RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Speaking of watches....(43 posts)

Speaking of watches....fractured
Jan 18, 2003 3:30 PM
Ok, well looking at the Oakley post below as an example, if you WERE to spend a ludicrous amount on a watch, what would it be? Which watches actually have styling and movement worth a big price tag? I'm no expert myself, but these ones look nice to me.





re: Tag HeuerBill B
Jan 18, 2003 4:12 PM
I'm partial to Tags, I own several. Ebay is a great source for watches of all kinds.
i dont really understand watchescollinsc
Jan 18, 2003 4:29 PM
I've got a pretty nice one I think. A thin and light titanium Skagen, was a hundred or so bucks. Works good, doesnt get f*cked up when i bash it into things.

When its something that sits on your wrist and tells you the time, I just cant figure out why some of them are so rich. And by so rich I mean SOOOOO rich, rich like $10k.

Dont take this the wrong way either, I am usually a big sucker for decadent over expendatures too. But when I see the price tags on some of these things my first thought is "wow, that would make for three really nice bikes"
I'm glad I'm not aloneTig
Jan 18, 2003 4:52 PM
I'd like a better watch, but there are so many other things that come before one, including bike stuff. My $100 Ti one is decent and will last another few years, so I'm happy for now. If I had lottery money, I'd still not buy anything more costly than a Tag ot Festina.
10K? pah!fractured
Jan 18, 2003 7:54 PM
Forget bikes, you could buy a PORSCHE for the price of this one
Nothing feels better than an automatic Swiss Chronographterry b
Jan 19, 2003 8:46 AM
I collect a little bit (a few Omegas, Baume et Mercier, Tag, Zenith) and I will tell you that having that precise piece of metal on your wrist simply feels great. It feels just just like having a top end bike.

Of course, they tell time just like a 15 dollar Timex, but that's not the point. It's about luxury and how luxury makes you feel.

And - from an investment perspective they're not bad. Just like any other collectable.
Rolex!JimP
Jan 18, 2003 5:11 PM
I have been wearing the same Rolex GMT Master since 1966. It has been rebuilt by Rolex twice in 36 years and still looks good. I can't justify the price they want for one today but it has been a good watch and when the amount I paid is amortized over 36 years, hasn't been that expensive.
Jim
Don't buy crap, I collectLazywriter
Jan 18, 2003 6:03 PM
watches (3 dozen or so) icluding Rolex, several Omegas, Hamiltons, vintage chronographs, Technomarine etc. I used to have a Tag Heuer but they are a waste of money. They lose their value fast and for what the cost for a quartz (most of them are), you are better off buying a Swiss Army and banking the rest. Don't let the higher price of a Rolex, Bretiling, Bell & Ross, IWC, Panerai turn you off because they hold their value over the years. This will be key if you ever want to trade it in on a new watch. I have a Rolex Explorer II that I can always get at least $3000 back on at any time.
There are some very interesting cheaper watches out there but don't buy them thinking they are a good value. Omegas are probably the best value out there as their movements are used in many other watches and you can find good deals on them. Rolex never discounts so don't expect much. Tags, Movado, Raymond Weil for example charge decent $ for not much watch as far as the movement and craftsmanship.
Ashford.com for high-end watch discounts (nm)Look381i
Jan 19, 2003 4:47 AM
Ashford??Fez
Jan 19, 2003 8:41 AM
Don't know where they get the watches (probably genuine, but still grey market). Therefore, they have no factory warranty and the only warranty you get is from Ashford.

I also heard from customers who said the watches they bought weren't always new, even though they were advertised as such. Sometimes signs of wear and bracelet adjustments were evident. Looked like the watches were returns.

I guess buyer beware. And see if they have a return policy in case you're disappointed.
Don't buy crap, I collecthinaults dog
Jan 19, 2003 5:11 AM
I used to have a rolex seadweller which was
worn daily for 5 years looked as good as new
and got close to what i paid for it when i px'd
it (something i now regret)
Don't buy crap, I collectcapnjim01
Jan 19, 2003 7:08 AM
Omegas are very nice and they don't shout rock star look at me as some times a Rolex will. i actually meet a man who had one of the orginal Omegas made for the first astronauts(sp) that went to the moon. He bought it in a pawn shop in Fla. or so the story goes. the only other person i have heard of who had one in his collection was the late Sammy Davis Jr. I'll just wear my CASIO (because i can see the dial without my glasses) until after i buy My Serrota.
Don't buy crap, I collectseyboro
Jan 19, 2003 7:20 AM
Do you have an opinion on Festina watches?
Don't buy crap, I collectmickey-mac
Jan 20, 2003 7:03 AM
Oh, that's right, you're the Chronomonster.
re: Speaking of watches....Spoiler
Jan 18, 2003 6:16 PM
Just before Christmas I finally got my hands on a Burger King collectible Simpsons talking watch. I held out till the Crusty The Clown version came out. I didn't even have to get a Kid's Meal to get it. They sold them seperately. Can you believe that?! I even bought a second one as my gf's Christmas present. She was VERY grateful, if you know what I mean.
It doesn't have a light, but it does have an alarm that says, "Hey kids, it's STORY TIME! Hoohoo Haha!"
It also has band that you can adjust for a custom fit. Even the battery is replaceable. I expect it to hold its value quite nicely.
Jealous?
After looking, some nice ones (warning - graphics intensive)fractured
Jan 18, 2003 8:03 PM




