RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


C40 hp chainstays: silly or here to stay?(19 posts)

C40 hp chainstays: silly or here to stay?jallen
Jan 9, 2003 10:46 PM
Do you think the new design of the chainstays on the Colnago c40 HP is something that will stand the test of time? Or, do you think that it's a ridiculous attempt at trying to re-market the same thing?
I think it looks nasty and I would prefer a CT1. (nm)StevieP
Jan 10, 2003 12:31 AM
Marketing thingbsdc
Jan 10, 2003 4:52 AM
I don't see how it works. It seems like a marketing thing to me.
Marketing thing???motta
Jan 10, 2003 6:12 AM
What is a "marketing thing"? Anything you don't understand or agree with? The marketing departments of bike makers consist of one person and an assistant(maybe) trying to maintain a website, place ads in magazines and develop a catalog. They have zero say in the design and manufacture of any bike frame. If it is a "marketing thing" that brought us STI, Ergo, clipless pedals, carbon frames, the sub 3pound frame and fork combos, 9 sp/10sp, splined BB, and any other improvment or advancement in cycling, then I say marketing rules.
Marketing thing???JBergland
Jan 10, 2003 7:02 AM
"What is a "marketing thing"? Anything you don't understand or agree with?"

For some, maybe that is the case. For others (and I think the majority), they can see through a lot of the 'new and improved' and 'marketing hype'.

"The marketing departments of bike makers consist of one person and an assistant(maybe) trying to maintain a website, place ads in magazines and develop a catalog."

You sure about that?? You're trying to tell me Trek, Giant, Bianchi, Colnago, etc. all have ONE person doing their marketing?? How many does Ford or Sony have... 2-3?? With all due respect, that is a pretty limited point of view don't you think?? R&D and marketing depts. are separate areas... but they ARE very connected... and believe me, they are both much bigger than ONE person!!

"If it is a "marketing thing" that brought us STI, Ergo, clipless pedals, carbon frames, the sub 3pound frame and fork combos, 9 sp/10sp, splined BB, and any other improvment or advancement in cycling, then I say marketing rules."

There is a difference between an 'innovation' and 'marketing hype'. An innovation' (like someone already mentioned) will stand the test of time. 'Marketing hype' on the other hand usually doesn't last much longer than a 30-60 sec. ad!!

The new C-40, IMO, is ALL 'marketing hype'!! The new stays provide nothing that wasn't already there. They might appeal to some who are looking for a more compliant ride, but that is not consistent with how they are being marketed (HP??). I would be surprised if they last more than a year or two.

Take Care!!
I think the label is hypeDougSloan
Jan 10, 2003 7:23 AM
I think painting "High Power" on the stay and calling it the "C40 HP" is pure hype. The design itself might serve some benefit, but I doubt it would be much. You might equall call the "B Stay" hype, but then you could refer to lots of companies products as "hype," like "Megatube", carbon stays, aero tubing, scandium, a "Tour de France replica", ad nauseum.

The fact that it is hype doesn't eliminate the bike as a worthy ride, though.

Doug
Marketing thing???geeker
Jan 10, 2003 12:33 PM
"but that is not consistent with how they are being marketed (HP??)"

I agree. While not an engineer, I've read in many places that the strongest shape for bicycle tubing is a cylinder (round cross-section). Seems to me that truly "HP" stays would be cylindrical. I rode a very stiff CAAD5 frame that had big fat round chainstays, for instance. And among boutique Italian builders, Pegoretti is known for sticking to cylindrical tubes and stays. It's very likely that this new "HP" design is just an effort to distinguish Colnago from the pack: round x-section stays wouldn't be sexy enough.
dependsDougSloan
Jan 10, 2003 12:43 PM
A cylinder is strongest in all directions. What if you want compliance in some planes and stiffness in others? Also, some tubes need torsional stiffness, some don't (seat tubes?). So, I'm not defending this goofy idea, but there might be some merit to it that belies the generalization of stronger cylinder shapes.

Doug
Marketing thing (noun) mar·ket·ing 'thi[ng]bsdc
Jan 10, 2003 5:02 PM
A marketing thing is something with more marketing value than real world value. I gave my opinion. My opinion may be based on my lack of understanding. The other items you mentioned have stood the test of time and found to be more than just marketing things. We'll have to wait and see if HP chainstays become more than just a passing fad. I won't be holding my breath.
Test of time?pmf1
Jan 10, 2003 5:48 AM
Come on, when does any bike "improvement" dohicky stand the test of time? If the test of time is 2-3 years when the newest "improvement" arrives, I'd say yeah, it'll last that long.

Of course its a marketing gimmick. Isn't most bike stuff?

Bikes last a long time and component and frame makers know that to keep us buying their stuff, they have to get new and "improved" stuff out there all the time. There is a large segment of riders who just have to have the newest thing.

As an owner of a C-40 B-stay, I have to admit I was a little bummed to see a new version come out and make my bike dated. After I saw the ridiculous holes in the chain stays (HP), I felt a lot better. Sometimes, newer isn't better.
sillyDougSloan
Jan 10, 2003 7:05 AM
Looks silly to me.

However, if I really wanted another C40, it wouldn't stop me from buying one.

I doubt it will become a trend.

Doug
sillyKen
Jan 10, 2003 7:44 AM
If I crashed my C40 would I buy a C40HP to replace it? My answer is a definate NO. The C40HP looks too gimmicky for my tastes. I prefer the classic look of uncompromised beauty.
sillyFez
Jan 10, 2003 7:57 AM
You wrote:

However, if I really wanted another C40, it wouldn't stop me from buying one.

######

Isn't the HP an extra cost option? I think you can still get the non-HP C-40.
sillypmf1
Jan 10, 2003 8:55 AM
I believe its just like the B-Stay. 2000 models did not have it, 2001/2002 models did. Its not an option. All 2003 C-40's are HP. You can still get the non-HP, but its a 2002 and won't be around that long.

I must be turning retro. Now I prefer two of my bikes (2001 C-40; 1999 LS Ultimate) to the newer versions. Anyone know where I can get some itchy wool shorts?
chain slapDougSloan
Jan 10, 2003 10:21 AM
I would really be concerned about chain slap on the big bump on the chain stay; you'd sure want to put something on it to protect it.

I think the C40 is such a great frame that I wouldn't let this bungle prevent me from getting one; I doubt the stays hurt the ride or performance in any way; just looks goofy.

In the little poll here a few weeks away, almost everyone listed "appearance" way down the list of bike priorities; were they being honest?

Doug
I doubt itpmf1
Jan 10, 2003 11:18 AM
The humps are vertical, not horizontal.

I do agree that its a great frame and I doubt the HP stays diminish the ride in any way.

Anyone buying a Colnago has an appreciation for appearance. I am jealous of your GEO. I bought the OOF, and now wish I'd gotten something flashier. At least yellow tires are more plentiful than orange ones.
re: C40 hp chainstays: silly or here to stay?flying
Jan 10, 2003 12:30 PM
I don't really care for the look of it.
I do find it odd though that Ernesto & his son wave off the 1 1/8" head tube & say it is all cosmetic driven......then have things like this & those newer paint jobs.

I mean I can see a use for the larger headtube in reducing flex & allowing some to add an extra spacer or two safely
on a all carbon fork.

Is this design of the chainstay comfort or performance driven?
Gone in two years (nm)Kerry
Jan 10, 2003 4:24 PM
They are *almost* as silly as....Niwot
Jan 10, 2003 10:09 PM
... putting a carbon a$$ on a nice steel or Ti frame.

IMO, of course.