RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


New Year's Resolutions?(52 posts)

New Year's Resolutions?lonefrontranger
Dec 30, 2002 11:10 AM
Forgive me if the topic has come up; I was out of town and languishing in dialup hell for the past week and a half.

My New Year's Resolution is quite simple: I will, at some point in 2003, ride Magnolia Road, on my road bike, all the way from bottom (Canyon / 119) to top (Peak to Peak).

For those of you not familiar with this one, Andy Hampsten has compared it to Alpe d'Huez. It's not as long, but every bit as steep. It's the kind of climb where the inside of every switch is so steep, it has scrape marks from cars bottoming out, and I do mean every single freakin' switchback for two ass-busting, frame-bending miles. It gives the lie to the old wives' tale that the mountain climbs out are here long, gentle, scenic grades. This one is indeed long. Yes, it's long. Did I mention it's long?

For those of you not familiar with me, I'm slow, female, (ahem) pleasantly padded, and climb like a cast iron skillet. Ever since I moved here guys have been challenging me to try this monster, as it's our local "hell NO I'm not climbing that" climb. I swore I'd never touch Magnolia with a fifty-seven foot pole. My CAR is afraid of this climb for cripes' sake.

This merely proves I've lost all reason and judgement.
weight to 145 poundsDougSloan
Dec 30, 2002 11:38 AM
Get weight down to 145 pounds or 6% body fat (if 145 is more than 6%).

Climb Tollhouse Road in under 41 minutes (6 miles, 2500 feet).

Reduce my bike collection.

Doug
Do you know how lean 6% is?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Dec 30, 2002 12:24 PM
6% body fat is very very lean. If you have been 6% in the past unless you were a swimmer I'd have to think your fat test was taken by a relatively unqualified person. I get my pinch tests done by someone in the kines departed at the local university who has done HUNDREDS of people. With that said the lowest she's seen is 5% in a girl and said that was incredibly skinny.

So basically that would be very unhealthy. 10% is a much more healthy, more easily attainable goal and also a point where you'd probably be able to stay at for long periods of time.

As for body weight goals be very careful weight takes no body composition into account. To the point where you could be losing muscle in order to save those couple pounds. That lost muscle could easily affect your climbing power so even though your lighter it wouldn't matter.

In my opinion just try to get fit, eat healthy and do your climb in your time limit... the weight will come.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
Do you know how lean 6% is?comedy-tragedy
Dec 30, 2002 12:36 PM
And Karl Malone came into training camp this year at 2.5%, so yes, it can be done.

At 39 the guy is a complete freak of nature. They still list him at 256 lbs, but if he's under 270 I'll eat my hat.
Theres no way he's 2.5%PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Dec 30, 2002 1:01 PM
This is just my 2 cents but I second guess that information. I agree that Karl Malone is lean. No double about it. But if he really was only 2.5% every vein in his body would almost be popping out. Body fat is what keeps you from seeing all the definition and veins in muscles under the skin. And with him although he has good definition very few veins are visible so I don't think this is correct.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
2.5% is attainableempacher6seat
Dec 30, 2002 4:25 PM
Canada's national team rowers train at the same lake as my crew, and there's a couple of them who are 2.5%-5% and yes, it's freaky. They're just ALL muscle, they look like if you poked them with a fork, their skin would just tear right off!

While it is attainable, it would not be healthy to try and maintain that throughout the year, or at least I'd imagine so.
Bang onPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Dec 30, 2002 7:44 PM
"While it is attainable, it would not be healthy to try and maintain that throughout the year, or at least I'd imagine so."

You pinned it right on the nose... it is attainable but by no means is it healthy to maintain except in the peak of your season. If your doing a lot of volume you should have more as opposed to less body fat or else your body will dip into muscle stores if you begin to bonk.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
Do you know how lean 6% is?Duane Gran
Dec 30, 2002 12:50 PM
Your points are generally well taken, but it is easier for some than others. Personally, my body fat hovers around 6% in the winter and 4% during the race season. I would love to take credit for this, but my metabolism is good for bike racing. Unfortunately it isn't good for famine, so lets hope that things remain properous. ;)
How was that measured?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Dec 30, 2002 12:57 PM
Was that underwater or with the calipers? I know a friend I ride with did the a test with calipers at his gym and he got 5%. I have 2 other friends I ride with who look skinnier than him and are 10% when its done by someone who is very experienced. This leads me to believe some formulas are completely inaccurate.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
yes, I doDougSloan
Dec 30, 2002 2:16 PM
Don't forget that I'm not some muscle bound sprinter type. I've run marathons, lots of doubles, and a 500 mile race.

