RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?(38 posts)

2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?boneman
Dec 31, 2002 9:02 AM
After ending 2001 at 4,915 miles, the 2002 goal was 5,000 or die. Ended the year at 5,090. Not much compared to many but I'm happy given four hours each day of commuting time plus 55 hours per week working. A new job resulted in work commitments reducing my rideable days by 33%.

Highs- Getting two custom steel bikes, one a single speeder and the other a Deda SAT 14.5 road bike plus then putting Record 10 on my Vortex. Seeing Lance ride into Paris in yellow (see race pics section). Riding at night in Richmond Park outside of London under a full moon when the park's closed to road traffic. Oh yes, turning 50 with all my mates in the local pub.

Low's- Crashing avoiding a Land Rover not observing the right of way in a roundabout. Cut on my ankle bone took two months to heal. A fellow director at our company died of a brain hemorrhage at 39. One day there, the next day gone. Food for thought when riding.

2003 Goals- After four years in the UK, transferring back to the US so finding a job is probably number one. Being able to bank all your earnings without paying for housing for four years is going to be a memory as will traveling monthly to Europe on vacation. Mileage????? Undoubtedly to decrease heading back to Connecticut.

2002 is almost over but already, I'm looking forward to 2003.
re: 2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?ms
Dec 31, 2002 10:23 AM
Mileage: Approximately 4,775 (4,463 on my computer, I guestimate that I have about 300 miles not on the computer -- it will not work when I am using my Niterider Blowtorch and the computer was out of commission for a week in the spring, and I have a 15 mile ride home from work today). My goal was 5,000. Close, but not there (and I do not have the time to do a double century in the 8+ hours remaining in the year).

Highs: A lot of good rides in interesting places: Mountains of Misery Century (southwestern Virginia); Mojave by Moonlight Century (California); Etape du Tour (Alps); Skyline Drive ride with by Thursday riding buddies.

Lows: A stupid crash in April. I bruised my ribs and was in moderate pain for several weeks.

2003 goals: Make the 5,000 mile mark. Increase my overall speed. Do the Mountains of Misery, Etape and Skyline Drive rides again, but with better times. Break my one day record of 106 miles (which I will have to do in order to finish the Etape, which is 121 miles this year). Do a significant ride is a place where I have not ridden before. Ride to work more often (I did it about 2-3 times per week in the summer, but rarely since standard time has begun). Get my wife and daughters to ride more (that one will not be too hard -- if my wife rode more than 100 miles in 2002, it was just barely over the mark, each of my daughters came in around 20 miles).
re: 2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?mickey-mac
Dec 31, 2002 10:35 AM
Mileage: 7058.

Highs: Lots of rides in the Angeles Forest and San Gabriel Mountains on crystal clear days.

Lows: Walking several miles in the rain after flatting and realizing that I left my frame pump on my other bike.

Goals: Get the mileage back up closer to 8000 and work on getting my speed up again.

Results for 2002 resolutions: For 2002, I had two primary cycling-related resolutions-spending more time on my mountain bike and not spending more than $200 on any single cycling purchase. I failed miserably on the former, not spending a minute on the mountain bike. However, I did manage to achieve the latter goal, and actually spent very little on cycling in 2002.
For me, it's aim low, shoot high..DINOSAUR
Dec 31, 2002 10:48 AM
I shot for a mileage of 5,000 miles. I ended up with 6,800 and would have reached 7,000 until the rain hit Nor Cal.

Highs- New bike, lost 30 pounds (my goal was 20). And NO CRASHES (that is my main goal).

Lows- spending too much money over the internet on bike stuff. I can't think of anything else.

Goals for 2003- No crashes, shoot a little higher for miles. Have fun. Stop spending money over the internet.

Live each day like it is your last, as some day it will...
weightDougSloan
Dec 31, 2002 1:50 PM
can you tell a difference in climbing after losing 30 pounds?

I try think of internet shopping as entertainment.