Wow, true (timeless) beauty will never go out of style. nmrwbadley
Jan 18, 2003 10:54 PM
After looking, some nice ones (warning - graphics intensive)ohmk1
Jan 20, 2003 6:56 AM
I actually have the same exact Baume & Mercier Hampton pictured above. Yes, It's accurate, and very stylish, however I'm disappointed at the workmanship. for one thing the clasp gets unbuckled at the slightest pressure. Apparently, I'm not the only one with this problem with a Hampton's clasp. And the stainless steel case is remarkably easy to scratch. I'll have to get it repolished a Baume & Mercier.
My 2cents
Partial to Breitling Chronomat GTRide-Fly
Jan 18, 2003 9:58 PM
a beautiful but manly aviator's watch. Hand made Swiss movement to boot. The others you mentioned are OK too except for the Oakley watch. $1500 for watch that looks like it will go out of style yesterday and not Swiss made.
Consider SinnParticleMan
Jan 19, 2003 3:59 AM
Consider Sinn watches - good quality, good movements, durable and proven, and don't cost a bomb. In USA and elsewhere, they are often marketed as Bell & Ross. Go to www.sinn.de I wear a GMT 144 Titanium, which is a good watch for riding and everything else.
I highly recommend thiscoonass
Jan 19, 2003 5:52 AM
http://www.prestigetime.com/info.htm
They carry all of the mentioned brands, and more....excellent 'pesonal' service; fantastic prices and can get you any brand, including TWC (~$250k)...I purchased a nice auto-wind from them about 4 yrs ago; no batteries....obviously I wear my Casio while riding...
Good luck....Food for thought: A Rolex is tooooo noticable...I know guys that have been 'relieved' of their Rolex in the parking lots.
Breitlingfbg111
Jan 19, 2003 6:25 AM
http://www.breitling.com/

Preferably one of these:

http://www.breitling.com/en/models/professional/aerospace/index.php?size=1024&fs=no
http://www.breitling.com/en/models/professional/b1/index.php?size=1024&fs=no
Love my breitling (nm)Bill is in Denver
Jan 19, 2003 6:33 AM
Love my breitling (nm)Rob Sal
Jan 19, 2003 11:39 AM
I have a silver Baume and Mercier Hampton (similar to the one picured above but white face and leather strap, not so likely to look dated IMO). The day I bought it Mika Hakkinen (2 time F1 world champion, for all you non petrol heads;)) walked in to the same shop and wandered around with his wife!!

One day I would love to have a Jaeger Le Coultre Reverso Duo. Even their brochure is a 230 page hard backed masterpiece!!
whats cheap and goodishmael
Jan 19, 2003 9:11 AM
I looked at a website posted below and everything was atleast $800, is'nt there something nice cheaper? I'd like something automatic and thats it, doesnt need anything fancy like even the date; I should learn to remember it anyway. I'm looking for durability mainly. I expect it to take everything, I'm not getting a watch I have to worry about scratching or banging, I dont want the anxiety. So it doesnt need to tell me nano seconds or be made of gold, but I would like the automatic feature. and a chronograph( i think it was called) would also be nice, whatever its called when you can time things. And I want something that isn't big.
Timex Indiglo - functional and the kids love it at bedtime nmPdxMark
Jan 19, 2003 10:41 AM
FWIW...coonass
Jan 19, 2003 2:11 PM
If you want accuracy in an expensive watch, look for "Chronometer" NOT "Chronograph"....all those extra dials on the Chronograph may look macho, but the average person has zero need for that...if it's a timer they're seeking, a $15 Casio or Timex will be more accurate...a Chronometer must be calibrated to the highest Swiss standard of precision accuracy....my autowind Omega varies ~1 minute/month and I have no complaints. My ex-boss had a Baume-Mercier; 18kt, beautiful, but would lose an hour each and every day; my daughter's Ebel 1911 ate batteries faster than a wireless cadence kit....3 returns to Ebel finally corrected it....lots of 'jewelry' watches, so if you're serious about plunking down the price of a C40/Record10, do a lot of research...(my watch came from Prestigetime; no factory warranty, but 2yrs from them....I saved about 35% and have never regretted it...) if you're looking for something <$800, I'd say look at Tag Heur....Good luck!
Rolex = indestructablethe Phantom
Jan 19, 2003 3:04 PM
I have a Rolex Oyster DateJust. The watch is a somewhat basic for a Rolex with a stainless body and band. The watch looks like new despite twelve years of big time slams and bashes. The watch (and myself) survived a horrible plane crash that stuffed a 1/4 inch bolt through the crystal, faceplate and well into the mechanics. It was rebuilt and later that year, survived a wicked 40 MPH bike crash that ground the sapphire crystal and bezel completely off. Again it was rebuilt and keeps on ticking today. The watch's indestructability clearly shows, twice it saved me from serious injury as well. B.T.W. it was a new-old stock, from a legit NYC dealer for $2,000, well worth it!
CHOPARD MILLE MIGLIAchuckjg
Jan 20, 2003 8:14 AM
I can vouch for the indestructabilty of the Rolex. I had a submariner that I put through hell for 10 years before it was stolen. I'd have bought another one if they weren't so common these days. Instead, my wife bought me a Chopard Mille Miglia and I love it. It's not as tough as a Rolex but great looking and unique watch.
http://www.chopard.com/worldwide/fl/1w_mmigliafl.htm
But do they make one thats unlosable? (nm)Kristin
Jan 20, 2003 8:26 AM
What a freaking bunch of posers you are!! You make me sick!!!GilStephens
Jan 19, 2003 6:36 PM
What a concept - a watch poserfractured
Jan 19, 2003 10:25 PM
how about - someone who buys an expensive watch and you can still tell time faster than him