Lance raced the Tour at 3%. His winter "fat" weight was at 6%. It seemed to have worked for him.

I see lots and lots of bike racers who likely are well under 10%. I don't understand the incredulity on your part. Do you not hang with the road racer climber types? It's pretty much a skinny bunch.

Doug
Guys I ride withPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Dec 30, 2002 7:39 PM
I ride with some very lean guys... and at the leanest they are 9%. I think certain formulas estimate low where otheres estimate higher.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
Wheres Tollhouse road? (nm)firstrax
Dec 30, 2002 1:24 PM
East of Fresno on the way to Huntington Lake (nm)fracisco
Dec 30, 2002 4:16 PM
specificsDougSloan
Dec 31, 2002 7:32 AM
Here's how to get to the road where the big hill is.

From Prather, go east on 168; at the intersection stop sign where you would turn left to go up the 4 lane to Shaver, go straight instead; this is Lodge Road. Go about 5 miles, then turn left on Tollhouse Road. The hill starts about 1 mile later in the little town of Tollhouse; the hill is then about 6 miles long, and ends up at 168, right after the 4 lane goes back to 2 lane.

On a map, look for the town of Tollhouse, about 25 miles northeast of Fresno.

Doug
re: New Year's Resolutions?dzrider
Dec 30, 2002 11:50 AM
Ride Quadzilla

<= 170 pounds

buy no bike junk
Seeing as Qaudzilla is an RBR posterKristin
Jan 2, 2003 8:04 AM
You're resolution could be interpreted any number of ways. I hope its a good ride regardless. ;)
Magnolia gearing?BipedZed
Dec 30, 2002 11:51 AM
I'm as masochistic as any bike racer and racing up Magnolia just made me plain angry. But after you get to Peak to Peak it's a tremendous feeling of accomplishment/relief. Particularly since you get 4 miles or so of washboard dirt road to reflect on what you just subjected yourself to.

I did it in a 39x27. I'd do it in a triple if I had one.

I also heard that the Mike Horgan HC which will go up Sugarloaf this year will be the State HC championship.

My New Year's Resolution is to stop obsessing about cycling when I'm not actually cycling.
Magnolia gearing = arrrghlonefrontranger
Dec 30, 2002 12:33 PM
Hey, Zed- how's it going?

I'm pretty much convinced that there is no such thing as Magnolia gearing. My old friend Wally (a Cat I former area racer) claimed that there was no gear he ever rode that made that climb easy or even fun, and he even rode it on his MTB a couple times. He was a 125-lb flyweight super climber who would actively search out hard climbs and did SuperJames (Left Hand to Jamestown to Peak to Peak) several times per month in season. I figure if I can't make it in the 39/27, nothing else is going to work any better.

I rode up the backside of Lee Hill yesterday after doing Jamestown, and it didn't seem that bad actually. This is another climb I have been actively avoiding. I even shifted into the 24 and 21 to stand up and "sprint" (at all of 6 mph) over the "wall" section after the big hairpin. So okay, I didn't break any speed records, but I didn't have to stop to let my hamstrings unlock like I've had to in the past.

Besides, Magnolia can't be any worse than that beast of a climb at Platte Bridge... er... can it?

Anyway, right now I'm too broke trying to save up for the group to go on the new Dream Plus to bother buying any more new parts.
tell me more about this climb!eyebob
Dec 30, 2002 1:17 PM
How long?

Percent grade?

I did the Mt. Washington Hill Climb out here last year (7.5 miles, avg. 12.5% grade) in a 30-24/28/30 so gearing helps. Always.

