RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


UGH! Why do people ask weight training advice on here?(21 posts)

UGH! Why do people ask weight training advice on here?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jan 23, 2003 5:49 PM
As a follow up to my comment a week or so ago about reader beware when it comes to advice with weights it was proven with a post below for someone who was just getting into the weight room. There were 3 very well intentioned responses with none of them right.

To me it almost seems like people over simplify weights and think there is nothing to it not realizing how much there is to it. Which leads to people coming here to ask advice and then leads to people (well intentioned of course) giving advice that without their knowledge is wrong.

I know I asked a question a couple weeks ago and got a lot of feedback which I thank them for but sadly none from anyone qualified to give anything of any significant value.

So the question may be not why do people ask weight training advice but more why do people give advice when in reality they are not qualified to give it?

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
Buy a damn book or get a coachmickey-mac
Jan 23, 2003 6:05 PM
What the hell do you expect? Maybe some people you have deemed "not qualified" are giving you advice that works for them. Maybe some people are feeding you misinformation. Furthermore, many people will offer advice on anything, regardless of their level of experience. If I were intent on using weigh training to assist me in cycling, I'd go to to an authority on the subject, whether through a book, a web site, or directly through a coach. Asking for advice and then criticizing those who offer it isn't the best way to win friends and influence people, IMHO.
Try specifying that you are looking for "expert" opinion.czardonic
Jan 23, 2003 6:08 PM
Honestly, this is the Internet, and a cycling specific forum at that. Why would you come here looking for expert weight training experience? There are some great and very knowledgable people here, but I wouldn't risk my body on anyone's anonymous advice. You get some insurance from the "self-correcting" nature of a community where nobody's BS can stand without someone else calling it. However, the further you get from the range of knowledge that the community specializes in, the smaller the chance that people will know bogus information when they see it.
It is you who asks all the weight training questions. (nm)onespeed
Jan 23, 2003 6:14 PM
why do people ask anything here. nmdesmo
Jan 23, 2003 7:48 PM
personal trainersSpoiler
Jan 23, 2003 7:51 PM
The question is why do you think a personal trainer is the only solution? Do you know what it takes to become certified as a personal trainer?
here's something everyone should read.
http://www.testosterone.net/html/40train.html
Thats where you find a qualified personal trainerPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jan 23, 2003 8:42 PM
I know not all personal trainers are qualified. But at the same time an experience PT can be way smarter than someone with a kines degree. I know I'm eventually gonna get my personal trainer certification with the bottom level that I teach spin classes with. Thats why you root through the good and bad ones by bugging them about stuff like periodization, strength vs. size, their sport background... on and on. Most PT's work full time in a gym on an hourly rate then get their clients on top of that so they are there to answer any questions in order to get clients.

And then for the gentleman below who is only doing leg press any personal trainer I feel would be better than advice from here or just him figuring it out on your own. PT's don't need a lot of schooling but most have a lot of experience and him being there supervising is a quantum leap from taking advice off here.

Cheers,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
Podiumbound... I love you but...spankdoggie
Jan 23, 2003 8:49 PM
You are starting to act like a jackass again.
You slackjawed bastard.

Join a gym dinkleberry.

spankdoggie
Sorry... this is my biggest pet peevePODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jan 23, 2003 8:59 PM
The whole gym thing is my biggest pet peeve. Part of the reason is because I spend so much time in the gym and everywhere I look people do excercises wrong. It drives me insane. Then someone completely new to weights comes on here and asks for advice and gets advice that could hurt them more than help them.

This is my flame bait rant for this year... I'm cramming for a final Monday so I've been pretty grumpy and it got directed here.

