing relativistic electron beams to super-heat reaction mass.
I don't know what you just said; but...wow!Kristin
Jan 24, 2003 11:59 AM
I imagine it would take most people one week just to read the first page in one of your text books.
Textbooks?53T
Jan 24, 2003 5:07 PM
If this gut was interested in textbooks, he would be an engineer, not an engineer-basher.
is that turbocharged? :-) nmDougSloan
Jan 24, 2003 12:47 PM
No, but ...Humma Hah
Jan 24, 2003 1:46 PM
... there's an airplane about 30 feet from me as I type this that is ... Perseus B, a high-altitude UAV with a little Rotax piston engine sporting 3-stages of turbocharger and two intercoolers. I has been to 60,000+ ft, probably some kind of record for a piston engine.
can be, but ...wasabekid
Jan 24, 2003 1:57 PM
Can you fit that thing-a-ma-jig in the engine compartment of full size SUV?

;-)

W.
'Fraid not ...Humma Hah
Jan 24, 2003 2:35 PM
... would be nice, tho'. The reactors will be a couple of meters in diameter, minimum. On the other hand, the Mars reactors will be capable of about 10 gigawatts (13 million horsepower), and that would be almost enough to run the "Back to the Future" Delorean.

Dr. Bussard thinks the p-B11 reactors would make power economically enough to power fuel synthesis plants. We could at least make alcohol, possibly also pure iso-octane.

The waste product of the p-B11 reaction is helium. No radioactive waste, no neutrons, and very little radiation. The energy comes off as high-energy alpha particles, charged helium nuclei. These charged particles can be tapped to produce high-voltage DC power, about 1.3 megavolts, at about 80-95% efficiency.
Wow!!! Modularized commercial DCpwr plant future apps???wasabekid
Jan 24, 2003 3:52 PM
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....DougSloan
Jan 24, 2003 6:52 AM
Lawyer. Civil litigation -- construction, insurance, contracts, fraud, civil rights (1st Amendment, 14th Amendment), real estate, product liability, etc.

http://www.daklaw.com

Doug
You must have gone to law schoolvindicator
Jan 24, 2003 7:43 AM
With at least some of my partners in our KC office - lots of UMKC grads there (though I don't know who would be an '87 off the top of my head). I'm at Husch & Eppenberger, in the St. Louis office.
sureDougSloan
Jan 24, 2003 8:27 AM
I started with Linde Thomson Fairchild Langworthy and VanDyke, then when it dissolved, went with Craft, Fridkin & Rhyne, before moving back to Cape Girardeau and joining Limbaugh, Russell, Payne & Howard.

Looking at your firm site, I see Gary Barnes (I thought he was getting bankruptcy judge position?), who I worked with at Linde; Alex Bartlett -- is he the son of Judge D. Brooke Bartlett? I clerked for him in law school and was good friends with his daughter, Julie; there are probably many more I missed, particularly women, who may have married since.

I know lots and lots of lawyers in KC and a few in St. Louis. I've been out of touch with Missouri people for about 6 years, though.

Doug
Lindevindicator
Jan 24, 2003 12:01 PM
We initially took on a fair-sized group from Linde at the time it dissolved, but I don't currently recall which of our KC folks are Linde alums and which aren't. Gary is certainly still with the firm and not on the bench.

Alex is in our Jeff City office. I don't know if he's related to the Judge, but he's certainly not his son (too old for that). We did have an associate (in another office) who was either the Judge's daughter or daughter-in-law (but it wasn't Julie, it was Amanda), but I don't think she's here anymore (I have a tough time just keeping up with our St. Louis personnel).

Small world!
LindeDougSloan
Jan 24, 2003 12:29 PM
Amanda is Julie's sister and the judge's daughter. Last time I saw her I think she was in grade school. Alex would have to be around late 30's, if he were the judge's son; the judge would have been around 67? now if not for the cancer getting him.