Doug
A big difference...DINOSAUR
Dec 31, 2002 2:19 PM
It's like night and day on the weight loss. My wife found a diet called The Zone, which is about combining food groups (40% carbs 30% protein 30% fats) and eating portions according to your bmi. I feel great, never hungry and my miles really shot up. The only problem is all my cycling cloths are starting to fall off of me. I want to drop about 10 to 15 more pounds which will put be around 183, which for me is light. I weighed 183 during my marathon running days and at one time was down to 155, but I felt drained and weak all of the time.

I think half of the internet spending thing is waiting for FedEx to deliver the package. For some reason I get a big thrill out of that process.

Have a great New Year, ride safe.

Ed (Dino)
Santa Cruz....I feel you with the rain!!!James
Jan 1, 2003 11:19 PM
re: 2002 Mileage, Highs and Lows, 2003 Goals...JS Haiku Shop
Dec 31, 2002 11:00 AM
not to overshadow the two other mighty fine "looking back" and "looking ahead" posts,...

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efc0615

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efc04d6

2002 mileage: 6017.89 miles (most ever, after 4589.7 in 2001)

2002 highs: third double metric, first double centuries, first extended night/dark riding, first 'cross races, first 100+ mile rides considered "as training", new friends (some made here) and ride companions...though i still can't get most of the local ones out for a ride between october and march. oh, and the 6-gap century. oh, and the merckx strada with chorus 10--a lugged beauty that's a joy to ride all day long. smooth, like butta.

2002 lows: physical therapy, IT Band Syndrome, Patellar-Tendonitis (which i understand is really a ligament or something), being off the bike for more than a month due to these things, and after getting back up and going, a crash on a july 4 ride that put me off the bike for another 2 weeks (Wonderdog was there and gave a pretty fair Phil Liggett afterwards). oh, and getting so seriously dropped hard in my first road race that the suffering wasn't even fun.

2003 goals: JS Haiku Shop "Cycling related goals for 2003???" 12/30/02 6:14am

2002 BIGGEST SURPRISE: ok, so i really, really like fancy-pants italian shoes. sidi genius 4s...they're the schnizzel. cheap as i am, i'll pinch pennies on **everything else**, but pay thru the nose for sidis. who knew? =)

hasta la pasta!

-J
We are likely to do a century today/tonight.MB1
Dec 31, 2002 11:12 AM
So I'm at 17,325 miles for the year so far. 73 centuries so far.

I really, really, really want to ride less miles next year. I'll probably do it during the week since Miss M likes to ride big miles on the weekend.

Hi-lights for the year???

Seeing how far I could actually ride in a year.
Putting on the Georgetown 200K and the NSA/OCE Fixte Century.
Meeting LenJ and Greg Taylor.
Fixte touring to Montreal was really good.

Next year-I'll take it as it comes.
now THAT is a bunch of miles nmJS Haiku Shop
Dec 31, 2002 11:23 AM
I wish I could do half that many miles in a year...empacher6seat
Dec 31, 2002 5:10 PM
in my 20's. That's truly an incredible accomplishment.
More mileage than I put on my carKenS
Jan 1, 2003 1:06 PM
One year I put less than 2500 miles on the car, and that included a 500-mile round trip.

My two big goals are:

More mileage on my bike than my car.

The resale value of my bike is more than my car.

Unfortunately, I will only be able to meet one of them this year.
milesbianchi boy
Dec 31, 2002 11:15 AM
I'm ending the year at 7102 miles, up slightly from last year (7060). I didn't have a specific mileage goal the year; it just worked out that way.

Highs: Riding a 450-mile, weeklong tour of Wisconsin with my brother in June. Spending another week riding with my brother in the Chicago area. Climbing Brasstown Bald, highest point in Georgia, over Turkey Day with haiku and MikeP (literally my highpoint for the year). Riding from Greenville, SC, up to Saluda, NC, on the famous "sticky bun" metric. Riding on Wednesdays after work with my cycling buds. Finally finding and buying a new Eddy Merckx Corsa frame.

