RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


3 frame options, choose one(13 posts)

3 frame options, choose oneslomo
Dec 26, 2002 8:46 PM
i. calfee luna-pro: carbon tubes, carbon lugs, $1299 (no fork but i would be re-using my alpha q sub 3 fork anyway). reportedly stiff, light (2.75lbs) and more resilient/better road feel than say a trek oclv but still deadens the road buzz (if that is possible). 10 year warranty and 5 year crash replacement deal .

ii. colnago ct1: titanium front triangle, rear carbon, force carbon fork, ~$1750. tons of positive reviews on RBR. all day comfort, legendary ride quality but a little heavier (3.25 lbs, not a huge deal) than the calfee. 1 year warranty and no crash replacement deal.

iii. giant TCR carbon: recent reviews on the board have been positive. doesnt have the all day comfort. light as hell and goes for around 1300 @my LBS (with fork). not sure about the warranty, maybe 2 year?

i'm leaning towards the calfee because of the overall value and uniqueness. the giant has the value but seems cookie cutter and i wonder about its durability. the colnago sounds like a super option but i would be paying more of a premium and i can't subtract the fork (waaaaaayy over priced force fork ~400 bucks!) the only bike i could test ride would be the giant. i havent found any calfees or colnagos that have been built up for testing.

currently i have a bianchi ev2 xl and a trek 5500. the bianchi fits me perfectly but it's no fun on chip seal surfaces and rides over 3hrs. i probably wouldnt be thinking about buying another frame if the trek fit me properly. the top tube is too long. the trek was comfy over irregular surfaces but just didn't feel right.

help a fella out , wouldja?

thx
Can't beat customB123
Dec 26, 2002 9:14 PM
A custom Calfee would be the best I'd say, or one of the three that best fits your dimensions. I'm a big fan of custom or near custom, a good fit goes a long way in making a bike comfortable for 2+ hr rides.

Calfee is also stateside with a great warranty policy. If you haven't cracked your bianchi yet, then I wouldn't worry about failure on the three you mentioned, all are top quality and strong. But its still something to consider.
re: 3 frame options, choose oneirregardless
Dec 26, 2002 9:19 PM
If you're going for the ride, the CT1 is the choice. I have one and it's the best ride out there, particularly stability on descents. I've ridden a clubmate's Calfee and, while it's a nice comfortable ride, doesn't feel as stable descending (he preferred the CT1 as well). It may be due to tthe Calfee's geometry, with a 7cm bb drop as opposed to 8 on Colnagos. The CT1 also has all day comfort and phenomenal feedback. If you're going for practicality, Calfee is the choice because of its warranty. For me it's all about the ride.
I vote for Calfee!gogene
Dec 26, 2002 9:44 PM
I've had 2 Calfees, a '94 CarbonFrames, which I sold to buy my current Tetra Pro, which I'm selling to buy a custom Calfee Tetra Pro. For me, Calfee is the ride!
re: 3 frame options, choose onemackgoo
Dec 26, 2002 10:42 PM
I would say one of the carbons, but you have the TREK. I have a Ti, although a nice bike I don't see it as a wonder material. I'll be looking at carbon this spring.
just a thought ..tarwheel
Dec 27, 2002 6:40 AM
It sounds like you are leaning toward the Colnago, all things being equal. Why not check out the prices at www.maestro-uk.com? Mike sells CT-1s for about $1500, I think, with the fork. I also am pretty sure he would sell you a frame without a fork, in any color scheme. He's a very nice guy and very good about responding to emails, and even calling long-distance to discuss. Lots of good feedback on this board and others.
just a thought ..slomo
Dec 27, 2002 10:17 AM
~$1700-$1800 (with recent exchange rates) was the quote i got from maestro + shipping and insurance. mike said he couldn't sell the frame without fork. he would downgrade the fork from force to flash but still is a waste of money.
re: 3 frame options, choose onegtx
Dec 27, 2002 8:40 AM
Would you fit well on the Giant? Hard to go wrong with any of them if the fit right, and that's pretty much guaranteed with the Calfee, which also has the best warranty (important with anything carbon in my opinion).

Did you see this?

http://www.mtbr.com/tradeshow/interbike2002/titus/productpage3.shtml
Calfee, but....Starliner
Dec 27, 2002 9:20 AM
.... the Luna Pro is Calfee's off-the-shelf frameset. Only the costlier Tetra Pro can be had with custom geometry. Also, if your steerer tube is 1-1/8", you won't be able to use your fork because, barring any recent spec change, the Luna Pro comes with only a 1" heattube.
re: 3 frame options, choose onemapei boy
Dec 27, 2002 11:00 AM
Don't underestimate the quality of the Colnago forks. Mr. Colnago knows what he's doing. Allow him to supply you with both jacket and trousers.
its not the quality...slomo
Dec 27, 2002 11:52 AM
...of the fork but its the price. 600 bucks for a colnago star fork compared to an alpha q sub 3 or reynolds ouzo pro for 300, not much room for "value"
3 frame options, different solutionJimP
Dec 27, 2002 12:33 PM
Have you looked at the Aegis frames? They are very comfortable on the longer rides. They also come with a warranty.

Jim
Calfee.... butSantaCruz
Dec 27, 2002 4:11 PM
You have chosen three frames which should all be exceptional rides. The choice can only be made after a good ride on each, where do you live that you can't get a test ride.

I'm a Calfee Tetra rider who is 100% satisfied.