Doug
Alexvindicator
Jan 24, 2003 2:32 PM
is a contemporary of the judge, so I suspect he's his brother or cousin if'n they're related.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Franchise
Jan 24, 2003 8:54 AM
Doug,

Glad to see a lawyer/cyclist with a nice collection of Bianchi's. I am graduating from law school at Indiana Unversity in Dec. '03. I opted to graduate in 5 semesters. I'm considering continuing my education for a medical degree, but I am unsure at this time. I am currently a member of the Butler University Alumni Multisport Team. Cycling and legal studies is difficult in conjunction with working as a law clerk. I'd like to discuss the painting of Bianchi frames and forks further. Any tips would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Franchise
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....52-16SS
Jan 24, 2003 6:58 AM
Offshore/Petroleum Engineer - I know it's politically incorrect, but it pays for the bikes
Certified Athletic Trainerspeedisgood
Jan 24, 2003 6:58 AM
I basically work a couple or three mornings in the clinic seeing patients and afternoons working athletic injuries at a local high school. Basically, I get paid to watch sports and take care of things when people get injured.

My schedule is usually pretty hectic, especially on weekends (sucks during the spring when racing and softball/baseball games compete for my time.)
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....VertAddict
Jan 24, 2003 7:00 AM
Director of Energy Risk Management for the Canadian energy trading office of a Swiss bank.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Len J
Jan 24, 2003 7:01 AM
Coordinate all Due Diligence for Private Equity Firm, Operating Mentor for all Portfolio CFO's, And anything else they want me to do.

Traveling 4 to 5 days a week, still trying to figure out how to get enough riding in other than on the weekends.

Len
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....PdxMark
Jan 24, 2003 4:16 PM
A travel bike, like one from Co-Motion (or aothers out there)

http://www.co-motion.com/travmenu.html
scientist (not quite there yet)Stampertje
Jan 24, 2003 7:09 AM
pursueing a Ph.D. in experimental particle physics
Fermilab
not a lot of time left to write my thesis... I shouldn't be posting here!
Sr. Designer for a Brand Communications firmgreg n
Jan 24, 2003 7:10 AM
www.octavebrand.com
LAN technician. That's what they call me, anyway.aet
Jan 24, 2003 7:13 AM
re LAN: do you think everything will go wireless? nmDougSloan
Jan 24, 2003 7:32 AM
Naw...not ultimatelyKristin
Jan 24, 2003 7:37 AM
Wireless is often more of an inconvenience. We will go more wireless, but never totally.
nope.aet
Jan 28, 2003 2:16 PM
nowadays you can get gigabit ethernet which is quite a bit of throughput. i think you can get 11mbs over wireless, right now. there will always be situations where you will need fast connections so pure wireless is out. for now.
Ditto - Infrastructure/Network Engineer @large bank (nm)jtferraro
Jan 24, 2003 7:44 AM
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....KeeponTrekkin
Jan 24, 2003 7:20 AM
Deputy Director of NJ HMFA - the state financing agency for affordable housing; also hold local elected office - Councilman in my town in New Jersey, a home rule state.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Maverick
Jan 24, 2003 7:21 AM
i'm an Electrical and Electronic Engineer, working in a semiconductor related field.
internet applications developerFrith
Jan 24, 2003 7:29 AM
Currently coming to the end of my contract, and looking for the next gig.
Attorneyvindicator
Jan 24, 2003 7:37 AM
Civil litigation. Firm does it all, but personally it's mostly business disputes of one type or another - very few injury/death cases. These days, that means (for me) class action defense, environmental cost recovery, and regulatory litigation. But that changes every couple of years.
Me too...little ride time :-( (nm)AFred
Jan 25, 2003 3:48 PM
former dot-com, current software developerDuane Gran
Jan 24, 2003 7:38 AM
I had the joy ride of doing my own Internet business for about five years, which is still in business but doesn't really pay the bills. I'm now working for other people, but I hope to fix that one day and launch something anew.
Marketing Director of an E-Commerce companyUprwstsdr
Jan 24, 2003 7:49 AM
Soon to be a Father.
Chiropractorbsdc
Jan 24, 2003 7:49 AM
I see patients primarily on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. That leaves Tuesday, Thurday and the weekends flexible so I'm able to get in a ride. It wasn't always that way. I own two clinics and work with other doctors and physical therapists. Building up my practice, then setting up the clinics and helping the other providers get their practices started took a lot of time. I went years without riding. I hope that never happens again.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....ms
Jan 24, 2003 7:54 AM
Lawyer -- mainly business litigation. I currently am a partner in a small firm -- all of us in the firm are large firm alumni.