BT
Magnolia vs. Platte BridgeBipedZed
Dec 30, 2002 1:35 PM
Unfortunately Magnolia is much much worse. That final section of Platte wasn't too hard with a 25 and it was straight with the steepest section about 1K or so. Magnolia is 4 miles of 14% average grade with a couple of super steep switchbacks where my front tire was lifting when I was forced out of the saddle since I couldn't turn the gear sitting down. I remember one right hand switchback looked like a wave swell, no joke. But then again, other guys I know muscle up Magnolia with a 23. With all the climbing you're doing I expect to see you at the 2003 Tour of the Gila!

I've been laying off the bike since CX Nats and am just now getting back into easy base mileage. I'm looking forward to a few months of no competition. Racing March through December is mentally exhausting. Looks like State RR will be Elam which is sweet. 85 miles for everybody...you included! Also New Belgium is State Crit. Unless Meridian gets more structured I'm going to make the drive to the Mead midweek crits.

Dean is our new frame sponsor and will be making us a batch of custom compact aluminum frames with carbon seatstays, so I'll have a new road bike for this season. New bike = mucho fun. Plus they will paint my Cervelo in the team colors to make my sponsors happy in case I win any TTs next season (State TT is my first A race). Our team colors are changing to orange, purple, and lime green. No that was not a mis-print.

Speaking of TTs, any chance you'll do the Cherry Creek TT Series?

Here's a picture of me at CX Nats. Probably the last Nats I'll do as a B. Within an hour of that picture I was wolfing down the first of many Double Doubles at In-N-Out Burger. If there's a better end of season indulgence, I haven't found it.
you dirty boy!lonefrontranger
Dec 30, 2002 2:38 PM
Great pic! Is it possible Zed that you are getting even skinnier and more ripped? I almost didn't recognize you at the Boulder 'cross race. I've lost another ten pounds, but then a combination of the flu (2 weeks ago) and food poisoning (last week) will do that to you.

Frankly I'm surprised I had the strength to drag myself up to Jamestown yesterday, much less over Lee Hill. To add insult to injury, the worst part of the ride was that 15-mile headwind TT from Lafayette to the mouth of Left Hand Canyon - that west wind was fierce yesterday. According to my HRM, I actually climbed the canyon faster AND at a lower HR than I rode the westbound stretch from Niwot to 36!

The new frame sounds primo. I'll be lucky if I can afford to build up my new frame by the time racing season arrives (grump). Whatever happened to Morgul Bismark, by the way?

Umm, orange, purple and lime green? Last year = Creamsicle, this year = ??? You'll be visible in the field.

At least it can't possibly look as bad as the Lee's / Optic Nerve kit from last year, right? Sorry if there are Lee's guys on the board, but damn, what were they thinking? My Aunt Thelma's window curtains are in better taste.

Ours will be the same staid red, white, silver and indigo it's been for quite some time.

I'll work up to Magnolia a bit at a time, probably by doing several of the other "epics" around here: SuperJames (only made it a couple miles past Jamestown so far), SuperSunny (Sunshine to Peak to Peak), SuperFlagg, and so on. I'll gladly cheat by doing some of them on the 'cross bike, at least the first time. I'm terrified of all these climbs, so each of them will be an epic in their own right.

No Gila for me. I don't know about Cherry Creek; depends on my schedule, which as you know will be up to the coach.

Masters' Nats was just announced for Louisville, KY this year. Hmmm, we used to do the hilly Kentuckiana spring series down there; I bet I know the course. I know I'll know a lot of the competition.
Not anymoreBipedZed
Dec 30, 2002 3:20 PM
That was taken 2 weeks ago. Since then I have embarked on a Bacchanalian odyssey of eating and general lawlessness that have done much to erase the gains of last year. And I don't want it to end. Last year I did about 600 hrs / 9000 miles and ate like a heroin-chic supermodel. While it may result in nice photos and decent race results, I'm mentally burned from the monk-like lifestyle. But I'm also looking forward to next season. I'm done with suffering for the time being though.

Yeah, we are bracing ourselves for the new colors. Dark purple shorts and orange jerseys with lime green accents. Luckily the bikes will be just white with lime green decals.

One of these days when I'm ready to suffer again we should hook up so you can show me some of the Boulder canyon climbs of which I've never done other than Magnolia. I'll fill you in on the MB sponsor change.

