RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I did it...broke down and got the Fondriest(9 posts)

I did it...broke down and got the FondriestRide-Fly
Jan 17, 2003 9:58 PM
Howdy all, I just went down to the LBS- Bikeseller, (AKA CompetitiveCyclist) in Little Rock, AR and got the Fondriest Carb Level in SAT white and yellow. It was toooo good a deal to pass up. I got full D/A equipped bike minus the wheels for $2270. I will put my old Ksyriums on them and put the OEM Rolf Vector Comps back on my Klein. I don't know if I'll end up keeping my Klein, I'll have to wait and see!! The only doubt I have is whether I should have gotten the Lampre Daiken colors??? They are both really nice, but I kind of like that the SAT finish is lighter and a bit more durable. I can't wait to get back to SoCal and ride in my beloved Santa Monica mountains!!! I will try to post a pic when I get it built up by Thursday. Ride ON!!!
re: I did it...broke down and got the FondriestASiegel993
Jan 17, 2003 10:10 PM
That's awesome dude! I bought my bike (Pegoretti Fina Estampa) from Competitive and they were awesome. You got one hell of a deal! And if you ask me, the SAT colors are far better than the Lampre Daikin colors. The purple and black just doesn't do it for me. There are just two things... 1) who cares about how much the paint weighs. 2) It's an Italian bike (and one of the best at that)... why not go for Campy?
-Siegel
Thanks ASiegel!!!!Ride-Fly
Jan 17, 2003 11:40 PM
The guys at Bikeseller
i are AWESOME.
Rick, Jason, Brendan and Craig (owner) are really great guys!! I think I will be happy with the SAT finish- but I
i just
read that Fondriest has a "Fly" paint scheme for '03 which reportedly looks great!! It is said to have smalll pictures of jets flying across the frame. That is kind of up my alley in that I'm a pilot (for the CA Air National Guard and United Airlines). Dang!! Still, I could not have gotten such a great price on the bike if it was a '03 scheme. As for the D/A Campy question- I have considered converting over to Campy but I just didn't think I'd get used to the thumb shifting. And I do like the Shimano style shifting so I went with the old adage "if it ain't broke..." Ride ON!!!
Humm...crosscut
Jan 17, 2003 10:47 PM
I had the same bike this past summer for about two months. I ended up giving it to my brother-in-law (returning a favor for him helping me re-build my deck). It was an okay bike, pretty much in line with Italian branded bikes contracted elsewhere. Nice paint job. My preference is for a more refined ride, however, such as my custom Mandaric and custom Anvil. He says he's happy with the Fondriest, but I notice he's riding his favorite C'dale more and more these days.
Appreciate your inputRide-Fly
Jan 17, 2003 11:57 PM
what exactly did you not like about it??? Every review I have read was nothing short of glowing. I remember the CycleSport review (4-6 motnhs ago??) said that the Carb Level was just about as perfect as you can expect from a race bike. It did say that it was right in the middle of the pack as far as weight goes for world class race bikes go, so in that respect it was just average. Besides, if I don't like it, I'll get a new Klein Q Pro Team- the BEST American made aluminum frame made!!!
I take it that you are big Steel fan??? That is what I assume from your favored bikes that you mentioned. If that is the case would it be fair to assume that there are not any aluminum bikes you have loved??? Then again, you just might have been out for a troll, heh??? Ride ON!!!
Congrats on the new ride! Just curious...jtferraro
Jan 18, 2003 6:16 AM
>>>"the BEST American made aluminum frame made!!!"<<<

I have a C'dale mtb and a TREK road bike but almost purchased a C'dale road bike instead of the TREK. I was also considering Klein. What makes you so sure that Klein makes a better aluminum frame than C'dale?

Just curious,

-Jeff
Congrats on the new ride! Just curious...Ride-Fly
Jan 18, 2003 4:28 PM
Well, I know the owner of a bikeshop in Westlake Village, CA and he carries a lot of Trek, 'nags, and Spesh. He also carries Kleins, DeRosas, and Looks to a lesser extent. As far as weight goes, he said he weighed both the Trek 5900 Superlight and the Klein Q-Pro Team
i frames only
and the Klein was lighter. As for stiffness and comfort far as frames goes (particularly wrt C-Dales), I would guess the Klein would be a little more comfortable and the C-dale a lttle stiffer, but not enough for either advantage to be noticable. They are probably the 2 stiffest Al frames made. I actually would love to have C-Dale CAAD 7 too but if I could get either one I would pick the Klein. I like the Klein a tad bit better because of the swaging and extreme butting they do. Also, they don't sand down the welds like C-dales do, even though it may look like it. They use a special process that smoothes out the welds but without sanding. Sanding actually weakens the weld area. The Zironium addition in the Klein tubing supposedly increases the fatigue life too. Bottom line, you can't go wrong with either choice.
Fit/sizing issuesRon L
Jan 18, 2003 1:40 PM
There frames have a fit/sizing issues. I rode the Carb Level Plus for about a month. I couldn't get that bike to fit right. The medium sized frame has a 55cm top tube and the small frame has a 53cm top tube. The medium has a really tall head tube. I couldn't get the handlebars low enough to get comfortable on the desents.
I had no spacers and still needed about 5mm. I had to use a 90mm stem to keep from changing my seat posistion.
Then I got the Don Racer in small with the 53cm top tube (it felt shorter). I used a lot of spacers and a longer stem and noticed I got toe overlap I didn't get on the medium sized frame. I had to force fit both the small and medium frame. That got two weeks; it's up for sale. When the top tubes are 52, 53, 55, 56.5, and 58.5 There is a very good chance most people can't get a good fit on these frames without changing there seat location (NOT!!).
I have not had this much trouble fitting a frame in 10 years. I'm currently riding a Pinarello, Bianchi and a Moots road frames all with classic geometry.
The price you got on the bike is a good price. You made a good deal for youself. They where charging to much for the frames. 3K for the Carb Level Plus; come on, we drink from aluminum. I sold that $3K Carb Level Plus for $2k and it is going up for sale again. That CarbLevel Plus may be the only one in the country at this time, but for that much cash I have a custom Moots titanium frame coming with a life time warranty.
nice stuff, that FondriestTig
Jan 18, 2003 4:57 PM
I looked up your color scheme and it looks great. The Lampre colors look wonderful, but yours will be more original and timeless. Sometimes a less flashy paint says more about the bike AND the rider. After it gets built up and you put some miles on it, please give us a ride report.