RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Pros/Cons of Bib shorts/tights?(22 posts)

Pros/Cons of Bib shorts/tights?wasabekid
Jan 2, 2003 2:33 PM
Topic search of the above revealed none, so I ask for your opinions.

I've never owned Bib type apparel. Have been told that the fit and comfort is great depending on brand/style. However, it can be a "problem" on century/long rides when you need to "go" really bad.

Do the potential problem outweigh the benefits?, as I am really entertaining the idea of buying one.

TIA
Get them...eyebob
Jan 2, 2003 2:46 PM
Don't worry about having to pee in them, with a little more effort you'll do fine. Pooping is another question.

My only complaint is that I have sort of a longer torso and skinny legs so that I wear large jersey but a med. short. You cannot usully buy a bib that accomodates this type of body so I usully go with the med. bib because sometimes large shorts/bib's elastic doesn't bind well at my "quads"

I've used a lot of Voler, VO2, and Pearl Izumi bibs and I've liked them all (prefer the Voler most of all)

BT
rub my nipples the wrong way sometimesishmael
Jan 2, 2003 2:50 PM
all of a sudden my right nipple will become super tender and feel like it's blood red from rubbing the strap..happends rarely but drives me nuts...

peeing is no problem, infact it's easier to pee while riding when wearing a bib...feel like a real pro and pee while you ride...a greater risk of a disgusting accident with plain shorts..But, it depends on the bib..Castelli are cut high in the front,which is more difficult to work with, while Volers are easy...get a pair of Voler bibs, they're cheap and the best I've ever used...Also the Castellis have a lot of spandex which gets stuck on the seat and they also cost a fortune..Voler never rubs my nipples the wrong way, only my Biemme winter bib does...I'm tender as we speak
You may have tried this already, but...serbski
Jan 2, 2003 3:00 PM
an old trick I learned from marathoning is to put those little round band-aids over the nipples. In colder weather the nipple rawness business is definitely an issue when running. Some guys even use corn pads I've heard though the band-aids do the trick for me. Haven't had much of a nip-rub issue while cycling, fortunately.
what are my nipples for?ishmael
Jan 2, 2003 3:07 PM
I've always wanted to know and no one has given a believeable answer...

I might start useing bandaids..another additon to me riding on-som-bil...it already takes me forever to get out the door these days..
To balence the visual impact of your belly button. -nmSnowBlind
Jan 2, 2003 3:12 PM
No earthly idea (nm)....serbski
Jan 2, 2003 3:15 PM
what are my nipples for?ChrisK
Jan 2, 2003 3:59 PM
Your nipples are formed at such an early stage of faetal development that sex has not yet been decided. You can then go either way, as it were.

Probably...
I thought sex was determined from conceptionishmael
Jan 2, 2003 4:03 PM
with the xx or xy chromosone combination...I think those are the letters..
Actually is like threaded stem/threadless stem. It was easierSnowBlind
Jan 2, 2003 4:18 PM
and cheaper for God to make everybody nippled rather than make some nippled and other's not, even though that would be a better solution.
what are my nipples for?ChrisK
Jan 2, 2003 4:44 PM
My initial reply was a bit of a guess but here is a more official excerpt from the bbc website;

After conception the developing embryo follows a female template. It is only after 6-8 weeks that the effect of a gene on the Y chromosome kicks in for boy embryos. This gene stimulates the production and influence of hormones such as testosterone which 'masculinise' the embryo by altering physical development to form male features.
But nipples are formed very early in the embryo, before this masculinisation process takes place, and nothing that goes on later in fetal development reverses nipple formation.
So the story that God made Eve from Adam's rib got it the wrong way round. Males are an adaptation of females and the nipples are just one piece of evidence of this.
sounds official. thanks nmishmael
Jan 2, 2003 6:48 PM
Way off topic53T
Jan 3, 2003 6:46 AM
If you don't mind hunting around, there are other convincing pieces of evidence to be found!
Faucets without plumbing... God's little joke! -nmTig
Jan 2, 2003 7:49 PM
re: Pros/Cons of Bib shorts/tights?serbski
Jan 2, 2003 2:55 PM
Yeah, bibs are nice. No monkeying around, pulling up shorts at red lights. I've found that the Pearl Izumi are shorter in the torso but pretty good fit everywhere else. Castellis just seemed to be cut bigger overall when compared to, say, Giordana or Santini, the latter having the greatest chamois on the planet (the "Oltre" system or something like that) and both of them being in the $70-80 range. Heck, I bought some Airborne bibs by Verge for *$35* and they have as nice a chamois as the $150 Assos. That's my two-pfennigs...
Bib short-tryouts...seyboro
Jan 2, 2003 3:23 PM
Buy a pair of clip-on type suspenders and use them on your bike shorts/tights. If you like the feel, go for the bibs. If not, you're out five bucks.
are you seriousishmael
Jan 2, 2003 3:46 PM
are you trying to turn him into a clown...if you are serious, I dont think clip-on suspenders do a good job of a bib simulation...I've found the annoyance of shorts to be the waistband elastic
I don't like themGregJ
Jan 2, 2003 5:10 PM
I used shorts for years. I let my friends talk me into ordering some Voler bib shorts. They are very nice for the money and comfortable. However, they were more expensive than shorts. They are noticably warmer in hot weather. It is a lot more work to take bathroom breaks. If you are a guy and just taking a leak it is not too bad. But otherwise it entails taking off jersey etc. and oops, there goes my cell phone into the blue water. I would under no circumstances get bib tights. Even taking a pee would mean removing all your cold weather gear. Sticking with shorts fom here on out.
re: Pros/Cons of Bib shorts/tights?wasabekid
Jan 2, 2003 6:13 PM
Based on what's been said so far, I would tend to agree with you GregJ. The comfort of the fit does not really outweigh the inconveniences it poses, not to mention the potential "accident waiting to happen" situations.

W.
Fatboys like me...Zinhead
Jan 2, 2003 7:20 PM
really like them because bibs hold my gut in better.
re: Pros/Cons of Bib shorts/tights?nealrab
Jan 2, 2003 8:15 PM
Seyboro, I gotta say that you had me in tears with the suspenders thing--I was on the ground with my cat in a pool, lucky I didn't have bibs on! Oh yeah wouldn't have mattered at that point. Too cruel for Ishmael but he just didn't want anyone riding around in "clown" getup. Don't blame him, but multicolored suspenders would go well with
Acqua & Sapone World Champion Jersey, maybe something Cipo would appreciate. Hope he doesn't read this stuff, but he does wear those great tiger suits right? Sorry I'm not contributing much here, just had to thank seyboro for the best laugh of the day for me! I do go with shorts for ease and comfort though.
seyboro--thanksnealrab
Jan 2, 2003 8:38 PM
Seyboro,
see previous message for official thank you