www.ghsllp.com
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Jon Billheimer
Jan 24, 2003 8:06 AM
CEO of a mid-sized custodial services and exterior bldg. maintenance firm in Western Canada. Can't wait to retire so I can ride even more, but that's not likely to happen anytime soon.
epidemiologist_rt_
Jan 24, 2003 7:54 AM
no, that does not mean that i work with skin. look it up & you'll see that the word "skin" is found nowhere in the definition. you'd be surprised how many people confused dermatologist with epidemiologist!!

with the CDC....but actually trained as a developmental psychologist with a focus on reserch with abused & neglected children.

rt
is what area?moschika
Jan 24, 2003 12:49 PM
what area of the cdc do you do epi with?
NCIPC_rt_
Jan 24, 2003 1:09 PM
or for those of you who aren't initiated into gov't acronyms: National Center for Injury Prevention & Control (Division of Violence Prevention)

rt
epidemiologistdotkaye
Jan 24, 2003 1:14 PM
explain to them you work with epidemics, not epidermis.. heh.

Now you have an interesting job. I spend the day disentangling other peoples' computer mysteries, but it's not as interesting or important as what you do..
lol._rt_
Jan 24, 2003 2:09 PM
thanks, i'd be happy to give you my job right now since i just got 3 months worth of work dumped on my desk with a 2 day deadline.

and i've got guests in town for the weekend.

grrrr!

you being able to disentangling other's computer mysteries is how the rest of us remain functional! :)

rt
Photographer as well...regulajo
Jan 24, 2003 8:00 AM
Professional photographer here also, mostly news and sports. Self employed and am able to ride when I like...usually.
where you based @? (NM)allezrider
Jan 24, 2003 8:25 AM
Allez, where are you based?Uprwstsdr
Jan 24, 2003 8:38 AM
My wife is a photographer as well. She does a lot of event work for the TV and Film industry in NYC.
Allez, where are you based?allezrider
Jan 24, 2003 8:57 AM
I am based in nashville tn. Otherwise known as "nashvegas" .
I wish I was in nyc but my wife has too good of job to leave.
Allez, do you ever get down to Chattanooga to ride? nmMike P
Jan 24, 2003 10:10 AM
Allez, do you ever get down to Chattanooga to ride? nmallezrider
Jan 24, 2003 10:39 AM
I might try to this year. I haven't in the past but I would like to start traveling a little more this year.
Salt Lake City, Utah.regulajo
Jan 24, 2003 10:20 AM
Where are you, Allez?
Chief of Staff in a Legislative office (albeit a small office)noveread
Jan 24, 2003 8:04 AM
Policy stuff, just got a new job, which means a new bike! And I scored a pair of new Velomax Ascents for $400 yesterday for that new bike! :)

Noveread
Corporate bitch ... Yes man ...Big_Cog_N_It
Jan 24, 2003 8:05 AM
... and a software geek for a Systems Integration group.

I guess one of the best perks of my job is flex time. I can get here at 6 AM, take a 2 hour lunch ride, and still be home by 4 - 5 PM ... oh yeah, and that other perk ... nestled right against the Colorado Front Range.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Sadlebred
Jan 24, 2003 8:08 AM
Computer technician (if it breaks, I fix it--desktop, servers, etc.) for a large corporation. I hate hardware; prefer the software work.

