RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Honest Opinions Much Appreciated(20 posts)

Honest Opinions Much AppreciatedStevieP
Jan 8, 2003 1:09 AM
I fancy a respray on my Colnago Superissimo (Circa 1997) and a new groupset (Chorus) to make it feel like new.

I quite like 'retro' so I am seriously considering having the respray & decals done to match the original 1982 Superissimo (link to pics below).

http://www.rydjor.com/bikecollection/1982col.htm

I like the colour & the decals. My only concern is that it might be a step in the wrong direction in making a 1997 bike look like a 1982 bike and paying to have it look like an older bike!

I would be using a 3TTT quill stem, Chorus post, flite saddle (a favourite) and white embossed Colnago cork tape to try & complete the retro look.

Would this be cool or uncool?

Honest opinions very much appreciated.

Thanks
Steve
Honestly, I think it would look great! nmMXL02
Jan 8, 2003 3:11 AM
agree - NmSpirito
Jan 8, 2003 3:47 AM
FURTHER OPINION PLEASE!StevieP
Jan 8, 2003 4:10 AM
I have the fully chromed forks (as in the pic in the link below). Should I have the fork lowers sprayed to match the frame colour and leave the fork crown chromed or should I leave them fully chromed (they are in excellent condition).

Help!!

http://www.jayspedalpower.com/road/colnago/superissimo.html

http://www.rydjor.com/bikecollection/1982col.htm
re: chrome forkstarwheel
Jan 8, 2003 5:24 AM
I have a couple bikes with chrome forks, and an older steel bike with painted fork. Although I prefer the appearance of painted forks, with the crowns left chrome, the all-chrome forks are more "durable" and maintenance free. Forks are one of the easiest places to get paint scratches, and you just don't have to worry about it with a chrome fork. Chrome forks are also becoming quite unusual, and I get a lot of comments about the chromies on my bikes. With all the boring carbon forks out there, it's kind of nice to see the chrome.
ditto (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Jan 8, 2003 6:12 AM
re: Honest Opinions Much AppreciatedPEDDLEFOOT
Jan 8, 2003 5:07 AM
If you like the retro look and want to match that style then I say go for it.I love the older style road bikes with the classic lines.I think alot of the new bikes are nowhere near the looks of the bikes from the 60's and 70's.But then again I grew up in that time and it could be a case of me getting nostalgic.

It's your bike and if you want to make it look like a classic than do what makes you happy.I don't think you will regret it.
Way Cool [nm]Leroy
Jan 8, 2003 6:07 AM
Like the new VW bugs...but souped up.. pretty cool, bnfe [nm]bent_spoke
Jan 8, 2003 6:25 AM
Please explain what bnfe means! (nm)StevieP
Jan 8, 2003 6:27 AM
bnfe - But not for everyone (I think)Uprwstsdr
Jan 8, 2003 7:02 AM
Yep...bent_spoke
Jan 8, 2003 10:44 AM
I've owned several old style Beatles & now I have a Saab convertible...which I like, "but (they're) not for everyone".
Retro paint + full Chrome fork = way, way cool!!! (nm)Uprwstsdr
Jan 8, 2003 7:01 AM
Why not?djg
Jan 8, 2003 7:19 AM
Personally, I like the old panel paint jobs and I don't see why they wouldn't look good with a newer bike (frankly, I think Lemond made a mistake ditching its retro-ish paint in favor of the swirly stuff, but that's another matter).

To each his or her own.
Speaking of Lemond and retro style paint...Lone Gunman
Jan 8, 2003 5:19 PM
Had my '99 Zurich PC and painted this fall. Cola Red PC with a special blend of Dodge Viper Yellow on the front 1/2 and CF fork with black panel decals. Red cork tape and am thinking of putting on a red San Marco saddle for the spring.
you should do itgtx
Jan 8, 2003 7:34 AM
those old red Colnagos were great looking bikes.
re: Honest Opinions Much AppreciatedPMC
Jan 8, 2003 8:21 AM
I love that style. I ride a steel frame from a small builder that has that has pearl white panels on a purple base so I may be bias. As for forks, I prefer a painted fork but would have nothing against going chrome.

My mix is lugged steel with Ti quill stem, Ti seatpost, Campy Record and Ks. Best of both worlds...
do itDougSloan
Jan 8, 2003 10:49 AM
I might do the same thing with my Bianchi EV2. I'm going to paint the fork and paint over the bright yellow part with celeste.

Hmm. Could paint on some faux or trompe-l'oeil lugs, too...?

Doug
re: Honest Opinions Much Appreciatedraboboy
Jan 8, 2003 12:33 PM
Alright, I'll be different.
Personally, I don't like the retro look on bikes. However, i'm not riding this bike. If you want to ruin it, go ahead. You said you 'quite like retro' and that's all that matters.
Thanks guys. I'm gunna do it. Will try to post pics. (nm)StevieP
Jan 9, 2003 7:39 AM