RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What do you think of the new team website?(17 posts)

What do you think of the new team website?Pack Meat
Jan 13, 2003 3:32 PM
I'm no webdesigner! I used Frontpage, this alone probably has a bunch of the web folks cringing. I know it's not that pretty but I was wondering what ya'll think of the content. It's mainly set up as a place for the folks on the team to get information. It's a brand spanking new team so it's a new website.

Hey if you're an out of work web designer and you want to do some pro bono work let me know.

If you type in the url make sure you include the "n" in the middle.

http://www.haulnass.com/

Thanks,
PM
I am a web designer and it looks OK to meColnagoFE
Jan 13, 2003 3:41 PM
Sure the use of "comic sans" fonts gives me the willies and editing Front page in anything but Front page is a nightmare, but it works for what you need it to do. The mirrored chicks on the top logo may come off as a bit sexist though. Gives it a bit of a Harley biker-site feel.
Do you really think so?Pack Meat
Jan 13, 2003 3:49 PM
Thanks man. I agree about the font and I'll probably start phasing it out. It's been kind of a battle with the mudflap girls. The women that are racing on the team like them but the girl friends and wives don't. Wait till you see the team kit.
About that team kit...seyboro
Jan 13, 2003 4:01 PM
Hook a brother up!! Hauling Ass Racing Team!! Yesssss!! Gotta have one. Please, post a picture some time.
Ya know...Pack Meat
Jan 13, 2003 4:06 PM
We actually did the design yesterday and we are putting the order in next week, we didn't even consider selling to the general public but it might help us hit the next quantity break. Let me talk to my people and see if we can do that. Send me your email address at webmaster@haulnass.com.
I would love to sell you a jerseyPack Meat
Jan 14, 2003 10:11 AM
I'll email you when we get the final design done to make sure you like it. It'll be about a week before we get the designs and then probably 3 months before the stuff is delivered.
Hey PMlonefrontranger
Jan 13, 2003 3:48 PM
Give my man a jingle if you want a pro opinion. He's a bona fide web designer and likes to do stuff on the side. He'd get a kick out of your site.

Looks good to me, it's readable and logical (i.e. better than the ACA site).

You ready for race season?

Cheers,

LFR
ThanksPack Meat
Jan 13, 2003 3:50 PM
Yep, starting the season slow but kicking it into high gear in mid Feb at Valley of the Sun.
re: What do you think of the new team website?Thorman
Jan 13, 2003 4:44 PM
It looks like you have a good start to your site. I think the biggest thing to remember is to keep the main page simple and limit the content to previews of information that is linked to the remaining content on other pages.

The biggest mistake I see with many sites is that they try to cram way too much info into a single page. Some examples:

Bad design- http://www.cyclingnews.com/

Good design- http://www.velonews.com/

BTW-I'm a web developer, mostly working with ASP and SQL with a little PHP thrown in for good measure.

Thorman
http://www.ScottThor.com
it loads really sloooooooooowwwwwwwlaffeaux
Jan 13, 2003 5:18 PM
I took 15 seconds to appear in my browser (Netscape 7.0). When I clicked on a link, the link also took forever to appear. You either need a lot more bandwidth, or a page that is significantly smaller. Also, the banner at the top does not work in Netscape 7 - it's about 1/4" wide, and I can see one letter at a time.
Looks goodKristin
Jan 13, 2003 5:23 PM
I'll only make two suggestions. I'm not a developer, but I'm an expert surfer (8+ hours a day). ;-)

Menus. Try to keep common elements (those that appear on each page) in the same position on each page. It creates a center for the users. When menus start moving around it gets confusing.

Colors. Pick a color scheme and stick with it. I'd go with your team colors + a couple more. Its good to have 5 colors in your scheme. Choose the colors you want and then put them next to each other in photoshop to see if you like them together. Rinse. Repeat.
How about this one?5ive
Jan 13, 2003 6:33 PM
Of course I am a web designer! Of course I am unemployed!

Honestly, if you are a web designer then you should consider designing your club's website for free. I've never gotten so many free kisses from so many men wearing lycra. Life is good.

http://www.usicycling.org
I think I'm getting some mixed advice.Pack Meat
Jan 14, 2003 6:56 AM
Should I pull more info on to the front page in the form of topic sentences or should I keep it simple?

BTW I like your team site, it looks a lot more professional than mine.
Are you gonna be the one editing it?ColnagoFE
Jan 14, 2003 7:19 AM
If so, I'd keep it simple...fancy formatting with tables can get tricky really fast if you need to make changes. Also you need to be realistic about the audience for this. This isn't the CNN site. Only a very select audience will visit the site. I think it works fine for the purpose as is. Of course if you have lots of time on your hands and can wrangle some free web design from friends then by all means go for it. Just make sure it's something you can maintain over the long haul.
My new site: www.dkcycling.comBurtonSpeedy
Jan 14, 2003 12:42 PM
While we are on the topic of team web sites I just launched a new one this weekend: http://www.dkcycling.com Would love some feedback. I am a web developer by profession (ASP/ASP.NET/SQL). I have a lot of good designers working around me at work so I have started to pick up on some stuff.

BurtonSpeedy
not a big fan of framesColnagoFE
Jan 14, 2003 1:28 PM
but it seems to work well. nice simple design. might benefit from a bit of color though.
RE: not a big fan of framesBurtonSpeedy
Jan 14, 2003 1:51 PM
I agree, I too am not a huge fan of frames, but it makes it easy to update. I might put the topbar/navbar/bottombar in asp include files to get ride of the frames but keep it easy to maintain. I am waiting on "colorizing" the site until we get a title sponsor. Then the site will take on the sponsors color identity. Thanks for the feedback.

BurtonSpeedy