The hours are pretty good even if the job stinks.
Chemical EngineerContinental
Jan 24, 2003 8:08 AM
Proud to have invented, developed, and commercialized processes that save more energy than all of the bicycle commuters in the USA combined.
Cmputer Project Mgr(PMP)/consultant, btwn asgmts..freezing in CTbent_spoke
Jan 24, 2003 8:11 AM
bent_spoke, where in CT?jtferraro
Jan 24, 2003 8:50 AM
I work in Hartford.

-Jeff
Out of work artist, acting during the day...128
Jan 24, 2003 8:13 AM
(non-practicing) attorney: health/disability insurance contract analyst- public and (currently)private sector. Heading for civil-litigation/employment law...

Now that the car is paid off (just sent in last payment!) I have begun the bike-upgrade savings fund. Ohh yeah.
Programmer (a.k.a. CubeTroll)bikenbo
Jan 24, 2003 8:24 AM
Side jobs help pay for some bike goods.
Plant and Soil ScientistBikinCO
Jan 24, 2003 8:27 AM
I manage a golf course outside of Vail, CO.

www.eagleranchgolf.com
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....LLSmith
Jan 24, 2003 8:29 AM
Real Estate N.E. Atlanta area.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....outofthesaddle
Jan 24, 2003 8:33 AM
I'm General Counsel for a wireless technology company (wireless real time location systems). I have two boys (3 & 5) and I work out of a satellite office so I find time to ride before work or at lunch.
internet applications developerFrith
Jan 24, 2003 8:39 AM
Currently coming to the end of my contract, and looking for the next gig.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....wasabekid
Jan 24, 2003 8:56 AM
Mechanical Engineer by profession, Commercial/Business Property proprietor/manager.

wishing for more saddle time in these cold, wet and soggy NW.

W.
Sci-Tech/marketing for vitamin companyAaronL
Jan 24, 2003 9:07 AM
Live in San Fran bay area for the last15 years.

I'd rather be back living near Fresno, though, where I grew up. I think Doug can attest to how great it is living in that area, affordable, not overpopulated and some of the best riding on the planet.

So it gets a bit hot, it's a dry heat. :)
The job everyone wants....I'm retiredDINOSAUR
Jan 24, 2003 9:09 AM
Retired law enforcement (CHP). My whole life dwells on cycling. When I'm not out riding or working on my two bikes I'm plotting how I can add a third bike to my stable. I'm lusting for titanium.

Cycling and retirement go very well together. It ain't over till the fat lady sings, and she hasn't started to warm up yet.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....dave woof
Jan 24, 2003 9:12 AM
Network admin/systems admin - realty firm in Fountain Hills AZ - outside Phoenix.

Two Colnagos I ride almost every day after work.

Today it's 75 degrees and lightly cloudy.

NYAHH NYAHH!!!!

hehe

Dave
Relocation Specialist.Spoke Wrench
Jan 24, 2003 9:18 AM
I relocate middle school kids from home to school and vice versa.
LOL. how's business? nmJS Haiku Shop
Jan 24, 2003 12:19 PM
Great!Spoke Wrench
Jan 24, 2003 4:25 PM
Twice a day I get locked in a steel tube with 30 or 40 rowdy middle schoolers and the billy club that I use to check my tires. What's not to like?
Freelance Graphic Designertrout_bum
Jan 24, 2003 9:21 AM
with a steady 9 to 5 gig at a company. And I have to work all this weekend-UGGH! At least the weather here in NYC sucks and the extra money will pay for my bike part habit.
After being a student nearly all of my life...Ken of Fresno
Jan 24, 2003 9:35 AM
I have finally finished my MA in Linguistics/ESL (WOOO HOOO!) and am now teaching part time at the local university. I'm only teaching two sections, so I've got a lot of time to ride. A little too much. I'll probably do some subbing in the public school system after taking the CBEST (California Basic Educational Skills Test). If I really like it, maybe I'll do a credential.

