RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


touring bike(11 posts)

touring bikeRM
Jan 4, 2003 3:02 PM
any guidance out there on where to find touring bike, preferably online. LBS not much help and can't find any at the usual online dealers.
re: touring bikeTig
Jan 4, 2003 5:22 PM
Bianchi makes the San Remo touring bike; Cannondale makes two touring models; Heron makes a really nice touring bike http://www.heronbicycles.com/frames.html; Rivendell makes a high end custom touring bike http://www.rivendellbicycles.com/html/bikes_rivendellframes.html ...but I'd settle for their easier to get, excellent quality but more afordable Atlantis http://www.rivendellbicycles.com/html/bikes_atlantisframes.html. GVHbikes http://www.gvhbikes.com/images/navigation/inv2.gif has several Jeff Lyon touring framesets for just $695.
re: touring bikelorenmb
Jan 4, 2003 6:20 PM
I'm riding the Gunnar Sport and love it. Gunnar is the non-lugged line from Waterford Bicycle Company. It is all 853 steel and well designed to provide all of the excellent qualities that steel is noted for. They sell the frames and you work with your LBS to configure the components. I've got nearly 2000 miles on mine now and have no regrets.

I couldn't find many touring bicycles in the marketplace. The market emphasis seems to be on the high performance rigs with absolute minimum weight and a "tight" frame design. I wanted a touring rig with amenities like pump peg, rack mounting lugs and a more relaxed geometry but I didn't want to totally give up on performance. I think Gunnar did an excellent job at meeting those criteria with their Sport model. I highly recommend it.

I would post a review, but there isn't a listing for the Gunnar Sport in the reviews.

Good luck with your shopping. The models mentioned in the previous post are also excellent. But you've probably already noted that there are very few in the builder's standard lines. I looked long at the San Remo but opted for the Sport because it met my needs a bit better (at a higher cost).
re: touring bikegeeker
Jan 4, 2003 6:26 PM
Bruce Gordon's bikes are well spoken of:
http://www.bgcycles.com/
Not cheap, but the "BLT" isn't super-expensive at around $1700. The "Rock & Road" models are pricier. Can be ordered online.
re: touring bikeSteve Bailey
Jan 4, 2003 7:52 PM
Also check out heronbicycles.com

FWIW, I assume your talking about a bike designed for loaded touring. You're going to want a low bottom bracket, long chainstay's (44cm or so), long wheel base with ST and HT angles of around 72.5 degrees or so, canti brake posts, dual eyelets front and rear for racks AND fenders.

Many of the other posts mention bikes that have these features, but check carefully as these features are what make the bike function.

Steve B.
re: touring bikeTrent in WA
Jan 4, 2003 11:45 PM
While they don't have a big market presence right now, there are actually a bunch of good touring bikes out there. In addition to the ones folks have already mentioned, Fuji and Jamis both make very solid touring / camping bikes. You might also check out some of the UK builders with mail-order presences, such as Dave Yates / M Steel, Thorn, Orbit, Dawes, etc. They compare very favorably, both in price and features, to the Trek and Thorn models. I have a Thorn Nomad that I'm incredibly happy with.

Trent
re: touring bikeTrent in WA
Jan 4, 2003 11:46 PM
Oops--I meant "Trek and Cannondale models" in that last sentence.
re: touring bikeHeron Todd
Jan 5, 2003 10:33 AM
What are you looking for out of the bike? Will you do loaded touring? Credit card touring? Supported rides? Are you considering fenders or large tires?

There are a lot of different bikes that you can tour on, and there are a lot of bikes that are called "touring bikes." However, there are some important differences depending on your specific needs.

Todd Kuzma
Heron Bicycles
LaSalle, IL 815-223-1776
http://www.heronbicycles.com
re: touring bikewillem72
Jan 5, 2003 2:24 PM
Good question - truly worth getting a proper tourer - they do medium to long distances so much better than a converted MTB or even a hybrid. The only hybrids that look okay are the Specialised Sirrus ones and a couple from Cannondale, but they're not the same.

I ride a Thorn Club Tour - www.sjsc.co.uk - which was very good value. Thorn do a roaring mail-order trade and seem very flexible in terms of swapping/optioning their bikes. I went to their factory in Bridgwater, (Somerset?) a couple of years ago - a big, rambling but impressive facility choccas with interesting bits and pieces.

My brother rides an old Raleigh Randonneur, and I've seen recently that Raleigh (the original British firm, not the Taiwanese licencee) have resurrected this venerable model with fancy hydraulic brakes and schmicko pannier racks etc. It looks superb.

It seems to me that the UK remains the home of the traditional tourer - we didn't see one in the bike shops of Germany, France or Switzerland, and all the good ones in Australia are either custom-built by small-scale framebuilders (eg Christies or Cecil Walker or Hillman or even Kotzur) or come from the UK. Oh, and there's a smattering of Cannondales and the odd Trek.

Best source of information that I've found is Cycling Plus magazine from the UK. Perhaps Borders would have copies - I'm pretty sure I got a copy there in Boston a few years back.

Good luck, and tell us all how you go on your quest.

W72
Independent Fabrication has 2 models.Ambishawn
Jan 5, 2003 6:43 PM
They have the Independence and the Club Racer. The Independence is Designed for loaded touring with racks and panniers on the frame and fork. Designed for fenders and wider tires as well. The Club Racer is a lighter duty bike setup to run racks and fenders but a lighter setup with more aggesive geometry. Independent Fabrication will put braze-on options on any of there frames. My Crown Jewel (also) from Independent Fabrication has a frame pump peg on the head tube. Viset them at www.ifbikes.com.
check Merciancyclopathic
Jan 6, 2003 7:42 AM
at www.merciancycles.com