Lows: Hurting my knees several times by injudiciously messing with my saddle adjustments. Buying two used Eddy Merckx frames (on different occasions) over the internet, only to discover they both had crash damage. Coming down with bronchitis/pneumonia in February and missing about 2 weeks of riding.

Goals: My main goals are to improve my climbing and lose some weight. I can't do on without the other. I'm not too worried about mileage goals. I just ride whenever I can. Also, complete another weeklong cycle tour with my brother -- perhaps Cycle Virginia or North Carolina.
re: Cycle VAJS Haiku Shop
Dec 31, 2002 11:22 AM
one of our local guys and his racer-type friend from DC rode my "2002 Last Chance (Almost) Century" on Saturday in Elvisville. they did the Cycle VA together this year and both have plans to do the same in 2003, though it appears the location is much further NE than in 2002. big, big thumbs up from both. they reported much uphill riding, btw.
Bike VA is usually a good time...Gregory Taylor
Dec 31, 2002 1:47 PM
Well organized, very good routes, and lots of bikes to look at. Highly recommended.
re: 2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?PEDDLEFOOT
Dec 31, 2002 11:37 AM
High - Completing first century and riding 5000 miles.
Finally getting the running monkey off my back and
becoming a full time roadie.

Low - None that I can remember.It's been a great year.

2003 - Ride 3 centuries and ride another 5000 miles.
Make it to the cow! I have to explain that one.
There's a cow on the corner of the town square
of Harvard Illinois that's a little over 50 miles
from my house.I want to make a trip there and back
by myself for my own personal century.
HARMILDA! "Don't Moooooove me!" (nm)PseuZQ
Dec 31, 2002 12:51 PM
re: 2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?Dave Hickey
Dec 31, 2002 11:51 AM
Total after today was 4446 miles. Down from 5200 miles last year but my exercise hours are up. My goal this year was to run on bad weather days instead of getting frustrated.

Highs- Ride for the Roses. It's the third year I've done it and it gets better every time. Also meeting Tig and MXL02 for a ride this month was a real high. They're both great people.

Low- I honestly can't think of any. I'm 45 years old, healthy, have a great family and job.

Goals for 2003. Doing most of my centuries on my LOOK single speed. My mother is riding the Ride for the Roses in October. She's 66 and planning on doing the 25 or 30 miler. She and my 12 year old son will ride together while I'm doing the century. Just to see them out riding will worth the price of admission.
Good TopicUncleMoe
Dec 31, 2002 12:41 PM
2002 Miles - About 3000-3500 road and MTB combined. I just added computers to the bikes in July and put on about 2000 miles in the later half of the year, which is why I have the 500 variance in my estimate.

Highs - Getting a FS Santa Cruz SL. Commuting to work by bike more regularly (90% of my road miles are from a 40 round trip commute this year). Buying some bike tools and an old Trek 930 to convert into a SS that I'll start to work on soon.

Lows - Home improvements most of the yer severely limited my weekend miles. I think I rode maybe 10 times all year on a weekend. Crashed the day after Thanksgiving and then got sick. Did maybe 100 miles total in all of December, so the year ended very slow.

2003 Goals - Ride more on weekends, do a 24 hour race, a century, and hit at least 5000 (If I do the first 3, 5000 miles should be a breeze)

Lows -
re: 2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?Len J
Dec 31, 2002 12:59 PM
Finshed with a 50 mile ride today to total 8,275 for the year, and that was without riding from 9/21 thru 12/21.

Highs: 12 individual training centuries, most ever. Completed tour DuMonte (3 days, 300 miles, 20,000 ft of climbing) (Not bad for a flatlander). Riding 125 miles twice with Miss M & MB1, I can't imagine better riding company. Being at the finish of the Seagull to greet my wife who finished her first ever Metric century & seeing the look of satisfaction on her face. Riding every weekend last winter. The simple joy of getting back on the bike on 12/21 and riding for 2 hours with good riding buds. New Serotta Legend Ti (I wouldn't recommend an accident to justify it, but it is a great bike).