Ken
Athletic Communications DirectorWrigleyRoadie
Jan 24, 2003 9:49 AM
For a major collegiate conference.

Yes, I get paid to watch college women play sports.

I win!
patent lawyer nmPdxMark
Jan 24, 2003 9:56 AM
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....toronto-rider
Jan 24, 2003 10:34 AM
Accountant in a small public accounting firm in, you guessed it, Toronto, Canada. Hate my job, looking to leave accounting for good. Summer 9-5, winter no ridding, April tax season means working on Sat. 2003 1st year of road racing, mtb racing for 3yrs. No wife or kids and still don't have money to buy decent road bike.
liberal arts studentmike r
Jan 24, 2003 10:50 AM
which means i can get away with doing nothing for ten months of the year (14hour week!).
just finished my exams so i can start riding my bike again.
I'm an engineer...Bonked
Jan 24, 2003 10:53 AM
and work for a medical company specializing in cardiovascular implants.
Mechanical Engineer...desert-rider
Jan 24, 2003 11:08 AM
doing design work in the Power Generation industry. Good income, but not as much time to ride as I'd like...
Corporate recruiter for a telecomunications company NMMudman
Jan 24, 2003 11:09 AM
Yet another lawyer (biotech stuff).djg
Jan 24, 2003 11:30 AM
Used to actually do (and teach) some science, among other things.
Corporate IT Desk Jockey...scary slow
Jan 24, 2003 11:35 AM
pays the bills and occasionally buys parts for my stable of bikes. oh, and the occasional dinner with my girlfriend to make up for spending so much time riding and not with her.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....daz I
Jan 24, 2003 11:37 AM
I do a combination of;
-environmental management system consulting
-IT system development

mostly for the oil and gas industry in Nigeria.
Lucky to get two weekends a month for riding.

Cannondale Lefty 800 and a Redline Conquest Pro.
Mortgage Banker ... of course ... ======>HouseMoney
Jan 24, 2003 11:39 AM
Radiation Effects EngineerHAL9010
Jan 24, 2003 11:53 AM
Currently, unemployed. Radiation Effects in Semiconductors. This is looking at the effects of radiation on integrated circuits that are to be used in spacecraft and satellites.

Maveric, any openings at your firm?
Dabbled in that...Stampertje
Jan 27, 2003 6:24 AM
we get a nice radiation environment for testing at the accelerator :)
Who did you work for?
It's nice to meet all the lurkers :-) nmMcAndrus
Jan 24, 2003 11:55 AM
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Barton
Jan 24, 2003 11:55 AM
Real Estate sales
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Fattrax
Jan 24, 2003 12:08 PM
A writer for the Navy. Put out a weekly newsletter about combat ships.
Intellectual Property Attorneytmguy
Jan 24, 2003 12:16 PM
Trademarks, litigation and licensing in Seattle. I ride to work!
® ™ © 2003 ;-) nmDougSloan
Jan 24, 2003 1:04 PM
Hi tmguy - patent atty here in Portland nmPdxMark
Jan 24, 2003 4:05 PM
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....mapei boy
Jan 24, 2003 12:16 PM
I work at a major Hollywood movie studio. If I said anything more, I'd probably get in trouble as I use my work computer to post these messages. (Message to all you company spies: Give me some slack. Have I ever turned an assignment in late?) And hey, Ken of Fresno! I've got an MA in Linguistics, too!
Cool!Ken of Fresno
Jan 24, 2003 4:35 PM
It's good to know that there's always Hollywood if teaching falls through. :) How did you land that job with an MA in ling?

