RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone familiar w/'Aegis' frames? Opinions? Curious b/c(10 posts)

Anyone familiar w/'Aegis' frames? Opinions? Curious b/c128
Jan 14, 2003 7:23 AM
I simply had never heard about them until I saw a segment about them on tv, and they present themselves as quite a top-of-the-line product. They apparently began as the tennis racket company in the 70's first to use carbon fiber, then changed products to bike frames. I was really surprised to have never crossed their path or heard of them.

Thanks.
re: Anyone familiar w/'Aegis' frames? Opinions? Curious b/cjtolleson
Jan 14, 2003 7:29 AM
I certainly see them around, and have a friend with one (TT setup). Been building carbon (monocoque, I think) quite a while, and at a slightly lower price point than LOOK.

I can't really speak to the quality, but I've never heard anything unfavorable.
I don't own one but know someone who does.Turtleherder
Jan 14, 2003 7:40 AM
My brother-in-law has a triathlon version of their frame. The bike looks good from a quality stand point, smooth, no ripples, good joints where the drop outs connect, good paint. It seems very light when picked up. He says that it rides very smoothly, better than his carbon Trek.
Shaman...Farmpunker
Jan 14, 2003 7:49 AM
I bought an Aegis Shaman frame in December, and I'm in the process of building it up. Aegis was selling their 02 stock. I got my frame for 800. Aegis is going for a lighter frame on their 03 models, and the price is going up accordingly.
It was carbon lust, what can I say?
Aegis was a pleasure to deal with. Keith Baumm was amazing.
Go to the Aegis website and check out the message board for more owner info.
My onespeed is an Aegisonespeed
Jan 14, 2003 7:55 AM
It is my second Aegis track frame. I bought the first
second hand through a bike shop. I loved the ride from
the start. Responsive and tight in the turns, and not half
bad while climbing. After a few months of riding it I
realized that it was too big. So I called Aegis and
ordered another track frame and sold the first one on
Ebay. If you are a current Aegis owner, you can usually
get a good deal out of them for another frame. If you are
not a current Aegis owner, you can still get a good deal
out of them for a new frame.

My onespeed is my current bike of choice for almost
everything I do now. I have done multi-day rides, commute
daily and do group and solo rides on all kinds of roads
(hills, flats and even big hills). The carbon soaks up all
the road shock that is amplified when you are sitting while
riding a fixed, and really saves your a$$.

I wouldnt get a regular Aegis for weight reasons. I think
they weigh too much when compared to my Meraks. It would
just be too different.
Man, Will you learn how to size your pictures?!! nmLen J
Jan 14, 2003 11:04 AM
My LBS is a dealer...biknben
Jan 14, 2003 8:09 AM
I haven't ridden one but see them at the store. The company is located in Maine. They make many types of frames inc. Road, Tri, MTB, Cross, etc.

MY first impressions were that they look similar to a Klein. They are slightly heavy when compared to other Carbon manuf. But they are also much cheaper too. They have some radical S bends in the stays and the fork. At the time I bought my last bike I gave them consideration but the Aro Svuelt was their only road model. It has a curved seat tube. Along with the curved stays and fork, I didn't care for the look of it.

The shop manager, who I ride with, has one in his arsenal and offers praise for its buttery ride. Aegis offers some interesting paint options and lets you mix and match any way you want. They also have an impressive warrantee with a crash replacement program (not free crash replacement but below wholesale).

http://www.aegisbicycles.com/
re: Anyone familiar w/'Aegis' frames? Opinions? Curious b/cPMC
Jan 14, 2003 8:26 AM
I have an 2002 Aro Svelte that I'm quite fond of. The ride is outstanding and it fits me like a glove. The frame is very nicely finished and I love the red paint job. I've seen some fade paint jobs I really didn't care for and the Bionic Weave finish does nothing for me either.
Great Bike!theeatkins
Jan 14, 2003 8:57 AM
I have a 2000 Aegis Trident w/DuraAce groupo, Hed 3 wheels. Great bike. A little heavy but the aero
makes up for it. As a race bike, it is tremendous. I've had no problems at all. I have it for sale now as
I no longer race and have bought a Calfee. I LIKE CARBON.
re: Anyone familiar w/'Aegis' frames? Opinions? Curious b/cJimP
Jan 14, 2003 10:09 AM
I have been riding my 60cm AroSvelte for 3 years without any complaints. It is much more comfortable than the C'dale I was riding. The ride and handling characteristics are the strong points but it could be a little lighter (other frame builders have been able to shave a few ounces off). I am 6'4" and ride a 60cm with a 13cm stem that I debate with myself about changing to a 12cm. The unique geometry allows me to have about a 72degree sta and still be able to ride this size frame. I personally like the Bionic Weave since it matches the Nimble Crosswind wheels quite well. The frame is the RaceStock lightweight option with the H.R. all carbon fork. I have since changed the seatpost to an USE carbon and the seat to an SLR.