Sorry,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
One of my pet peevesmickey-mac
Jan 23, 2003 9:08 PM
is people who ask for free advice and then bitch when it doesn't meet their expectations. Apparently you've gotten your money's worth. I understand you're experiencing some stress, but this isn't the most productive way to reduce it.
I'm not sure what part of my response you found so incorrect.dzrider
Jan 24, 2003 6:10 AM
We certainly agree that doing only one exercise is not a good plan. I doubt that lunges and toe presses will do any harm or that increasing the weight and doing fewer reps will ruin him. Working out without much rest between exrecises is not dangerous. What's the problem?

Some day you'll figure out that the best way for you ain't necessarily the best for everybody and even if it were, it wouldn't be the only good way to do things. Cycling and weight lifting are basically recreational activities for most of us who do them. Folks can and should do them in a way they find enjoyable and rewarding even if it's not the best way to produce a world class athlete.

You're right, I'm not a personal trainer. Neither are you. Your determination to be one doesn't make you one, much less a good one. Over the years I've run into a few personal trainers. Some knew far more than I do and understood many facets of athletic fitness. Some knew only one aspect of weight training - body building. Some were little more than muscular salesmen. None of them were smart enough to eliminate the need for some trial and error in finding a routine that's enjoyable enough to do over a long period of time and produces the desired results.
book knowledgeColnagoFE
Jan 24, 2003 7:05 AM
big diff between knowing it and putting it into practice. I am a ACE certified personal trainer, but never actually used the cert to train anyone and still consider myself to be learning new things about fitness every day. PT was a possible career option at one point, so I got the cert. The test is a b*tch. You basically have to learn all the bones and muscles (the REAL names...not calves, etc) and not just the major groups. Lifting theory, safety, some diet, etc. etc...That said, I don't think I'd be qualified to personal train anyone until I shadowed a qualified, experienced trainer for a while. I have the book knowledge, but would need to learn how to apply it. I still struggle with form on some exercises even though I KNOW the correct way you're supposed to do it.
Okay youngman, that does it! You're showing your...wasabekid
Jan 23, 2003 9:01 PM
inexperience quite too frequently. ;-)

First:
In an Internet Forum, who would you define as "qualified" to give advice? Is it the person that will outline his "impressive" credentials in his response to you or thru a website, but will give you a suspect advice...or...some anonymous that call himself shmuck but give you a credible, plausible and logical advice?

Second:
If you look and read close enough, people give you their advice mostly in the form of 'SHARING their experiences' on things that had previously worked for them. This means it MAY work...BUT then again it MAY NOT work for you (or them). It does not necessarily mean that it is wrong.

Third:
You quickly dismiss the "other responses" as wrong and unqualified...and you want to convince us that yours is the correct and qualified one?

I'll try to make this as clear and simple:
The most important thing you learn in learning is: TO LEARN HOW TO LEARN.

In an open forum like this, this means that (at the very least) you should be able to analyze the validity of the logic, rationale and it's APPLICABLITY to you. This also means NOT having (your)preconcieved notion on what the (detailed and point specific) advice SHOULD be and anything short of it is wrong. In other words, you only want to hear the things that are familiar to you...and that...I'm afraid is a sign of 'close mindedness' and lack of vision. A vision that will let you see things far beyond your eyes would.

Make that bike engine smarter by "Learning How To Learn". Of course along the way you'll find out that a lot of good things are not right for you.

Cheers and Good Luck.

W.
I forgive your indescretions, podiumbound...spankdoggie
Jan 23, 2003 11:12 PM
There are certainly more bastards than you can swing a stick at here... and at every forum...

Feel the love,

Ignore the hate,

Don't hate the player, hate the game...

Tears,

spankdoggie
Nick, are you qualified to ask that question? ;-) nmSpunout
Jan 24, 2003 6:19 AM
The advice is free--you pay for it when you take it! (nm)duckstrap
Jan 24, 2003 6:41 AM
who's qualified to give most advice around here?ColnagoFE
Jan 24, 2003 6:56 AM
you gotta use some reasoning skills and your own research. nobody should believe 90% of what is posted here. that said, you do learn something once in a while.
chill nmDougSloan
Jan 24, 2003 7:31 AM
Some thoughts (an opinion essay) :)Mike-Wisc
Jan 24, 2003 7:48 AM
///////////
"So the question may be not why do people ask weight training advice but more why do people give advice when in reality they are not qualified to give it? "
\\\\\\\\\\\\
Because it's their opinion. You come here to share information from personal experience and with personal understanding, and any advice given here should always be taken with the preface of "it's someone's opinion that I did not pay for directly nor is it backed up with any verified credentials".

