RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I hate the wind. Do you?(21 posts)

I hate the wind. Do you?rightsaidfred
Jan 2, 2003 3:38 PM
Any bit of wind Zaps my speed and stamina. I am just a beginner remember. I have always hated riding against the wind. But lately, I've been studying it's effects on me. cIn still conditions, I can average 20-22 MPH. But a little head wind, and I am struggling to get 15MPH. I get so [pardon the pun] winded too.

Am I in the wrong gear? Position? Am I just an aerodynamic fool? It's beginning to drag me down [pardon the pun part two].
only half the timeDougSloan
Jan 2, 2003 3:44 PM
I'll climb any hill before I'd take on the winds.

One day I rode from Mohave to Panamint Valley, California, 135 miles, averaging over 22 mph, and never even was out of breath. At one point, when riding over 30 mph, I spit and the spit took off ahead of me. Quite a tail wind. I'll likely never have a day like that again.

Doug
More like 70% of the timegrzy
Jan 2, 2003 5:46 PM
Even a cross wind at 90 degrees results in an added headwind component when you do the vector addition. Depending on the speeds involved you'll find that you have a head wind greater than your speed well more than half of a closed cirlce course. Many people intuitively know this from sailing, but the rule of thumb I've heard is that wind results in added headwind something like 70% of the time - YMMV.
leave it to an engineerDougSloan
Jan 2, 2003 5:56 PM
I thought about that, but something is lost in the emotion of it all when specific numbers are stated. :-)
Yuppergrzy
Jan 2, 2003 6:05 PM
Gotta think about something while I spend that extra time slugging it out against the wind.

We'll actually plan rides in the mountains that return along the coast and take advantage of the howling winds in the SF Bay Area. Do all your climbing in the shelter of the beautiful redwood forrests, pick a screaming twisty descent out of the mountains to the coast then haul ass down wind back to Santa Cruz watching the Pacific and looking for migrating whales. You lose all track of any numbers - I can assure you! ;-)
Not the only factor.dzrider
Jan 3, 2003 5:33 AM
If you rode 30 miles north with the wind in your face at 15 mph, turned around, and rode 30 miles south with the wind at your back at 20 mph you would have a head wind 57% of the time.
you're rightDougSloan
Jan 3, 2003 7:24 AM
Also, if I rode 20 miles north at lactate threshold busting my @ss and almost collapsing on the road into a 15 mph headwind at 20 mph, then cruised back home sitting up at 20 mph, I'd have the headwind half the time.

Doug
I had a day like that oncePaulCL
Jan 3, 2003 7:28 AM
Not 135 miles, but about a 30 mile segment of an out/back ride. Luckily, it was on the "back" side. It took me two hours to ride to my turning point and just an hour to get back. I flew. I'll always remember that segment. Fun.
call them "Lance days"DougSloan
Jan 3, 2003 7:43 AM
On those days, when the wind is really pushing, you get a chance to feel what it would be like to be Lance, as if you were pushing 500 watts continuously. You do never forget them. I recall the rush of riding along well over 30 mph and not getting that tired.

And people question the need for 11 tooth cogs?!

Doug
break like the windmohair_chair
Jan 2, 2003 3:53 PM
As a beginner, you need to develop a love/hate relationship with the wind. Wind can be your friend with the right attitude, because powering through wind will make you a very strong rider. Put it in the big ring and choose a cog that allows you to spin, then get yourself as aero as possible and ride into the wind until it burns. Do this enough times and you will no longer hate the wind.

For getting aero, you can ride in the drops, but I like to stay on the hoods and get down low so my forearms are almost parallel to the ground. You'll have to modify your hand position slightly to accomplish this. Watch pros on breakaways and you'll see them riding like this, and sometimes they stretch out further and cup their hands over the hoods. Don't try that on a bumpy road!

Wind. Love it. Use it. Revel in it.

Unless it goes on for 30 miles and gusts. Then wind sucks.
They Call The Wind Moriah....Akirasho
Jan 2, 2003 3:56 PM
... and she don't care!

Thing is, wind, especially early in the season in the northern hemisphere... is a factor that you either come to terms with... or quit.

The key is in recognizing that the wind doesn't care, and learning to "play" with it when possible (try time trialing into 25 mph winds... that can be... depressing).

Early in the season, or when feeling punked out, I try to start my rides into the wind... so's to have a tail on the way back. You can be slightly aggressive into said to get a good training and be rewarded by a push back (usually... sometimes the wind shifts, and it's rarely truely head or tail on).

If riding with a group... there are echelon and pull tactics that can conserve strength.

Terrain can be your friend... indeed, you'll be surprised how much terrain (trees, hills, buildings,etc) can effect wind's effect on you... Empty Kornfields can be bucolic and beautiful to ride by... but worth less than bellybutton lint when it comes to blocking wind.

Gearing... whatever will allow you to maintain a good power/cadence ratio while not toasting your LT.

Aerodynamics... well, we are talking wind here... so yepper, it helps (TT'ing into a stiff headwind is hard... but ridiculous out of an aero tuck of some sort). Try staying in the drops while tackling in.

Beginner... this too shall pass... hang in there (train what you're bad at (hill climb, sprint, wind)... it gets a bit easier... but you'll never win.

I don't hate the wind... but I respect it.

