RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Wheelset: Dura Ace WH7701 or Ksyrium SL(18 posts)

Wheelset: Dura Ace WH7701 or Ksyrium SLMaverick
Dec 31, 2002 7:09 AM
Hi ppl,

i currently have two options, which is to get either of the above mentioned wheelset. i can have the DA wheelset (used) at US$320 or the Ksyrium SL (new) at US$475.

btw i'm currently looking at a wheelset which is light enough for climbs yet strong to take some abuse on harsh roads.

any ideas/opinions?

many thanks
re: Wheelset: Dura Ace WH7701 or Ksyrium SL_sprocket_
Dec 31, 2002 7:15 AM
No experience with the DA, but the Ksyriums are great. They are just what you described...light enough for climbs yet strong enough to take some abuse. Where can you get them for $475 new? I'll buy a set at that price!
Ksyrium SLkatie1
Dec 31, 2002 7:28 AM
I got a set last year and LOVE them! I have never trued them even though I have been in several crashes. I have had to replace the free hub body and a skewer but they have been through 8,000 miles (lots of wear). They climb well and seem very durable. I have a friend who drove over one by accident and the wheel is still perfectly trued. Good price.
re: Wheelset: Dura Ace WH7701 or Ksyrium SLmixinbeatz
Dec 31, 2002 7:42 AM
I have the Ksyriums and they are fine. They are not the lightest wheels in the world, but they will last a long time. To be quite honest, I have some open pro, ultegra wheels that I use for training that are about the same weight and have proven just a durable as the k's. Mine came on a team bike on pro deal, but I don't know if I would shell out $475 for them. Besides looking cool, I don't think the k's offer anything over a well built set of traditional wheels.
Just my 2 bits.
re: Wheelset: Dura Ace WH7701 or Ksyrium SLJFunk
Dec 31, 2002 7:45 AM
ONe word: VELOMAX ASCENT.

Okay it was two words. Anyway these are amazing wheels and you can dig up a set of new ones relatively cheap. Even through Velomax they are $599. Lighter than the Kysriums by about 150gms and mine have held up very well. I haven't touched them since I bought them and they have about 6000 miles on them. The other plus is they use standard spoke (threaded at both ends, but any shop can do this for you) and nipples. Repairs are MUCH easier than on Kysriums.

If you are bigger than about 180 lbs I reccommend the Orions which are the same hub and rim, but use more spokes. I hear the new Ascent II's are evn lighter by 40gms than the original scents. Check out their website and give them a call. Someone is always available to talk and they are cool guys. Far more available than MAVIC USA.

JFunk
re: Wheelset: Dura Ace WH7701 or Ksyrium SLyeah right
Dec 31, 2002 8:16 AM
you leave out key information here, such as your weight and riding style.

they are fairly different wheels, as you know, and with the heavily reduced spoke count on the da wheelset, they aren't very stiff according to friends that own them, so unless you're pretty light, i'd pass. however i'd have to go with the special k's anways, although the da set looks cool.
re: Wheelset: Dura Ace WH7701 or Ksyrium SLJFunk
Dec 31, 2002 8:53 AM
Just looked in the CC catalog and the quoted weight difference between the Ascent II's and the 03 Ksyriums is 290gms!! Thats 10 ounces.

Even the Orions are 235 gms lighter than Ksyriums.

BTW I forgot to mention I have been riding th Ascents and I weight between 160-170 pounds.

Don't believe the Mavic Marketing. Velomax!!!
Neither!BigLeadOutGuy
Dec 31, 2002 9:00 AM
Get yourself a set of open pros with dura-ace hubs and youll be good to go and have an extra hundered bucks in your pocket. =)
You can get a pair of OP built very close to the weights of either of those wheelsets...possibly even lighter. Granted the OPs dont have the style factor of the two wheels you are looking at...and the prices for those wheelsets are very good, if they are new.
But as far as performance you probably wont be able to tell the difference.
A good case for the OP pros is the stage in the 2001 TdF (stage11?) when Paolo Bettini was in a lone breakaway in a mountain stage for over 120kms...He has access to any wheelset he wants from mavic but he chose a pair of OPs. Go figure? I would have went with some ksyruims myself...but if their good enough for him I am sure they are good enough for anyone! =)
Just somethign to think about
Right on BLG! (nm)Kerry
Dec 31, 2002 4:58 PM
Dave's Speed Dream Aeroscoonass
Dec 31, 2002 9:57 AM
should not be left out of the selection.... www.speeddream.com (I also have the SLs and I don't see any difference in performance, except the Aeros are lighter than the SLs)...the $475 is going to be increased by the $90 you're going to spend for UK shipping and Customs.....enquire before committing.
Yeeehaw, Jester's dead!eyebob
Dec 31, 2002 10:12 AM
Oooops sorry, I had a Top Gun flash back there.