Lows: Bad Crash with car on 9/21 & 3 month recovery. Death of a local cyclist hit by a 16 year old girl-Too many lives affected in a bad way.

2003 Goals: As Dino says, ride without crashing. Enjoy the journey more, ride with MB1 & Miss M more. Just plain remember the joy every ride.

Len
highs and lowsDougSloan
Dec 31, 2002 1:55 PM
2002:

Highs:

Having a kid, and still being able to ride at all

Finishing the 508 team race in 2nd (but it was extremely difficult, though)

Lows:

DNF'ing a 24 hour time trial, largely due to bad attitude (with going out too fast, gastric problems, and insufficient training contributing).

Gaining weight

Getting out of shape

2003:

Just keep riding; doesn't really matter how much. Anything is good.

Doug
re: 2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?look271
Dec 31, 2002 2:46 PM
Finished at 4199 miles for the year. Actually is a bit more but I didn't add the miles on my mtb w/ the kids. Highs? Definately the 3 state 3 mountain challenge in TN. Met J's Haiku there.Lows? Can't think of any. I'd like to get 5k in next year and do more centuries as well as a solo, unsupported one.
2002-2003CARBON110
Dec 31, 2002 4:03 PM
7550 miles without counting trainer days.

Highs: SRM Power Meter, Finding two 5 month old puppys a month ago on a ride some jackass had dumped and keeping them, riding with Cane Creek Pro team weekly, Joining a team, a few top 10 finishes, making a ton of friends on the bike, finishing more than 25 races, being able to ride all year, racing in the rain only twice, bought a Trek Fuel 100 2003, living in NC and being alive and having more fun on the bike than ever before

Lows: Crashing once, going to my second peak race ( GMSR ) and losing 5Lbs in 4 days to whatever and not finishing, going through two sets of brand new Zipp wheels, Not riding with my girlfriend as much..... nothing major
PuppiesFez
Jan 1, 2003 8:49 AM
Where exactly did you find the pups? How did you get them back? Were they in OK health?

Glad to hear you kept them.
Puppies.. FEZCARBON110
Jan 1, 2003 10:40 AM
I was on my way back from a 3 hour ride about 5 weeks ago and a block and a half from my house playing in the middle of a very busy road were two 5month old ( accoring to the vet ) full bread pittbull puppies. I am assuming thats why someone dumped them. Its hard to rent a house with a dog with a rep like that. I saw them eating something disgusting and ran over to them, the wre unbelievably filthy. I looked around and having been familiar with that neighborhood and already having 2 dogs of my own who frequent the local park I knew no one there had puppies. So, I moved them to amore safe location immdiatly and they were covered in sht and had the worst smell. Now I had sht all over me so I zippped home got my GIRLFRIENDS truck ( hehe ) and went back which took me all of 3 miutes since I had her keys already ( she had my car )I threw my bike in the back. I attempted to get them in the back but decided it wasnt worth the risk and I never have been a fan of people who keep dogs i the back of pick ups. I then gave them both a bath which they loved and took forever to get them clean, took tem to the vet and 2 weeks and $600 later I had two healthy pups. They now reside with me and my lady and have a very healthy life style. by the way.... they are beautiful and have their full tales and ears :) Their markings are incredible and the two of tem are inseperable. I will post a pic of them tomorrow
Nice job, CARBON110!look271
Jan 1, 2003 11:41 AM
The world needs more people like you. Bravo!
Pretty cool about the pups!look271
Jan 1, 2003 9:29 AM
All I found on my rides was a pocket knife! =( How'd you get them home? Jersey pockets? =)
My HIGHS and lowsPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Dec 31, 2002 3:39 PM
Most of you here know my story. Basically crashing at 60 km/h straight onto my head after T-boning my teammate who was taken down by a Trinidadian rider while racing in Trinidad. If not its on my website under The Crash.

