RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


free OLN!!(16 posts)

free OLN!!tarwheel
Jan 7, 2003 6:49 AM
My cable company started including OLN in its basic cable package ($10/month) for some reason over the past week or so. I'm not complaining, as it didn't cost me a dime. The problem is: nothing but fishing and adventure shows since it began. When does the cycling coverage start?
re: free OLN!!JS Haiku Shop
Jan 7, 2003 6:53 AM
good cycling coverage starts about the time i'm out riding, so my vcr gets pretty heated up in the "warm months".

lucky you! i started a letter-writing and phone call campaign among local cable-afflicted cyclists, all targeting our local cable magnate. guess it didn't pan-out, as i now have a dish.

:)

enjoy!!!
Lost patience...Got Dish too...biknben
Jan 7, 2003 7:34 AM
I did the writing campaign to my cable company a couple years ago. They blew me off and eventually sent me a form letter. OLN wasn't the only thing my cable company was depriving me of.

I bit the bullet and got the dish network over the holidays. As luck would have it, everything BUT cycling is being shown this time of year. Can't wait till spring though.
Don't forget rodeo and bow hunting as well.Sintesi
Jan 7, 2003 7:27 AM
That is one schizoid channel. Cycling begins in the spring silly. I do wish they'd rebraodcast the worlds or something tho. I mean they show triathelons from summer, right?
Ducks unlimited nmcyclopathic
Jan 7, 2003 7:34 AM
re: free OLN!!bugleboy
Jan 7, 2003 7:47 AM
Make sure it ins't Outdoor Life inetead of Outdoor life Network. Here it is different. OLN is only offered via satelite. Outdoor life is a hunting and fishing channel.
Is there a difference?JL
Jan 7, 2003 10:14 AM
I have cable and I get OLN, the Outdoor Life Network, in my basic extended package. I get every cycling event they broadcast. Even OLN says ask your cable provider to give you OLN on their web page, and gives specific satellite providers that supply it (DirectTV, Dish Network).

Where's the Outdoor Life, not OLN, channel shown? Just curious.
Is there a difference?bugleboy
Jan 7, 2003 10:21 AM
Actually it maybe Outdoor Life Channel. Here in Nebraska there is a difference. I called Time Warner to complain and they kept telling me it was the same. So I called them When OLN was airing one of the tour stages and I was watching some bass fishing trip on what they were calling OLN, and I asked them; where was Lance? Point was taken, but nothing has been done.
I think it is just the Outdoor Channel n/mAlpedhuez55
Jan 7, 2003 10:40 AM
re: free OLN!!manicoti
Jan 7, 2003 7:57 AM
I tried letter writting months ago and didn't even get a response from my cable company. I might have to get the dish in time for the tour.
I am JealousAlpedhuez55
Jan 7, 2003 8:02 AM
I wish I could get my Cable Company to carry OLN. We even have Digital Cable available but it is not one of the Channel options even in the Sports Package. They just redid the channels a little but did not add OLN. I have made a few phone calls and sent emails to AT&T Broadband but have had no luck. Most of the communities around us get OLN on Basic so it is very fustrating.

They did recently add a coupole of channels to the basic package. One is another new shopping channel and the other shows golf, cooking and Snoop Dogg's Girls Gone Wild Infomercials 24 hours a day. Makes me want to hit Snoop Dogg with my reverse insert wedge and stuff into my Popeil's Rotissary Grill. WHat a waste. They could have at least added something informative the the basic package like C-SPAN 2, Biography or DIY.

I am tempted to get a dish. It would be nice if I did not have to though.

Mike Y.
Sound like you have Cablevision...biknben
Jan 7, 2003 8:23 AM
Aren't you in the NYC area? I'm in Jersey and Cablevision just added a bunch of totally useless channels. They don't offer OLN under any packages either. All my friends have OLN with their basic cable service and this summer they were taping shows for me or hosting me during big tour stages.

Totally frustrating. Actually it was worst when a random co-worker told me that they were, "Just flipping channels and found this bike race..." I had a hard time containing myself.
I am in Medford, MAAlpedhuez55
Jan 7, 2003 8:41 AM
I am in Medford, just north of Boston. It is AT&T Broadband, formerly Time Warner. It was bad last year because they would show the commercials for the TDF during shows on ESPN. They would say to turn to a certain channel. It did not apply to three of the communities near Boston.

I had a coworker tape the Paris Roubaix last year. It was great. I stayed away from the results for 2 days untill I could watch it. I was away for two weeks in July so I did not bother getting a dish for the tour last year. I may get one this year though.

I remember getting excited when they started showing a half hour recap of the TDF on ESPN. Now I cannot even get that. THey did a next day thing on FOX Sports Net but that was about it.I think I will just bite the bullet and go with Direct TV this spring.

Mike Y.
re: OLN!!Chen2
Jan 7, 2003 8:10 AM
The cycling coverage last year was terrific! We watched the major tours and some of the classics. It seems there was good road cycling programs from March to October, maybe more. We also get OLN at no additional charge, and have for several years. Somehow, here in Oklahoma, cycling gets slipped in between "cow chip tossing" and "greased pig chasing" competition. But at least we get it.
~Al
re: free OLN!!tarwheel
Jan 7, 2003 8:24 AM
I wondering if my cable company added OLN because of competition from satellite dish companies. They didn't even offer OLN as a premium upgrade before adding it last week. I got hooked on OLN last summer while visiting my brother in Chicago during the Tour de France. We would retire to his basement every night to watch the TDF highlights.

What's funny is the cable company just added OLN with no promos or advertising. I just came across it one day while channel surfing. They do that from time to time with new channels. I get the very cheapest basic cable package, mainly for the reception, so I have to take what I can get.
re: free OLN!!Beaver
Jan 7, 2003 9:20 AM
Time Warner in Raleigh started carrying OLN back in June of 02 on the digital tier. I moved into a new house in June and found out that Time Warner had started carrying OLN the day I purchased my Directv dish. The only reason I got Directv was for OLN. Which turned out to be a good thing. Back in June, you had to pay an additional $3 per month on top of the digital package and I would have had to spend about $10 more per month for Time Warner Digital with OLN than for Directv which has it in their $39 package.

Too bad OLN isn't showing cycling now. But I can handle the skiing and winter sports coverage, I got hooked when I was in Germany a few winters ago.