RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Opinions wanted on summer base layer(12 posts)

Opinions wanted on summer base layervindicator
Jan 9, 2003 8:19 AM
I know it's out of season, but...

I started riding late summer last year and just wore a SS jersey. Cool weather arrived before my mileage started increasing. I see a lot of catalogs promoting ss or tank undershirts to be worn under a jersey, even when it's hot. What are your opinions on this? Waste of money? More or less comfort? Long (or short) rides only? Make bib shorts more comfortable? Any other pros/cons you've experienced? Tank or ss better? Best brands/best value brands/best fabric?

Thanks in advance,

Dave
Great investmentmickey-mac
Jan 9, 2003 8:28 AM
I ride in an area where high temps in excess of 100 aren't uncommon in summer and always wear a base layer under my jersey. For the past two years or so, I've used an Un-D-Shirt tanktop by DeFeet. Prior to that I used a Pearl Izumi tank top. I like the Un-D better; it seems to wick sweat better and is made of a softer material that feels more comfortable. IMHO, any brand is better than none.
I wear one in all weathermadstork
Jan 9, 2003 8:36 AM
I've used coolmax undershirts of various brands over the years. I like the wicking effect, even in humid hot weather. I think that I'm used to the extra layer and won't consider riding without it now.

I'm now using a Defeet ss that I really like and plan to get another one or two. It wicks well in hot weather and is warm in cold. Best feel against the skin of any I've tried. I may try the tank for summer use, but I prefer the ss for year-round wear.
Won't leave home w/o itGeekRoadie
Jan 9, 2003 9:01 AM
I wear the Defeet offering (un-d-shirt tank top) on every ride. I find that it's just more comfortable for me. In cold weather, it helps shed some wind, allowing me to leave the wind vest at home on those 'tweener days. In hot weather, it's useful since it helps wick sweat (whether this actual or perceived I don't know).

I'd say a very worthwhile investment. As for wearing them with bibs, I wear them under the straps and tuck the tails in. I prefer the tank top version since it doesn't restrict your movement even with the tightest of jerseys and won't have the tendency to bunch up around the pits and shoulder.

hth,
Mike
I always wear a ss DeFeet or a ss CoolMaxoutofthesaddle
Jan 9, 2003 9:08 AM
Even when the temps are in the triple digits. I like the DeFeet fabric best but eCaps has CoolMax stuff (with their logo) for about half the price.

http://www.e-caps.com/products/softgoods.cfm#race
You've convinced me to buy a DeFeet! Thanks (nm)StevieP
Jan 9, 2003 9:12 AM
I just got these from Longsdesmo
Jan 9, 2003 6:49 PM
http://www.longscycle.com/WebStore/AlterList.asp?ProductType=49

I ordered the grey long sleeves. They are DeFeet Un D Shurt's. I assume a pretty good price, but did not really check.
re: What does "SS" stand for?brurider
Jan 9, 2003 9:27 AM
NM
Short sleeve (as opposed to tank/sleeveless) nmvindicator
Jan 9, 2003 9:36 AM
I won a Castelli undershirt in a raffle.SnowBlind
Jan 9, 2003 10:22 AM
Very, very nice. They really even out the temps in the Sacramento heat.
I sweat like the proverbial pig, so I invested in a few more. Combined with the full zippered jersey you can keep pretty cool in the summer.
Bought them from zonabici.com while the dollar was still strong, so they came out to about $22 with shipping. Might run more now with the euro=dollar.
Won't leave home w/o itGeekRoadie
Jan 9, 2003 6:15 PM
I wear the Defeet offering (un-d-shirt tank top) on every ride. I find that it's just more comfortable for me. In cold weather, it helps shed some wind, allowing me to leave the wind vest at home on those 'tweener days. In hot weather, it's useful since it helps wick sweat (whether this actual or perceived I don't know).

I'd say a very worthwhile investment. As for wearing them with bibs, I wear them under the straps and tuck the tails in. I prefer the tank top version since it doesn't restrict your movement even with the tightest of jerseys and won't have the tendency to bunch up around the pits and shoulder.

hth,
Mike
I wear one 365 days a yearlonefrontranger
Jan 10, 2003 7:18 AM
Summer I wear a sleeveless tank. Winter I wear a long sleeve Craft or similar brushed polypro base layer for warmth.

For warm weather use I've got the DeFeet Un-D-Shirts and some fancy Nalini mesh ones I bought from Vaughters; they're short sleeved instead of tank but they're well made so they don't have seams under the arms to bunch or bind. The mesh ones are great for wintertime when a Craft is too much. It's pretty incredible that something with so many holes in it can be so warm.

On hot days I wear a tank in lieu of a sports bra so I'm not dying from prickly heat. It also gives an additional level of discretion; it's nice to be able to unzip my jersey all the way without the world looking down my cleavage (such as it isn't). I wear bib shorts also, so the base layer goes under the bib aprons, tucked in.

I know of at least one instance where the base layer saved both my skinsuit and my back from becoming hamburger in a crash. I was skeptical about this before I experienced it myself, but aside from cooling/wicking, this is another major reason the pros wear them. The extra layer of fabric provides enough "slip" on your back and shoulders that the fabrics slide over one another instead of them or your skin getting torn up when you fall. Doesn't do squat for your elbows, but if you've ever tried to sleep with road rash on your back, you'd appreciate this benefit.