RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Will CSC riders actually use Speedplay pedals?(12 posts)

Will CSC riders actually use Speedplay pedals?Fignons_ponytail
Jan 11, 2003 9:09 AM
CSC landed a 2-year sponsorship deal with Speedplay. How many of their riders will actually use them? They seem to be a love/hate pedal system, with very few pros taking a liking to them. My guess is we will see them on Tyler's bike on some non-crucial flat stages, but that's about it.
Regardless...merckx56
Jan 11, 2003 9:16 AM
of sponsorship deals, pros ride whatever they want. It's just a way for Speedplay to get some airtime on the continent. There won't be any 'back and forth' for different stages either. Once those guys get their cleat positions set, they don't touch it!
re: Will CSC riders actually use Speedplay pedals?mollythedog
Jan 11, 2003 9:18 AM
why would tyler only use the pedals on flat stages? that means he would have to change shoes for the more important stages. I think that the extra weight of a time or look pedal is something that a pro rider is willing to deal with for the extra comfort. just my opinion
..or Steel Cervelos? Of course!...Spunout
Jan 11, 2003 10:30 AM
About time we saw steel back in the peleton. Just wait, the retro geeks will be searching out U2, V107, and Scandium in a few years!!
..or Steel Cervelos? Of course!...bugleboy
Jan 11, 2003 6:12 PM
I thought that they were using the smartwall 2 aluminum soloist bikes? I don't think that they are using steel bikes. correct me if I'm wrong.
true, Soloist AL but Prodigy in Steel also. We'll see! nmSpunout
Jan 11, 2003 6:30 PM
CSC will ride the new carbon CerveloNiwot
Jan 11, 2003 9:19 PM
... see link

http://cervelo.com/text-icon-R25.html#Introduction

I'd guess CSC riders will do a lot of training on the aluminum Cervelos. Apparently the steel Cervelos are being discontinued (you can get them on closeout from Supergo, if you really want one).
re: Will CSC riders actually use Speedplay pedals?lancewannabe
Jan 11, 2003 11:30 AM
speedplays...cervelo...zipp...STOP THE MADNESS!!!
re: Will CSC riders actually use Speedplay pedals?spuncrazy
Jan 11, 2003 3:53 PM
Are speedplays actually that much lighter than the Look and Time pedals. When you weight the pedals and the cleats. The speedplay cleats look to weight alot more than the plastic Look cleats? Together as unit what is the difference?
Actually SP cleats weigh less...biknben
Jan 12, 2003 6:29 PM
SP pedals ARE that much lighter.
Why don't pro's use Speedlplay?.MJCBH
Jan 13, 2003 6:41 AM
I'm a newbie to racing so I don't know all that much. However, I use Speedplays and absolutely love them! Do the pros not like them because of the float? or why else do we not see many pros using them? Even the new SP Zero's with adjustable float don't seem to be all that popular amongst the big guys.
Biggest Barrier is...biknben
Jan 13, 2003 8:03 AM
SPs biggest barrier is that it's a US company. They also have a very unique look and feel. Pedals are very personal. Once you find something you like most people are reluctant to try something new.

I switched to SPs after being on Looks since the '80s. I'm happier with the SPs but I never really had a problem with the Look pedals. After seeing and hearing good reviews I just decided to try them out. Most people have the "If it ain't broke don't fix it" attitude. Therefore they stay with what they know.