Thanks,
Ken
Cool!mapei boy
Jan 27, 2003 10:59 AM
The Linguistics degree didn't have a thing to do with getting me into the Hollywood Shuffle. I got into the film business entirely through a series of coincidences and contacts. However, my Linguistics background does help me in my daily grind. I do a lot of editorial work on movie scripts, and my studies in subjects like phonology, syntax and conversational interaction give me definite insight into how scripts can be tweaked to make them a little better. By the way, I haven't been in the Linguistics Game in ages. Is Noam Chomsky still Lord on High? Or is he now considered quaint, like Saussure(sp) or Bloomfield?
Intellectual Property Attorneytmguy
Jan 24, 2003 12:17 PM
Trademarks, litigation and licensing in Seattle. I ride to work!
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....rrodrigz
Jan 24, 2003 12:39 PM
Plastic Surgeon. Father (2 teenagers). Getting to ride takes a lot of effort and planning. End up on rollers (race tapes on vcr) or trainer (Spinervals) way more than I'd like. Envy you guys who get lots of daylight.
public health - HIV preventionmoschika
Jan 24, 2003 12:53 PM
i work in public health and coordinate a couple HIV prevention programs for the local health department.

some school based education programs and social marketing.
ahh. now i see why you asked..._rt_
Jan 24, 2003 1:11 PM
where in CDC i work.

rt - the light is dawning
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Alpedhuez55
Jan 24, 2003 1:07 PM
I work Customer Service for an HMO near Boston. On the look out for something different though.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....RCA
Jan 24, 2003 1:29 PM
A professional crimefighter,an amateur snowblower and a dad protecting his bikes from 3 teenagers.
we have had 95cm of snow in Jan. and -28c for last 4 days
140km north of Toronto Ontario
Commodities Manager (metals) for large mfr based in R.I. (nm)RhodyRider
Jan 24, 2003 1:40 PM
'nuther computer geek here...gregg
Jan 24, 2003 2:16 PM
...but love it! I really couldn't imagine any other job I'd rather be doing. (of course, I wouldn't mind having some extra data entry help, but hey, can't have everything).

Being Site Manager of RoadbikeREVIEW and Mtbr means lots and lots of email and HTML (yes, Virginia, there still are people that use HTML). Working for a .com in these times means wearing several different hats. Jack of all trades, master of none.

Ride mostly on the weekends. Sometimes during the week, when I have the time (and motivation). Day job takes more than 8 hours a day, so, little riding time during the average work week.

The pay is okay, but the fringe benefits of having industry connections for bike stuff is Sweet!(Thanks, Francis!) I'd probably spend my whole paycheck on bike stuff, if not for the fact that I'd come home to changed locks.

-gregg
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....4bykn
Jan 24, 2003 2:20 PM
I work in the factory which produces:
1) Chrysler Sebring coupe
2) Dodge Stratus coupe
3) Mitsubishi Galant
4) Mitsubishi Eclipse
5) Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder
6) Mitsubishi Endeavor