Lows - rebounding from an athletic version of an eating disorder that saw me lose a good 30 lbs, landing on my head at 60 km/h and the crap that comes with having complete amnesia... then snapping out of it not being allowed to train for 3 months by my doctor(s) only to not be allowed to ride outside for fear of another concussion until the end of March... something made worse when there was only sporatic snow and cold temperatures up until earlier this week

Highs - realizing I'm lucky to be alive let alone able to ride again and not brain damaged or paralyzed, seeing a maple leaf jersey and jacket in my closet for the first time knowing I earned them, settling into a new training program that I think will help me tremendously to reach my goals, getting new sponsors, becoming a spin class instructor

Goals for 2003 - have fun, train hard, become a better bike handler, not crash and continue on the road to achieve my goals wherever that may take me

I hope everyone has a good new year!
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
that's roughempacher6seat
Dec 31, 2002 5:13 PM
I knew you were in that huge crash, but had no idea about the other stuff or what happened after the accident. It's a good thing you've got such a positive outlook, though. Keep up the hard work!

Nice website, by the way!
re: 2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?tigermilk
Dec 31, 2002 6:09 PM
goal - 8000 miles
actual - 7937 miles

Highs - just about making the goal, getting stronger and faster, coming back from an injury, learning to train right

Lows - breaking my hip in a paceline crash

2003 goals: not caring about mileage (I'm going for quality of training versus quantity), break an hour in 40k, sub 5 hour solo century
2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 GoalsTig
Dec 31, 2002 6:25 PM
Managed 5492 miles. My goal was 6000, but I'm happy being this close. The quality of the ride is what counts. I could ride more, but I like a solid recovery.

High's: New Merckx frame, building and riding a fixed gear bike (by far the most fun to ride), and improving my fitness enough to hang with the Cat 1-2's and even win a few fun sprints. Every ride is the best if you bring the right attitude.

Low's: Not enough racing, but I'll live. Not traveling as much as I used to for the wonderful places to ride in the state.

2003 Goals: Ride more, but without diminishing the quality. I don't want to turn training into a job! Win/place in a few Masters races (anyone who has ever raced Masters knows what a tall order that is!). I hope to ride with a few more of you other RBR riders.
re: 2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?Thorman
Jan 1, 2003 6:27 AM
2002 was my best year ever on a bike. I finally got serious about racing (both road and MTB) and did a total of 27 races, finding my way to the podium a few times along the way. My miles were the highest they've ever been at almost 7,000. I also completed my goal of using a structured training program and tracking my workouts (http://www.trainingbible.com). I also lost 16 lbs., which really helped my climbing ability, but obviously not enough.

I didn't have many lows this year. If I had to come up with some I would have to say getting dropped on a number of climbs during some of the hilly road races I did this year frustrated me.

2003 Goals:

Focus my training efforts to improve my power to increase climbing abiltiy, which will be demonstrated by not being dropped in hilly road races.

Finish with the lead pack in my two A races so that I can put myself in position to win.

Lose another 3-4 lbs.

Top 10 Expert MTB class finish in at least one series race.

Win at least one road race.

Complete at least 95% of my 625 training hours.

Build up a 15 lb. Giant TCR composite by March 1.

thorman
http://www.ScottThor.com
re: 2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?Mike P
Jan 1, 2003 9:59 AM
I finished up the 2002 year with 6,481 miles. I do not remember the milage goal I set for myself at the start of 2002. And in honor of that fact, I don't think I'll set a number goal for 2003. Instead I plan to just ride more.

It was nice to meet some of the RBR family, JS Haiku and Bianchi Boy, also _RT_ somewhere during 6-gap; maybe our wheels will line up again sometime. I also hope to meet more of you this year.

Highs for me: Made my first ride longer than 80 miles; the Cherohola Challenge. I was shooting for 8 hrs and finished in 7:25. I also finished the 6 Gap Century. I felt great the entire ride and knew I was going to make my 8 hour time; finished in 6:10 (this is my highest point of the year). I also built up a bike on my own, with parts I picked out. I ended up with a 16 lb bike for around $1500. Oh, and Lasik surgery - I can see!

