RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


glueless patches(10 posts)

glueless patchesSnyder
Dec 26, 2002 2:23 PM
I used a glueless patch today, and it worked pretty good. Now I'm wondering if I should pull the tube out and replace it, or if the patch will be ok.

Does anyone have an opinion (foolish question on this forum!) Positive or negative

thanks
Solely in my opinion . . .retro
Dec 26, 2002 2:30 PM
Many, many riders use glueless patches and claim to have good luck with them. I tried them when they first came out, and my failure rate was at least 50 percent. Even when they worked, people said you should take them off and replace them with a "real" patch when you got home. Since the only time they save on the road is the minute or so it takes the glue to dry, I gave up on them.
FWIW, though, they've probably evolved since my early experiments. People in this forum seem to like Park better than others.
clueless patchesDougSloan
Dec 26, 2002 2:31 PM
You were lucky. I've never had one work even moderately well. Zinn (and the Art of Road Bike Maintenance) says to pull and replace upon arriving home. I agree.

Doug
Glueless/clueless patchesBreakfast
Dec 26, 2002 3:42 PM
Whenever someone starts one of these threads on glueless patches I wonder if the problems have anything to do with the preparation.

Is the tube get roughened up with sandpaper just like when using glue? It should be.

If the prep is done well it should work pretty good but I would still change it out later just for piece of mind.
re: glueless patchesPC
Dec 26, 2002 4:22 PM
I have two tubes with glueless patches on them with no problems, one is almost a year old. I use the second generation Park patches (PK-2, I think.) If I am fixing a flat at home I still use the traditional patches. I just don't see the reason to fix something that isn't broke.
glueless patches... Faster than replacing the tube??Snyder
Dec 26, 2002 4:57 PM
Thanks, I think I am going to let it be and see what happens...... In the name of science!!

The patches were Park GP-2.

BTW patching that tube was faster than replacing it.
No problems for me with Park glueless patchesDINOSAUR
Dec 26, 2002 5:56 PM
I seldom have flats. I've had good luck with the Park glueles patches. I don't repair my flats on the road, I carry two spare tubes and repair my punctured tubes when I get around to it. On the Park's- you have to really rough up the punctured area before applying the patch and you can't touch the sticky side. The problem I have is separating the patch in order to apply it as my finger nails are usually shot from working on my bike. You also have to apply hard pressure with the Park patch in order to get it to adhere, I use the blunt end of a tire iron until it completely disappears. The regular patches with glue work fine also, my problem is the glue drying up after I open the tube. Either way works. Also I found with the glue patches you have to let the glue completely dry before applying a patch or it won't stick.
I don't even own an old style patch kit. It's all in the prep.DERICK
Dec 26, 2002 9:48 PM
I only use glueless patches, even at home, and have never had one fail.I got tired of the glue always being dry when I really needed it. I have had tubes with 3 or 4 patches in different spots. I finally throw them away when I feel like they have too many patches in them but the patches never show any sign of failure.
I don't think people apply the glueless patches correctly. After the normal prep you have to pump the tube up to ALMOST the size it would be inside the tire. You want the patch to stretch just a bit when you pump up the tire.
If you apply one to a totaly deflated tube it will overstretch the patch. If the tube is too fat, the patch will wrinkle and leak when the tube is deflated to normal size.
If applied correctly a glueless patch should never fail. Oh yeah, Park are the best.
They don't last forever.Sintesi
Dec 27, 2002 5:25 AM
That's my experience. But they are good on the road because they take up no space in your pocket, are quick, easy and last for days or weeks.
re: glueless patchesmsmootsiemartin
Dec 27, 2002 2:59 PM
I've used both the glueless and the "old fashioned" ones. I am hitting .500 on the glueless and 1000 on the glue kind. I have also found that both will dry out over a season and you'll need to replace the kit you carry.