You gotta go to Masters Nats just for the experience. Then you'll know what you're up against. From the sounds of it, you are on the right track.
Hang on a sec...(Partisan Rant)eyebob
Dec 30, 2002 7:03 PM
Magnolia at 4 miles 14% grade is harder than Mt. Washington at 7.5 miles 12.5% grade? How do you figure? I gotta figure anyway you cut it Mt. Washington is harder. To boot, the last 200 yards are a 22% grade. That part sort of sounds like the part on Magnolia that you describe as a wave swell.

BT
Aren't we supposed to call them goals?biknben
Dec 30, 2002 11:52 AM
As for New Year's Resolutions, I gave up on them long ago. For too many people, they are just a reason to procrastinate untill the end of the year. Then, they never stick to them anyway. Loose weight, stop smoking, etc. Why not just start now. The typical resolution has become a personal fantasy. I give credit to those who make a resolution and stick to it. I just don't see a need to wait till Jan. 1.

In your case, I wish you the best of luck. I doubt you need luck, though. Attack that climb like a fierce monster.

In my case, I started my resolution on Dec. 1st. After reading Friel's Training Bible I decided I should give it a try. I had used some of his workouts and had become familiar with his methods over the last year. On Dec. 1st I started Base 1, Week 1. It's not easy to do 14 hours of exercise in a week when temps are in the 30s but I'm still on track.

BTW: You keep coming up with little phrases that I've never heard before. "Dumpster Diving", "Pavement Surfing", and now "Pleasantly Padded". LOL! Keep 'em coming!
Ride More, weigh less, be a dadUprwstsdr
Dec 30, 2002 11:54 AM
These are my goals for the year.

5000 miles
3 centuries
lose 30 - 40 lbs (currently weigh 240)
and most importantly enjoy my daughter who is due 3/21!!!
re: New Year's Resolutions?Len J
Dec 30, 2002 12:12 PM
repeat of last years goals:

Since I couldn't ride from 9/21 until 12/20, I wasn't able to complete this years goals:

-Do a climbing century in under 5 hours.
-Maintain 24 MPH for a 10 mile TT
-exceed 8,500 miles

Most importantly, enjoy the rides.

One more for this year:

Stay healthy.

Len
improve my climbing, lose weighttarwheel
Dec 30, 2002 12:33 PM
In my case, I can't do one without the other. If I can drop 15-20 pounds, I think I could hang with most of my riding buddies on the hills. If that doesn't do it, nothing will, I'm afraid.
a fewDuane Gran
Dec 30, 2002 12:58 PM
I like to have a few goals, but I'll confess I've been pretty bad at meeting them in the past. As one of those climber-types (or at least someone who enjoys climbing) I respect lonefrontranger's willingness to tackle a hard climb.

My main goal this year is to develop time trialing ability, but at heart I'm still into improving my climbing. There is a particular climb in central Virginia up to Wintergreen mountain (route 664 for those interested) which is a real killer (about 6km with 15% gradient in the last 4km). It is my climbing benchmark and I would like to shave 45 seconds off my best time.
aaahhh... sunshine canyonjtolleson
Dec 30, 2002 1:11 PM
It is as unhappy as I've ever been on a bike. Only done it twice, and even then only to the edge of the pavement. But if you are already surviving Lee Hill Road, Left Hand Canyon (to Ward) and the like, this is within your grasp.

I do, ahem, worship at the alter of granny on any of those rides. If you are climbing any of them in a 39X27, you have my complete respect.
The C&O Canal towpath in a day.MB1
Dec 30, 2002 1:24 PM
184 dirty miles-all downhill. About 700 feet of drop as I recall.

I may do it fixed or SS. Likely to stretch it into a double century.

Oh, and ride less for the year too.
Since it's a towpath ...Humma Hah
Dec 30, 2002 8:54 PM
... I'll join you. I'll connect the cruiser to your bike with a tow rope so I can keep up the whole way.
Does that make me the mule? nmMB1
Dec 31, 2002 3:56 AM
Maybe a "nag" ...Humma Hah
Dec 31, 2002 2:22 PM
... remembering all the grief you gave me for 152 miles LAST year! ;-)

I'd say, right off hand, there's no way the cruiser's gonna maintain 16 mph average on that route to keep up with your chosen pace on the CXer. I'd personally allow 18 hours, and carry both NightSticks and a couple of headlights. At 5 watts, I can burn a light for about 5 hours.

