RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any deals on Kurt Kinetic (road) trainers in Canada??(8 posts)

Any deals on Kurt Kinetic (road) trainers in Canada??SS_MB-7
Jan 14, 2003 8:21 AM
Any deals on Kurt Kinetic (road) trainers in Canada? Buying direct from Kurt is $340US (~$540CDN + taxes [GST + PST]). Freewheel Cycle (Dundas, Ontario) recently increased their price to $560CDN + taxes.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
Why the KK and not 1up?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jan 14, 2003 10:55 AM
Out of curiousity why the KK and not the 1upUSA?

As for prices if you talk to them directly I've heard they will give you a break on the price because of the shipping to Canada.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
I'm still considering both....SS_MB-7
Jan 14, 2003 11:02 AM
Have you decided which to go with? Last I remember, you were going to go with the 1Up. Is this still the case? Why are going with X vs Y? Have you tried either?

I don't have access to either trainer since none of my LBS' stock Kurt or 1Up....only Tacx, Minoura, etc. I do like the idea of 1Up's guarantee though.

I really think you can't go wrong with either trainer. Both have excellent reviews.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
ConfusedPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Jan 14, 2003 12:04 PM
I haven't decided and by the time I do it appears I will be into the season. 1upUSA will be good and send it US ground mail or some way like that so it goes through US Postal and you only get charged $5 brokerage. This brings the price down to about $480 Canadian and you may have to pay GST and PST.

Between them they both have good reviews as you said so you can't go wrong... The compactness of the 1upUSA (6 inches high) and computer magnet on the drum gives it an ever so slight edge in my mind.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
re: Any deals on Kurt Kinetic (road) trainers in Canada??Unts
Jan 14, 2003 12:49 PM
The Canadian Cyclist website sells the KK for $479.00 which includes a video and free shipping. I assume the price is in CAD and is plus taxes. (www.canadiancyclist.com)
re: Any deals on Kurt Kinetic (road) trainers in Canada??the other Tim
Jan 14, 2003 2:07 PM
I don't know about taxes, but Analytic Cycling http://www.analyticcycling.com/ charges $300US for the road machine (the one that's $340 from Kurt), and it ships from the Kurt factory. You might give them a call to see what they'll charge for delivery to Canada.

The Spinervals trainer is the same as the standard KK that Kurt sells for $300US ($265 at Analytic Cycling) + shipping and taxes. If you're interested in the standard version, look for Spinervals dealers in Canada. FWIW, I have the road version and I'm not convinced it's worth the extra $35-40.
Curious why you are not convinced with the road version....SS_MB-7
Jan 14, 2003 5:00 PM
I'm curious why are not convinced with the road version. I will not have an opportunity to try-before-I-buy, so any info you can provide, would be greatly appreciated.

FWIW, I'm training for a solo 24 hr MTB race this summer. My training is ~10-12 hrs/wk and includes 2 x 3 hr Endurance rides, as well as, some Strength and LT interval training. I seem to recall reading that the larger flywheel is not ideal for interval training since it takes a longer time to wind-up/-down. Comments?

Ride Hard,
MIke B.
road vs standardthe other Tim
Jan 15, 2003 10:59 AM
I didn't try before buying either. It's a little difficult when no local shops carry them. I have used other fluid units though, and they seem ok with a smaller flywheel. The flywheel on the road version resists acceleration a little more. The result is a less jerky feel. But so what? It really doesn't affect either interval or endurance training.

The resistance unit of the KK/Spinervals trainer is what separates it from the others. The frame is solid, but it's identical to the Cyclops trainers.

There's also an issue of principle. It probably costs about $1 more to make a bigger flywheel. It's made of steel. Why do they have to charge $35 more? Well, I bought one, and I'm no chump, so it must be worth it.

I'm not saying it's a bad thing, or that I'm disappointed that I got it. It's just that it probably won't affect your training, so if you can get a better deal on the standard or Spinervals version, go for it.