RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


share in my amazing good fortune, choose your dream bike!!(18 posts)

share in my amazing good fortune, choose your dream bike!!scruffyduncan
Jan 3, 2003 9:39 AM
I have just been invited to accompany a friend on a free trip to majorca where we will spend a week watching the tour de majorca and, wait for it, reviewing high end road bikes for his magazine. This is a dream holiday, I have to choose a couple of bikes i'd like to ride, cost no option. At present I ride a decent mid range Aluminium bike, so I'm thinking I'd like to try one similar but much better bike (a superlight al number?) and taste something very different (carbon, ti?). My mate already has his eye on a lightspeed, so that's out, but anything else goes.

FIRE AWAY WITH YOUR SUGGESTIONS!!

P.S. We'll be in the mountains alot, doing some proper training, but none of us are elite riders.
Wow, what fun! Take a wait and see approach,...rwbadley
Jan 3, 2003 9:51 AM
Take your cycling where you find it.

When you get there, will they be offered for your fit and taste? Or do you need to spec the bike before you arrive?

I can imagine walking down a line of bikes, pedals and shoes in hand saying "lessee, I'll try this one, this one, and that one.."

Take each one for a spin! Let us know what you find, and HAVE FUN!!!

RW
Lucky blokeboneman
Jan 4, 2003 9:24 AM
Let's see, Cycling Weekly, Cycling + or Cycle Sport?

Well, it doesn't matter. Anything to get out of Blighty this time of year and Majorca should be nice. Plus you get to see the Tour and ride some decent roads in the dry sun.

None of these as I recall have been reviewed by the aforementioned so here's my list. I saw all of them except the DeRosa at the London bike show and they all looked interesting.

Carbon- Colnago HP C-40 or the Time VX Special Pro

Ti- Opera Palladio

Al- Colnago Dream B-Stay, Pinarello Prince SL or DeRosa Dual

Magnesium- Pinrello Dogma with the funky fork and seat stays.

All that being said, I'd take what they gave me just to go on a holiday like yours.
Derosa king w/ record 10!!!!!(nm)Frith
Jan 3, 2003 10:03 AM
need anybody to carry your bags wrench your bikes I'll volunteerabicirider
Jan 3, 2003 10:06 AM
Boy you are lucky what fun if you need anybody to carry your bags wrench you bikes was your bikes I'll volunteer what a dream have a great time hope you take a bunch of digital pictures to share with us unfortunate poor soles.

Ray Still
Mooresville, NC
Defintely take pictures to post.A ride report is mandatory(nm)TREKY
Jan 3, 2003 10:13 AM
what the readers want is...KeeponTrekkin
Jan 3, 2003 10:44 AM
Something really super high end where you pay an extra $1,000 for the paint job (Italian or French boutique) and something just ordinary high end (e.g. Trek, Giant, etc.). I'd include a Campy & Shimano comparison too, just to inflame the passions of the readers even more. Then I'd entitle the article something like "How much is that name worth?", subtitled: "XYZ Mag goes to the Tour de Majorca and tells all". Who knows? That boutique bike just might be worth the extra cash?

By the way, what happens to the bikes after you're done with them?

Have fun; don't forget to write...
Ride this and let us know please.........pleasssssseeeeee!!!african
Jan 3, 2003 11:55 AM
PLEASE RIDE THIS ........
ugly!ishmael
Jan 3, 2003 12:03 PM
what is it? Italy I'll bet. Always milking the italian bicycle heritage. Potential is there but that paintjob is awful..
re: share in my amazing good fortune, choose your dream bike!!WrigleyRoadie
Jan 3, 2003 11:57 AM
I like your train of thinking - You'll be more successful comapring another aluminum ride, since you already know the properties of the material and will be able to attribute the quality (or lack of) of the ride to the design and manufacture.

My votes are for a Principa Rex-e Pro and the Mercx 2003 Race. Sigh.
how about a King with Record 10? (nm)Frith
Jan 3, 2003 12:12 PM
did I mention King with Record?(nm)Frith
Jan 3, 2003 12:13 PM
Hey Frith.......PaulCL
Jan 3, 2003 12:37 PM
...did you mean a King with Campy Record....none of us could quite figure out what you meant.

Of course, the DeRosa King would only work if the rider is under 175lbs (doesn't it have a weight limit?). Maybe I should buy a King/Record - hell of an incentive to lose weight. Having such a gorgeous bike without being able to ride it becuase I'm 10lbs overweight....ooh...the pain...the agony....bring on the lettuce!
my heart sank...Frith
Jan 3, 2003 1:30 PM
when I read your post. 175 would put me 10 pounds over. Thankfully some frantic research revealed that the king is good for clydes of 220lbs+.
Now if only I had 5grand laying around.
Oh by the way I want a Derosa King with Campagnolo Record 10, In case I didn't make myself clear :)
caad 7 team saeco, colnago ferrari....nmwheelsucker
Jan 3, 2003 2:58 PM
Fondriest Top Carbon (nm)Niwot
Jan 3, 2003 11:08 PM
nm
re: share in my amazing good fortune, choose your dream bike!!mackgoo
Jan 4, 2003 3:07 AM
I second the King, Personally I'd like to see how the Bianchi carbon is, I know a lowly old Bianchi. If you could find something in the new Columbus carbon that would be cool too.
re: share in my amazing good fortune, choose your dream bike!!scruffyduncan
Jan 6, 2003 3:29 AM
thanks for the ideas guys. Having talked to my friend he will have to review the new offerings by the big manufacturers, something more rare aswell as some mid-range bikes. I'll probably suggest a trek 5500, a top end Merckx (team sc?) and a mid range something, a steel bike?. I am very excited.

The feature will be in cycling weekly in march.