I have some 32mm tires for the Paramount, but I'm not ready to turn it into a cyclocrosser.

So I'm figuring we'd start together, go at our own paces, and if I get in trouble I pull out a cell phone and my wife will rescue me.

And at an honest 300k, I'd call it the moral equivalent of an old-fashioned 300k Brevet, from the days of unpaved roads and fixed-gear bikes, more than 30 miles past my pavement PR and a real test for me.

Have you seen my post in "Rides" about the Tour de Canal? That's a sponsored 2-day run of the towpath, a fundraiser for the Altzheimer's Association, I think it was, next fall. That's probably a little safer bet for me and the cruiser to run the whole thing.
The C&O Canal towpath in a day.curlybike
Dec 31, 2002 6:05 AM
I have done the canal many times and doing it in a day seems like it would be worse than Roubaix. If you do that, I will have to bow in humble admiration. I think the record is 13 hours and some minutes. Several people did it with much support a lot of years ago. I don't think suspension bikes were out yet.
I rode an out and back 170 miler on it last year.MB1
Dec 31, 2002 6:24 AM
Rode my cyclecrosser with 700X38 Avocet tires. I finished well before dark without any problems.

I think one of the keys to being comfortable on the rougher sections is to spin and keep the speed around 16mph. At that speed you still have control but you float a bit over the bumpy, rooted surface. Go faster you get out of control, go slower and the bumps start to hurt.

Miss M won't even consider doing it though and we do like to ride together. We live at the Georgetown end so if I get myself up to Cumberland I would just be riding home.

I'll try to make it work next year.
A Couple --Gregory Taylor
Dec 30, 2002 1:38 PM
-- Weight down to 185 lbs. This means (gulp) a diet.

-- Earn a certificate for completing the L'Etape du Tour in a good time. http://www.letapedutour.com/2003/us/index.htm
L'Etape du Tourms
Dec 31, 2002 9:23 AM
What do you mean by a "good time?" Last year (2002), I completed the Etape, but just barely (you had to complete it in 10 hours, 30 minutes, I did it in 9 hours, 49 minutes). But, I have my Bronze medal and certificate. This year my goal is a silver medal. The cutoff times for the gold and silver medals have not been posted yet. Last year I would have had to finish in 7 hours, 15 minutes to get the silver. Given the knowledge I have from last year and better training, I think that this is a reasonable goal. If you have not begun training yet, start now. I really did not begin training until March last year. I could have used a few months more training -- I was in much better shape in September than I was in July, when it counted. July 16 may seem far away from the perspective of December 31, but it will arrive faster than you can imagine. Whatever your finish time is, you will have a great time at the Etape. It was the high point of my riding year in 2002 -- I enjoyed it so much that I am going back again in 2003. Good luck (bonne chance) and happy new year (bonne nouvelle annee).

P.S. How is your French? My proficiency is minimal (one year in college, 25 years ago). Although there are a lot of English speaking riders in the Etape, it helps to understand a few words -- if only to exchange greetings with the volunteers at the rest stops and to undertand the cheers of the spectators. Allez! Allez! Allez!
A "Good Time" at L' Etape has many meanings...Gregory Taylor
Dec 31, 2002 10:15 AM
This will be my first time in the event and, as you say, they have not posted the target times for the certificates/medals. Having a well-develped ego, I want to do better than merely finish. And to complement the large ego, I'm delusional enough to think that I can aim for a "Silver" ranking even without knowing the cut-off times.

As for the other type of "good time", I'm sure that no matter what kind of ride that I turn in, it will be a blast to take part in the event and see a chunk of Le Tour in person.

I got in 7,500 miles last year, and I've set up training plan that cribs from Joe Friel's book to focus my riding. I also received a French phrasebook for Christmas, and I've already committed all the cusswords to heart. I can mutter them quietly to myself as I slog up the mountain.