or...

someone who has the full team kit - the watch

Glad we meet your approval
What a concept - a watch poserRob Sal
Jan 20, 2003 1:05 AM
Nice watch but I'm not keen on the ostrich leather strap!! Got one in black leather!?
Here ya go.fractured
Jan 20, 2003 3:09 PM
The closest one:
http://www.prestigetime.com/item.php?item_id=2067

Course I need to point out I don't own any of the one's i've shown, nor will I be able to for years. My own watch is a much cheaper but still cool Citizen Eco Drive titanium.
I like my Ascent compass...I feel soooo informed.(nm)James
Jan 19, 2003 9:25 PM
TISSOT provides some great (SWISS) value -nm128
Jan 20, 2003 7:08 AM
Who the hell needs a watch these days??Kristin
Jan 20, 2003 7:37 AM
If I were going off into the wilderness and was leaving behind my pager, my cell phone, my alarm clock, my Palm Pilot, and my Jornada--and was going to be miles from my car, my computer, any stores, or any other person who might have a watch, pager, cell phone, palm pilot, etc...then I might (MIGHT) consider buying a watch. Personally, I lost my last watch three years ago and have had no problem EVER knowing what time it is. Gentlemen, in the year 2003, a watch is about as functional as a man's suit coat.
I'm with youmickey-mac
Jan 20, 2003 7:42 AM
I own a cheap watch but haven't worn it in years. When I'm in my office, I've got clocks on my wall, my telephone, and my computer. My car has a clock. My cell phone has a clock. Everywhere I drive, I see those illuminated signs with the time and temperature. I can see the time at four different locations sitting here at the computer at home. Instead of a watch, why not just spend the money on a big gold nugget pinky ring or a gold medallion on a gold chain? ;-)
runners and triathletes and retrogrouches..dotkaye
Jan 20, 2003 11:28 AM
no convenient place to attach electronics except the wrist when running. Also, I don't have a cell phone, pager, Palm Pilot, etcetera.. plus my car hasn't had a working clock in five years.. heh. Never underestimate the capacity of a skinflint retrogrouch to resist the newfangled. But then I also wear a Timex I-control (truly lousy design, incidentally) with the bezel gone missing, so can't contribute much to a discussion of good watches. Actually the functionality of expensive watches is more peacock's tail than suit coat, I think..
Wow. I didn't think their was anybody alive like you! ;-)Kristin
Jan 20, 2003 11:48 AM
You win. You need your watch. I would keep it if I were you. If I sold all of my devices, I could afford one of those fancy Rolex's. But, I couldn't play Tetris on it on the plane, now could I?
oddly enough I work on bleeding-edge software..dotkaye
Jan 21, 2003 10:51 AM
all day long. Maybe that's why I go all retrogrumpy when I can.. heh. I remember porting Tetris to a parallel-processor machine using Occam during graduate school.. never played it but the port was interesting.
Who the hell needs a watch these days??fractured
Jan 20, 2003 3:13 PM
I completely agree. It's the same as buying a Litespeed when a Huffy will do, or buying a Spectrum when a Litespeed will do. In terms of function, really the only one can be to make you happy, confident, and attract attention.

I don't think I'd go without my Citizen though, I need to be able to tell when my classes start =)
re: Speaking of watches....netso
Jan 21, 2003 6:10 AM
I have a RADO, 18k Gold watch. It is one I really like, it is beautiful. But I wear a Timex to work!