/////////////
"As a follow up to my comment a week or so ago about reader beware when it comes to advice with weights it was proven with a post below for someone who was just getting into the weight room. There were 3 very well intentioned responses with none of them right. "
\\\\\\\\\\\\
Who says they were not right? I've learned over the years that what's right changes with time. Take eggs for instance, first they're good for you, then they're bad for you, then just the yolks are bad for you, then they're totally good for you but only in moderation, so who's to say what's right or wrong. Without knowing the replies, and not wanting to bother to go back and look, I'll just say there are lots of opinions on weightlifting. Take for example a Smith rack: is it good or bad to do squats with a Smith rack? I can find credentialed experts who say good and other equally credentialled experts who say bad.

/////////////
"To me it almost seems like people over simplify weights and think there is nothing to it not realizing how much there is to it. Which leads to people coming here to ask advice and then leads to people (well intentioned of course) giving advice that without their knowledge is wrong. "
\\\\\\\\\\\\\
There is no easy answer and no shortcuts to the truth. People will usually take the path of least resistance when seeking knowledge. Who wants to go to school for four years just to learn how to properly do a squat or leg press. Most people just want a basic simple answer, and most people give a personally-based simple reply. There is no easy way to do more in the format of a discussion forum.

////////////
"I know I asked a question a couple weeks ago and got a lot of feedback which I thank them for but sadly none from anyone qualified to give anything of any significant value."
\\\\\\\\\\\\
What exactly did you expect? Did you expect Paula Newby Fraser (sp?) to hop in here and give her weight training regimin and the reasons on why it works for her? Did you expect Lance Armstrong to jump in here and give his reasons and explanations for why his weight training routine is set up the way it is? There is no easy answer, and a personal weight routine must, absolutely MUST, be based on you and your specific needs and local conditions and background and parameters. Any information or help you get or accept must be pruned and tailored to you specifically, even that info that you pay for must be personally applied. You can not go buy a book or a weight training video and expect it to work for you specifically.

Your own web site has a very interesting prolog in the opening page of the Athletes section. There are gems contained in the words there that can be used to answer the question you raised. Everyone has some level of expert knowledge in some minute field, and everyone has some general knowledge in broader fields, and everyone as well has an opinion. Your responsibility when asking a question is to filter the responses and apply and extract what you can that you find valid. You and I could look at the weight training questions you are referring to and extract different valid aspects as applied to each of us individually. Point one of answer one might be right for your application and point two of answer one might be wrong, but it could be the other way around for me. I don't know. I do know exactly how much I've paid for the inputs here, and how much was paid for my inputs. T
Pot, meet kettle.brider
Jan 24, 2003 9:20 AM
"So the question may be not why do people ask weight training advice but more why do people give advice when in reality they are not qualified to give it?"

Nick -- you're accusing people of doing exactly what you do. Notice that thread above where some one asked about development of specific muscles of the quadriceps -- you speak from personal experience only. Sounds alot like what you're accusing people of here.

Ever see the movie "Lorenzo's Oil?" Here's a (true) case of poeple having an interest in a subject and doing some personal research, and coming up with a (correct) solution. By your definition, these people didn't know what they were talking about.
I was wrongPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jan 24, 2003 10:30 AM
This entire post was an overreaction on my part. Basically it comes down to that people need to be critical about they hear and not take everything as fact. Then theres a point where your better off going to an expert and being coached than being given advice on here.

I hope I never see Dave in real life or else he might punch me very very hard.

Nick