Are you using a Tour company? I signed on with Graham Baxter Sportingtours. Maybe we'll meet up on the road...I'll be the idiot with the Team Lardbutt jersey.
It sounds like you are in good shapems
Dec 31, 2002 10:58 AM
My mileage for 2001, the year before I did the Etape was only around 3000 miles (I'm just under 5000 miles for this year). You are light years ahead of where I was this time last year (and this year, as well).

I am not using a tour company. A friend and I are flying over together and renting a car. We will be staying at a Gite that PhilippeC arranged for us for four days. Then, we will be staying with my friend's relatives-by-marriage in Toulouse for a few days. Between now and the Etape, I will try to come up with a way that those of us on RBR can meet -- maybe at the Etape village the day before.

My recollection is that you are in the DC area. Although there are a lot of hills in Maryland and Virginia, there are not many long climbs. Although I did not ride the Skyline Drive until after I rode the Etape, I think that it would be a good trial run -- the six-mile climb at the beginning of the Skyline Drive (from Front Royal) is a lot like the climbs on last year's Etape. Although this year's Etape has a flat beginning and end, the middle has some significant climbing (with grades higher than last year). Another good, sustained climb nearby is the 6-7 mile climb leaving Thurmont, Maryland, going west (the beginning of the Civil War Century).
Have you been sneaking a peak at my training plan?Gregory Taylor
Dec 31, 2002 2:04 PM
My sister lives out in the Shennandoahs -- I have a couple of "raids" planned. I've put together a route of about 85 miles that has three good sustained climbs - over Thorofare Gap from Sperryville into Luray, the climb up Kennedy Peak into the Fort Valley from Luray (a genuine bear - the last switchback is UGLY), and the climb from Front Royal through the gap and into Flint Hill (easy). I've done each of these climbs separately, and it looks like I can string them together into a giant festival of pain. This will either kill or cure. I'm also thinking of a trip up Mount Weather for good measure.

Your plans sound WONDERFUL. I went with a Tour Company because I just didn't trust myself to make arrangements, and my French really stinks (for now). Yes, we will have to arrange to have a RBR meeting, preferably over a post-ride glass of the good stuff.
A couple more RBR etapers..Mariowannabe
Jan 2, 2003 7:50 AM
I'm planning to do the '03 etape along with a couple guys. We're all in upstate NY, mostly Saratoga Springs. Baxter was full, so we're going the hotel/rental car route. We'll be training in upstate NY Adirondack mtns and Vermont Green mountains. Its tough to find any climbs with the sustained vertical, but we'll do our best. A post/pre meeting is a good idea. Yes, it'll be a glass of the really good stuff.

Happy New Year.

Carter Yepsen
re: New Year's Resolutions?CHRoadie
Dec 30, 2002 1:42 PM
I guess they're more like goals, but:

1) Ride up to Mt. Baldy Village the steep way.

2) Do Breathless Agony in less than 7.5 hrs.

3) Break 5.5 hrs cycling time on the Solvang Century.

4) Do Ride Around the Bear for the first time.
Baldy Village...Bixe
Dec 30, 2002 7:01 PM
When I lived in Upland, the evening ride was from Euclid at Foothill to the Lower San Antonio Ranger Station. I got there in under a half hour a few times. The weekend ride was to the Baldy ski lifts (6500') and usually back down the Glendora Mountain Road.. The climb from the San Antonio Heights Fire Station (1980') to the Baldy Village (4230') is sane enough (5.3% for 8 plus miles); from Baldy Village to the lifts is about 4.4 miles at not quite 10%. It's very do-able; I started early just to beat what little traffic goes up San Antonio Canyon.
Ride around the Bear? No sweat.DMoore
Dec 31, 2002 11:22 AM
If you've ridden Breathless Agony, riding around the bear will be no problem. I've done the Big bear ride for the last several years, and have even done the Death Ride, but I've shied away from Breathless Agony. At least in part because Gilman Springs Road and Jackrabbit trail are always in such rotten condition. I'm always afraid of breaking a wheel in a pothole or getting hit by a truck!