Be the bike.
It's Mariah!Breakfast
Jan 2, 2003 9:43 PM
They Call the Wind Mariah
The Kingston Trio
Words and Music by Alan Jay Lerner and Frederick Loewe

-From their 1959 LP "From the Hungry"
-From the musical "Paint Your Wagon"

SLOWLY
Way out here they have a name for wind and rain and fire
The rain is Tess , the fire's Joe, and they call the wind Mariah
Mariah blows the stars around, sets the clouds a'flyin? EVEN FASTER
Out here they have a name for rain wind and fire only
When you're lost and all alone there ain't no name for lonely
I'm a lost and lonely man without a star to guide me
Mariah, blow my love to me, I need my gal beside me
Mar-i-ah, (Mar-i-ah), MARIAH ! (Mariah), they call the wind Mar-i-ah
Mar-i-ah, Mariah, Mariah
They call the wind Mar-i-ah.
... I took a 50/50 shot... can I have an "A" Pat?Akirasho
Jan 3, 2003 3:15 AM
... didn't Eastwood lip sync this in the movie... oh, be still my beating heart!

Be the bike.
My favorite Eastwood quote....funknuggets
Jan 3, 2003 7:31 AM
"I don't mind shootin' as long as the right people get shot."
it's a year round issue in Boulderlonefrontranger
Jan 2, 2003 3:59 PM
Sunday I rode from Lafayette, CO to Jamestown. The first westbound leg is flat to slightly downhill, but Sunday's edition took me into the teeth of a frolicsome 25mph chinook. After that it's a 7 mile climb up the canyon to Jamestown (average 5-6% grade, not too horrible). The worst part of that ride was the 15 miles of struggling to a standstill on flat ground, going all of 10mph. Granted I'm a girl, but I'm also a decent racer and have been riding and racing for the past 10 years, so no - the wind affects us all. Once I got into the canyon it was calm. According to my HR download, I rode the canyon climb faster and at a lower HR than I did the wind TT. And I'm no climber.

Today I took the fixed out for a lunch ride, thinking it was going to be a nice calm day. Well, it was until I turned northwest onto the long false flat that is Rt. 36 heading north out of Boulder. It was about 12:30 and the afternoon chinook kicked up just as I turned onto 36. I think this rates as my least favorite section of road in Colorado. It's busy, doesn't have much scenery of note, totally exposed, almost always a head or crosswind, and it's one of those long deceptive false flats where you wonder (on a calm day even) why you're struggling to hold 14mph. Well, on the fixed in a steady head/crosswind it was a real grunt. Talk about muscle tension intervals! I think I was pedaling all of a 40 cadence and had to stand out of the saddle several times just to keep from falling over.

We used to have some pretty epic windy spring days in Ohio, too. I remember one of the guys saying he'd much rather have hills than wind; hills usually go away but wind generally doesn't.

In Boulder we also have the unfortunate experience of "circular headwind" quite often. The mountains set up lots of weird weather patterns, so you'll start a ride thinking you'll have a tailwind to push you home, only to discover when you turn for home that some weather system has occurred, hence the wind has shifted on you. About the best you can generally shoot for on these days is a permanent crosswind.
It's all attitude.Len J
Jan 2, 2003 4:23 PM
Yea wind Blows (or does it suck)!

Depends on why you are riding. If I am doing a sp[ecific Heart rate ride, (where I am doing certain specified things for specified times in specified heart zones) the wind doesn't matter (unless I'm also fixated on speed). I just get in a easier gear, and Ride away. I get the exact same workout as if there wasn't any wind. I just don't go as far.

If I am doing strength work, I love having a wind to ride into. It's like riding a 20 milke hill sometimes. Out here where we don't have any elevation changes, we do have 15 MPH hills, 20 MPH hills and 25MPH hills. Heart rate monitor does help.]

As Someone else says, we always start our rides into the wind, at least you have a chance at a thrill ride coming home.

One note. Any time that you don't feel a headwind, you have a tailwind. On a calm day, riding at 20 miles per hour will feel like a headwind.

Len
Exactly! -nmTig
Jan 2, 2003 7:40 PM
ditto!!! nmLeroy
Jan 2, 2003 8:19 PM
It's all attitude.wasabekid
Jan 2, 2003 8:58 PM
LenJ: we obviously have read the same book by Carmichael (re: headwind/tailwind quote).

I agree, it's all about attitude.

W.
When in a tail wind I am feeling "strong" but in a head windKristin
Jan 3, 2003 8:12 AM
I curse the elements. Basically, I only like conditions when the benefit me, and I hate any conditions that hinder me. I'm so shallow. For instance, I love tailwinds most of the time--though I take all the glory. But on very hot decents, I HATE tailwinds. All that heat from the asphault just wraps itself around you. I ALWAYS hate headwinds. Its like battling some invisible enemy. I'd rather conquer a real hill any day, but since we have no real hills...
Wind will make you strongerJowan
Jan 4, 2003 2:48 AM
Two year ago I moved from a 'hilly' area to flatland. 90% of my riding is done on very open and flat roads, and in winter and spring training the wind is always there.

As stated above, riding the winds is an attitude. The first year I had to withstand the winds, I hated them, untill I noticed that my speed and strenght had much improved over my buddy's back in the 'hill's'. (I live in the Netherlands, so don't take a 'hill' for something big). I came to a point that when riding, my buddy's complained about the big headwinds, and I was asking 'what wind?'.

OK, that's a little over the top, but the point is, you will get used to the wind, and you might turn it into an advantage.

Keep on riding,

Jowan