RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Performance Elite Bibs(15 posts)

Performance Elite BibsBlue Crown Jewel
Jan 9, 2003 6:10 AM
I know that the bib topic has been discussed, but I would like to request some recent feedback from people who use the Performance Elite bib-shorts. I have read some reviews but most are fairly old. Any recent feedback will be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Dimitri
I like thempmf1
Jan 9, 2003 6:40 AM
And for the sale price of around $50, they're a good deal. They have the same chamois as Voler (also good bibs at a good price). The Performance brand are sized a bit bigger than Volers which might be better for taller/bigger people.
No complaints hereBill is in Denver
Jan 9, 2003 6:46 AM
I wear em, both their shorts and tights. I like the bibs, no pinch at the waist.

Bill
re: Performance Elite BibsBroomwagon
Jan 9, 2003 7:13 AM
I have two pairs of the Performance Elite bibs and one pair of the Elite shorts. The chamois is quite nice and well padded in the right places--at least for me. It also appears that the chamois is very close, if not the same manufacturer, as those used by Voler.

One thing I did notice is that the the bib straps are much wider, and comfortable, on the Performance bibs than on my Voler bib knickers. I don't have any Voler bib shorts but the straps on the knickers are narrow, about half the width of those used by Performance, and I find that the narrower straps dig into my shoulder.
re: Performance Elite BibsAlpedhuez55
Jan 9, 2003 7:13 AM
I got a couple of pairs last year too. Look for the 20% off coupons to start popping up in magazines again soon. I think I coupled the coupon with discount for buying 2 pair and got them for about $36 each. They are a great buy. I have several pairs of their shorts and have been happy with all of them.
Mike Y.
best bang for the $ColnagoFE
Jan 9, 2003 7:54 AM
I have used a number of bibs and for the $ I can't think of many better than this. not as nice as my $200 Assos, but I think I'd rather have 4 pairs of these for the same $. Just don't get anything other than the Elite line because all those suck bad.
I've owned 4 pairsPsalm 147-10_11
Jan 9, 2003 8:33 AM
I like them very much and concur with the poster who said they are a bit bigger than the Voler brand. I'm 6'3" and find that the wide straps fit over my shoulders very comfortably. This has not been the case with other brands.

I bought my first two pair four years ago and they are now pretty well done. A crash took out the first one and the second has just ripped at the seams after many, many miles. Last year I bought 2 more pair and they continue to be very well made, in my opinion. I do notice that the elastic on the newer bibs is a bit tighter at the thighs, but that may be due to stretch over the years (plus I do have pretty big legs). The only other difference between the first ones I bought, and the ones I bought last year is the Performance logo is now printed on the left leg. If given a choice, I would prefer to buy them without a logo.

I hope to buy an additional 2 this spring, but was a bit concerned when I didn't see them listed in the latest Performance catalog. I wonder if they are making any changes to them. Anybody know whether they're still available?
I've owned 4 pairsBlue Crown Jewel
Jan 9, 2003 8:59 AM
Actually, Performance still has the bibs on their web site, you can get two pairs for $80. I like the shape of the chamois, and I like what one poster said about them being slightly larger than the size indicates. I need XL even though I fit in 38" paints. I have had a horrible time with Pearl Izumi XLs and the Castelli XXLs are way too big, the straps keep sliding down my shoulders.

Seeing the Performance and Voler shorts, I often wonder if the more expensive shorts are really worth it.

I have had very good luck with Pace shorts as well, they are made in California and have good customer service. But since I am looking to get some tights and long-sleeve jerseys, I thought I would give the Performance Elite bibs a try.

Many thanks for all your responses.

Kind regards,
Dimitri
Assos F1.13s are better but not $150 better IMO (nm)ColnagoFE
Jan 9, 2003 9:10 AM
I like them.cydswipe
Jan 9, 2003 8:47 AM
They are good bibs for the money. I think they are comfortable. I've worn them on rides of 80 miles or greater with no complaints. Performance runs them on sale, every now and then, in their "combo" deals section.
I like themMel Erickson
Jan 9, 2003 9:11 AM
I've got two pair of Elite bibs and a pair of Elite shorts and one pair of Voler bibs. Like PMF1 said, the Volers run a little smaller. I like the Volers slightly better. The fabric seems a little thicker and the straps are more comfortable on me. The front of the Voler is cut a little lower, too, which I find slightly more comfortable. I think I bought the Volers for $50 and the Elites for around $40 each (one of those twofer deals). If I were going to buy another pair today I'd spend the extra $10 and get the Volers but wouldn't hesitate on the Elites either.
Works for me..GeekRoadie
Jan 9, 2003 9:13 AM
I've got a few of them. Very good value and comfortable to boot. One thing to keep in mind is that recently they started marketing different versions of the "Elite". You will find two different kinds of chamois with the newer ones having a smaller multi-thickness pad as opposed to the older larger y-shaped ones. Both are pretty good in my experience. Rotate between a few sets and they should last you a while.

hth,
Mike
re: Performance Elite BibsMR_GRUMPY
Jan 9, 2003 9:43 AM
I've got four pairs that I use for training. I think that they are almost as good as my race bibs (Voler) One of them has been worn constantly for three years, and now it's completely shot.(Pad is still good) You can often get them for $45 or less.
great buybigrider
Jan 9, 2003 10:37 AM
I think they are a bargain. Wait until they run a sale and you can buy them for less than 40 bucks. I have 4 bibs and love them. I have used them on numerous 100+ mile rides and they give you comfort.
2 pair. Love themSpinarooni
Jan 9, 2003 10:46 AM
They use good lycra that is not to thin.