We make anything from two door(Sebring and Stratus) to four door(Galant) to Sporty(Eclipse) to convertible(Spyder) to SUV(Endeavor).
Is mine the only "blue collar" here? (nm)4bykn
Jan 24, 2003 2:28 PM
Is mine the only "blue collar" here? (nm)inallston
Jan 24, 2003 2:50 PM
No. My response is near the beginning.
Less likely to be sitting in front of a computer all day (nm)LactateIntolerant
Jan 24, 2003 2:54 PM
Some would argue that IT is at least partly blue collarKristin
Jan 24, 2003 2:57 PM
What I do often feels like a mix of blue collar and white collar. I work in an office, and usually spend the day at my desk, but then there are plenty of times that I'm moving/building servers, installing a rack, pulling cable, checking nodes in the closet...you know, denim work.
I.T. Specialist - Dept. of Defenseaarontoy
Jan 24, 2003 3:33 PM
Sounds fancy but I'm basically a graphics hack for Uncle Sam. I LOVE my job. I have a 6th floor window office that overlooks the entire Monterey Bay and Salinas Valley. I ride road and dirt on the former Fort Ord. Miles and miles of closed roads and world class dirt trails. I ride 15 miles every day during my lunch hour. As a cyclist, I'm spoiled.
Lawyer -Leroy
Jan 24, 2003 3:37 PM
I run a legal aid office. Good day gig...
re: out of curiosty, a pollroadrider
Jan 24, 2003 3:54 PM
Do you have room for one more photographer?
I'm a professional commercial photographer for a
studio in N.C..{Furniture capital of the world}
www.albionassociates.net
Also freelance with a architectural photographer
{that supports my habbit}very good pay.
www.billkund.com
Bill is also a training partner
he is 55 rode in the 64 Olympics on the track.
You would not believe how strong he still is
and a great guy.
Jeff
I want to be the last person to respond to this post. Thanks.Elefantino
Jan 24, 2003 5:19 PM
I want to be the last person to respond to this post. Thanks.katie1
Jan 24, 2003 6:18 PM
Sorry...didn't mean to steal your thunder.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....katie1
Jan 24, 2003 6:15 PM
By day, a federal employee...I work for the Atlanta VA as a clinical pharmacist. My job is similar to a physician assistant's. I see patients and help manage their medications. Nights and weekends -> avid cyclist. :)
Physician, Pediatric Emergency Medicine nmjtlmd
Jan 24, 2003 8:27 PM
waiter pseudo sommelier in big seafood restaraunt.ol
Jan 24, 2003 9:01 PM
I work mainly nights therefore the days are my own. This sort of industry allows time to ride and enjoy your biking.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....jefajones
Jan 24, 2003 9:15 PM
J.Jones,MS,JD (or as my friends say - trophy husband). When I'm not filling the complimentary role of trophy husband for Dr.Jones (i.e. domestic duties/kids), I am under employed with the state dept. of labor and am also an adjunct prof.
CEO of a large international corporation...Allen az
Jan 25, 2003 12:33 AM
just kiddin'

student-(BA Graphic Design)
copj-son
Jan 25, 2003 5:43 AM
I work 4th watch (8 pm to 4 am) patrolling a walking beat in the bar district of a college and military town. I'm currently on injured reserve; I blew up my shoulder in November arresting a drunk soldier.
re: Transportation Planner for State of Calif. Nmjrm
Jan 25, 2003 9:54 AM
School Teacher!! Greatest job in the world!!!!bludoggy
Jan 25, 2003 10:40 AM
How do you guys find time to ride with 'real jobs'. Teaching is the greatest... two months every summer with nothing to do but ride...(there are, of corse, other aspects of the job that i find rewarding as well, but let's be honest..)
President of France(nm)TREKY
Jan 25, 2003 1:13 PM
now, CNC machinist... someday, B&B owner in B.C.CalgaryDave
Jan 25, 2003 1:17 PM
Doing the daily grind as a machinist in Calgary now. Wife-to-be is a CA. We bought some land recently in BC with the plan to open a B&B catering to active people (skiing, riding, hiking, climbing, etc.). Right out the front door are the Monashee Mountains. Bring on Freedom 45!
College ProfessorKenS
Jan 25, 2003 1:48 PM
Experimental Psychologist. I had been a rider during college but got tired of being hassled by rednecks. I bought a Hardrock when I finished my PhD and started riding again, mainly trails. I've been a mtn biker until last year when I realized that I was putting in many road miles to build up my fitness. So now I have started switching over to the rbr side of the universe.

Ken
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....OTG
Jan 25, 2003 6:13 PM
Engineering student, rower, University of Vermont

-Owen
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....aquarick
Jan 25, 2003 7:38 PM
A numbers type of a guy ... CPA.
re: out of curiosty, a poll.....Jowan
Jan 26, 2003 8:42 AM
Legal & Regulatory counsel to a (Dutch) electricity company.

Work 4 days a week, leaves me the time I need to ride.

Jowan
Baptist Minister (nm)MalandMo
Jan 26, 2003 9:12 AM
Another blue collar worker...Cartman
Jan 26, 2003 11:32 AM
Well, that's because my uniform is blue. Municipal Police Officer in North Central MA.
Marine biologistspringbok
Jan 26, 2003 6:11 PM
Read the discussion just occasionally. . .& usually when I'm looking for advice on something! Spring