Lows: I got lazy a few times.

2003: Just ride more, concentrating on the hills. I will be adding AM rides on the rollers 3 days a week. I will stop eating candy and cookies and peanut M&M's and all that other evil stuff. In general, I hope to eat a bit more healthy this year. I plan on riding 3 State 3 Mtn, Cherohala Challenge and 6 Gap to see if my climbing is getting any better.

Take care! Happy 2003!
Mike
re: 2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?lonefrontranger
Jan 1, 2003 10:23 AM
Mileage = I have no idea since only one of my 5 bikes has a computer, and it only works about half the time (when I remember to turn it on). I ride by hours anyway, not mileage. A lot, since I commute, race and train year-round. If I had to guesstimate I'm doing roughly 150-170 miles per week on average.

Highs - Getting my new Dream Cross built up last Jan and finding an LBS (Vecchio's in Boulder) that actually HELPED me spec the build instead of insisting Campag 10 won't work on a 'cross bike (it does). Rode the 'cross bike a ton this year and I don't even own a MTB anymore. Winning a stage and coming in 3rd G.C. at PBSR last May and leaving skinny girls behind on the mountain stage. Upgrading and raising my game. *Finally* getting my Dream Plus in the correct size, color, AND cheaper than U.S. "pro" deals (thanks Maestro!). Riding with local RBR'ers and finding a damn good coach in one of them.

Lows - crashed and broke my collarbone in July in a dumb criterium stunt and missing the State TT champs as a result. Spent January thru April laid off, broke and looking for work. Having to sell my MTB to make car payments.

2003 Goals: Ride all the big climbs locally including the nastiest (Magnolia), simply because I'm not a climber and typically avoid this stuff. Win a Cat III race on my way to upgrading to Cat II. Save the $$ to build up my new Dream Plus frame. Go to Masters Nats this year since it's in Louisville KY and I used to race in that area.
re: 2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?flying
Jan 1, 2003 9:47 PM
2002 mileage just a hair over 5k 5010 miles
Climbed 299,800 feet total

Highs... getting to ride as much as I did..being healthy...living in Paradise...getting a new Look 381i & realizing what a big diff geometry that works for me made.

Lows.....1)Doing a terrible State Champ 40k TT.Went out way too hard & started cracking 3/4 way thru.
2)Sweet tooth getting the better of me.

2003 Goals... Great 40kTT...swim & run more...lose a bit of fat% that snuck up ( a bunch ) due to sweets ;-)
re: 2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?abicirider
Jan 2, 2003 9:30 AM
mileage came in right at 11,374 plus about another 300 in racing miles.
Hi's: Being able to get on the bike most days by 2:00 Pm, makes training year round alot easier.
Being able to place in a few crits (that was a surprise for me)
Being able to ride in the Boone NC area as much as I did.
Low's going through final phase of divorce after 1.5 year battle (no fun)
Crashing more times than I wanted.
Wishing there were more riders in the NC area.
Goals for 2003: Try to be the best I can, move on with my life try to forget the past.
USCF upgrade
race at least 30 times.
Get faster TT times.
not crash as much
re: 2002 Mileage, Hi's & Lo's, 2003 Goals- Anyone else?dotkaye
Jan 2, 2003 10:00 AM
mileage: 2000 bike, 500 run, 75 swim

Highs: rebuilt an early 90's Pretendamount (Japanese-built Paramount PDG), worked out to be a nice ride; first charity ride, 3 days at Courage Classic in the Co. mountains, wonderful; took 9 mins off my Boulder triathlon PR.

Lows: none to speak of

2003 goals: first century, repeat Courage Classic ride
36,000 miles in 2002Spoiler
Jan 2, 2003 10:59 AM
I started the year off hoping to make 20k without burning out. I hadn't planned on racing but I needed to in order to stay motivated.
My highlight of the year was watching people in the forum pee their pants every time I posted the winner of the Giro stage before they got a chance to watch the WCP DVD.