RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Well, I guess Tyler won't be riding for Jan this year.....(10 posts)

Well, I guess Tyler won't be riding for Jan this year.....look271
Jan 6, 2003 6:14 PM
Check this out:
Riis confirms Ullrich deal off
CSC's team manager Bjarne Riis has again confirmed that negotiations with Jan Ullrich are off, after six months of trying to woo the German star to the Danish team. "I don't really know what's happened but I'm not spending any more time working on bringing Jan to our team," said Riis to BBC Sport. "I'm frustrated because we put half a year into trying to bring him to the team. The last one or two days have proved fruitless and I realise it's time for me to stop this."

Riis added that while he was frustrated, he was not angry about it. The team will not be contracting any more top riders for this season, however it may sign "one or two new faces," according to Riis.

Meanwhile, the tension in the Team Coast camp - another candidate for Ullrich's signature - continues to mount, in light of several rider non-payment issues from 2002. The recently retired Mauro Gianetti is taking the team to court claiming it owes him 180,000 euros. However, Coast's manager Marcel Wüst said that Gianetti did not meet all his contractual requirements, including earning a certain number of UCI points, hence his complaint was unjustified.
Go Tyler!McAndrus
Jan 7, 2003 5:20 AM
It must have been frustrating for Tyler to see all this in the press the last couple of months and await his fate. I think they should keep pointing him at the Giro: which he has a good chance to win. Knowing the money and politics involved, they'll probably shoot for the TdF where he'll have trouble getting into the top 5. Too bad.
Tyler's website reports he's doing the TDF this year instead(nm)Psalm 147-10_11
Jan 7, 2003 6:50 AM
I also read that article...biknben
Jan 7, 2003 6:08 AM
I wonder what could have been. Teaming Jan up with his old teammate and rather outspoken/aggresive director looked appealing to me.

Jan obviously would have been eyeing the Tour so I doubt there would have been much tension with Hamilton. I'd like to see Tyler go for the Giro win and add credit to his performance last year. The Giro's battle of attrition removed much of Tyler's competition. I'd be rooting for him to do it again and hope everyone stayed in the race.
It's all about the money..Uprwstsdr
Jan 7, 2003 7:36 AM
"Jan Ullrich lost out on a move to the CSC team run by former Telekom teammate Bjarne Riis because he asked for too much money the Dane revealed on Monday.

Riis told the BBC Online he felt frustrated at the talks falling through after spending over six months devoted to luring the 29-year-old 1997 Tour de France champion to the team.

It is believed CSC offered the four-time Tour de France runner-up and Olympic champion $1.5 million for a one-year contract but were unable to extend it beyond that because of uncertainties over future sponsorship in 2004.

Their interest cooled further when German outfit Team Coast offered a reported $6 million over three years - Team Phonak have since entered the bidding"
It's all about the money..Jon Billheimer
Jan 7, 2003 8:42 AM
Ullrich had better be careful or he might price himself out of the market. His reported asking price is three million euros, this from a guy who's not raced in a year and has been plagued with training, injury, and motivational problems. Typical case of a too greedy athlete, in my opinion. On a similar note, has anyone picked up on Boonen's self-aggrandizing comments lately?
Yeah that Boonen thinks he's the next MuseeuwSintesi
Jan 7, 2003 10:23 AM
I read where he thinks he should be the team leader to win the P-R if Museeuw gets Flanders. What is he anyway, 22? i don't like how he whined to get out of his USPS contract either, and now thinks he deserves to be a division one team leader because he copped a third in the P-R last year. He's very promising talent but I don't think his head's anywhere near earth. I guess we'll see if he can back it up but I'd someone like Hincapie to knock that cockiness out of him.

As far as Ullrich goes, from what I've read, Coast is not exactly a solid organization. They already have payroll problems and they're just jumping up from Div II. A three year contract ain't going to mean much if his team collapses. Just Ask Kevin Livingston.
Actually Museeuw thinks Boonen is the next Museeuw (nm)Kerry
Jan 7, 2003 4:56 PM
iirc, Musseuw said that Boonen COULD BE the next Musseuwweiwentg
Jan 7, 2003 5:09 PM
in other words, it's still Boonen's fault that all this is getting to his head. from his comments in cyclingnews, it would seem that this is, indeed, the case.
Riis' negotiating ployNiwot
Jan 7, 2003 10:10 PM
Riis is trying the old "Walk Away From The Deal" tactic to see if Ullrich is serious enough about wanting a strong team to give in to CSC's money limits. If Jan really wants to ride with CSC, he'll swallow the one-year deal and go for it. If not, he'll make more money for a lesser chance at winning a grand tour.

(BTW, "Walk Away From The Deal" works great if you're shopping for a new car. Try it.)