The last part of the climb to Oak Glen on BA is much steeper than anything you'll face riding around the bear. On the Bear ride, the only steep part is the 1 mile climb from Barton Flats to Jenks Lake on the way down from Onyx Summit, and you've already ridden that section on the BA.

Sign up for Big Bear early - the ride has filled up pretty quickly for the last couple of years.
More riding, less beermickey-mac
Dec 30, 2002 2:41 PM
I went a bit overboard on high-priced beer this year, actually spending more on beer than I did on cycling related gear. I ended up reviewing about 150 beers on another site, most of them going for $7-$12 a six-pack or $4.00 to $7.00 for a 22 oz. bomber. I've loved every minute of it, except the expense and the slight weight gain. Also, I'm down this year by about 1750 miles from last year. I plan on going out with a bang, knocking out some holiday and winter ales over the next two days. After that, cycling becomes more of a priority. Staying in shape is a bitch once you hit 40.
Happy New Year!El Caballito
Dec 30, 2002 4:11 PM
My resolutions are as follows:
1. Pass the msat(need it for my teaching credential)
2. ride my first century
3. stay at 180 lbs

Salud!
re: New Year's Resolutions?Matt Britter
Dec 30, 2002 5:06 PM
My only goal this year year is to more races than last year. Should not be to tough since I only did 5 last year. Since work and family is under control, I shooting for 10 crits/RR before my Birthday in March! Keep'n the fingers crossed.
-mb
Next year-5000 milestmotz
Dec 30, 2002 8:33 PM
For me this is a noble goal.

Another is to get under 190 lbs.,currently 245 lbs.
re: New Year's Resolutions?JFunk
Dec 30, 2002 10:13 PM
Goals:
Under 2.5 hous for Tour of the Tucson Mountains
under 4:45 for El Tour de Tucson
15 laps at 24 hours of the Old Pueblo
Get my wife pregnant(we've been trying for almost ayear)

(Not neccessarily in that order!)

BTW on the whole body fat thing, the most accurate way is to measure displacement/density, also know as the "underwater test". Fat fold calipers are notoriously inaccurate varying between 2-15% error. This is magnified on those with especially low percentages. The electrical impedence method those fancy bathroom scales use is better but still not great for those who are extrememly fit (most serious road cyclists). I remember reading somewhere that the US track pursuit team averaged 6% fat, and have seen reports of cyclists with lower percentages, but it is extremely lean. Most novice cyclists probably are around 8-12%. This is a healthy range for an active athletic person. Basically don't worry until you top 20% for men or 28% for women!

JFunk
re: New Year's Resolutions?Mike P
Dec 31, 2002 6:09 AM
I hope you all have a great new year.

My resolution this year. . . I have to get this eating thing under control. Ever since mid October I have been eating candy (chocolate and such), like a mad man. I do not know what started it and I can not control it. I'm not fat from it but I am hurting my climbing with it.

Anyway, back to the resolution:
1)I will stop eating sugar filled 5h!t. And that's a period at the end of that sentence. I felt healthier overall, and stronger on the hills, when I was around 145-150lbs; I'm 160ish now.

2)I plan to continue to improve my climbing. I figure if I can find some new hills to ride...I have already picked up topo maps of TN, GA and NC, and found some interesting rides.

3)I will ride more. I will be getting up an hour early, three days a week, just to spin on the rollers 40 - 60 minutes.

4)For some strange reason I have decided to attempt to properly file and sand a frame and have it finished. I started this morning and it's kind of fun.

Happy New Year All!!!
Mike
Resolutions? We don't need no stinking resolutions!manicoti
Dec 31, 2002 8:08 AM
They are more like goals that are related to cycling since I started getting serious about 5 weeks ago. I want to cat. up to 4 and place by the end of the year, ride 4000 miles, get down to 160 (from 200lbs), and generally be a bad mofo on the bike. I would like to come out of nowhere to scare people. I have never raced road before, but I am commited to doing well. I will live like a monk for awhile, except for the Playstation 2.
re: New Year's Resolutions?Polar
Dec 31, 2002 11:28 AM
better SAT score
accepted by Ivy league
lost 15 pounds
participate road/mtb race
mantain 20 mph for 4 hours