I second the speeddream.com wheels. Awesome product, handbuilt, incredible durability and cust. service. I'll only buy from Dave. T. now. That being said, the Krysiums are notorious for having some porblems (search the threads on this board) but possibly they are seen more simply because they're such a popular wheel set. I'd opt for the used (how old?) set of DA's anytime. Numerous posters will tell you that there isn't any major difference to the deeper dish and it's aero effetiveness anyway.

My 2 cents.

BT
Yeeehaw, Jester's dead!mixinbeatz
Dec 31, 2002 10:44 AM
Even though I am not the biggest fan of the k's. IMHO these wheels are not notorious for having problems. The only problem I have heard is that it is a bitch finding replacement spokes. What kind of problems have you heard of?
Yeeehaw, Jester's dead!eyebob
Jan 1, 2003 8:01 AM
Lot's of folks that I ride with have complained about the spoke issue as well as frequently breaking spokes on these wheels. Two also have trouble keeping them true. I'm trying to think whether it's because these are bigger guys or not but I don't think so. In contrast, the DA wheelset (IMHO) hasn't given this type of problem.

Be aware, this is just my experience with them. I did a quick search of the Review of these and they get favorable reviews but I'm always a bit cautious when I read wheel set reviews because I'm convinced that hand-built wheels (if done right) blow away these wheels any day. I'm not sure how many of the people who review wheelsets have had any experience with hand built wheels at all so there's always that to consider.

BT
Same problems with several riding buddy's K's. I won't waste my $ on 'em. -nmTig
Jan 2, 2003 6:40 AM
re: Wheelset: Dura Ace WH7701 or Ksyrium SLMootsie
Dec 31, 2002 10:09 AM
I have had a set of the Dura Ace 7701's for about a year. I am about 160 lbs and ride many rough Denver roads as well as numerous climbs in the Rockies. I love the wheels. I have never had to true them, find them very stiff, fast, great to look at and very durable. Shimano has upgraded these from their previous versions adding some stiffness to them. Anyone who has a set that is a couple of years old will probably mention things like break rub, flex and the need to true often. I think the 7701 version has taken care of all those concerns. Chose the Ksyrium's if you want to be like everybody else. Pick the DA's to show a little individualism. Take care.
how aero are both of themishmael
Dec 31, 2002 1:13 PM
Other than someone simply riding both pairs and making claims is there info on how efficient an aero set really is? Or any wheelset? Aero spokes?
All the INFO you NEED.... Right Here ! :)CARBON110
Dec 31, 2002 3:28 PM
I have become a somewhat wheel expert. Wheels are my favorite part of my bike after the frame and fork. So, here you go....

DA wheels did make many improovments this year over previous years. They are cool looking but the aero effect is ZERO at 25mm or even 30mm deep. Its how large companys market by using key words. But they have fewer spokes so there will be VERY little less wind resistance. If your over 160 I wouldnt getem. 16 spokes are 16 spokes... not alot of spokes but they are nice wheels! The rim is improoved this year and last to be a little softer for more abuse tolerance.

KYS are VERY stiff.... some of the best wheels for power transfer, bladed spokes are known for more stiffness but heavy compared to regular spokes. According to some wind tunnel tests done by NIMBLE wheel company thesaid Kys are the WORST aero dynamics due to the VERY flat spokes and high number. Mavics are known for great durability.

Nimble.net... are very nice wheels... the Spider wheels, hidden nipples for better aero dynamics but again very little, thin spokesbut stiff. I have a pair. On the other hand the rim is small and thin, this is why they weigh 1350grams. WOW! Not as durable as other wheels. But they have A++ service and are very durable. $500 new

AERO WHEELS: according to Steve Hed and Texas UNV. wind tests a wheel can be considered more " aero" than another wheel but not necessarily enough to make a difference. An aero wheelset that is 52mm-58mm will save a rider 5-10% more energy in a field of racers as opposed to a 32 spoke wheel. Thats alot...although you can make this up by just being effecient on your pedals. Time Trials the energy savings increases more. Wheels that are 34mm deep or less are simply more AERO then wheels with less rim depth. So, the DA wheels might be more " aero" than Mavics Kys "aero" , but they are not really aero... ok? Good luck :)
re: Wheelset: Dura Ace WH7701 or Ksyrium SLSintesi
Jan 2, 2003 6:49 AM
The DA will be more aero and comfortable than the SLs while the SLs are way stiffer and about 100g lighter. If your climbing a lot or a sprinter then I'd go with the SLs. If centuries are your bag then the DA. The DAs do not share the SLs reputation for durability. I own the SLs and while I like them very much and find them noticably speedier when accelarating and coasting they do have one drawback: My back aches a lot more. Depending on your frame and the type of guy you are (i.e. older, back problems or both) the SLs may not be for you.

PS. The prices you quote are really good I don't think you can go too wrong here. Good luck!