RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Opinion Seeker--How much for a real USPS team bike?(15 posts)

Opinion Seeker--How much for a real USPS team bike?teoteoteo
Dec 25, 2002 7:35 AM
Being an admitted bike junkie I bought one of Rubiera's 58 CM 2001 5500 team bikes directly from Trek. It is nearly perfect and built with Dura-Ace team issue stuff with big shimano logo's, deda newton stuff etc.

my question is should I ebay and what would I get? More than standard 5500. The bike has some obvious features like number plate holder etc that make it distinct.

The bike again is nearly pristine, all components perfect no scratches etc
re: Opinion Seeker--How much for a real USPS team bike?delco
Dec 25, 2002 8:24 AM
hey, how about some pics???
re: Opinion Seeker--How much for a real USPS team bike?teoteoteo
Dec 25, 2002 12:46 PM
I'll post if when I can....bike in Austin and I am in Houston trying to hide from in-laws in home office typing to you all.

Asked for new digi cam for Christmas but got lots of cool tools instead...downside will be lots of chores at home waiting
What makes it real?TJeanloz
Dec 25, 2002 9:04 AM
The issue of valuing a bike like this is that it has to be looked at as both a "collectable" and a bike. The problem here is that the things that make bikes valuable as "collectables" usually hurt their value as bikes. Your initial reaction that pristine, scratch-free componenet improve it value is only half right: they make the bike more valuable, but the collectable less. Why? Rubiera didn't log 10,000 miles on his bike and not scratch any of the components. So the components are clearly not original. The frame may have been repainted too. Most professionals abuse their equipment fairly heavily- they didn't pay for it, so they don't coddle it like the bike riding public does. And as you demonstrate, they also know that they won't be keeping their equipment when the season ends, so there's little incentive to keep it perfect.

I think it is worth a little bit more than a standard 5500, depending on what wheels are on it, what other parts are on it, etc. But I don't think the premium for Rubiera's bike would be that high. As a frameset, maybe 100-200 more than similar frames are going on Ebay, which is probably still less than retail. It is a well used bike, after all.
What makes it real?teoteoteo
Dec 25, 2002 12:36 PM
In terms of evaluating component wear and refininshing the bike I am perfectly capable. I have worked with OCLV's and Trek Product for many years. The team doesn't send back frames for repaint and this bike has been ridden but not destroyed...that was my point with the "pristine" evaluation.

The frame itself and components are all original and keep in mind that every rider is issued multiple bicycles. Also keep in mind the general public doesn't have a full-time staff of professional mechanics at their disposal.

This bike is identical to the bikes of Armstrong which are often in my shop. The unique things about it are not something that can be faked. Shimano XT 11/8 "Threadless" headset for example...they are actually threaded headsets specially modified by USPS to work. The number plate bracket is another feature. Hutchinson and Sapim decals also. Along with the fact that the bike was sold directly to me by Trek after discussing it's lineage (sp?). These bikes are alway sold used with "as is" clause.

As for the wheels they are Mavic reflex tubies with hugi hubs. All original decals are gone on them except Sapim who is spoke sponsor. They are a few grams heavier than my ksyriums. If i sold it would more be an offer with original wheels PLUS a more usable everyday wheelset.

I asked for opinions but more on the Rubiera factor than anything else.
What makes it real?TJeanloz
Dec 26, 2002 5:54 AM
I'm relatively familiar with what USPS bikes go through, having lived with a member of the team for some time, and I know what premium he was(n't) able to command for his 'used' bikes. I don't think Rubiera adds a whole lot of value to the frame. Since Rubiera isn't a star, it's really just a unique used bike - and I'd say that the provenance almost makes up for the use, making it worth a little bit less than a new 5500.
What makes it real?teoteoteo
Dec 26, 2002 8:01 AM
My guess was that as ebay offer it may draw okay. My investment was minimal and even if I kept for 2-3 years and ride I still would come out even. Ruby is not a huge draw but better than nothing. My hope was to use profit and my shop discount to maybe buy something else nice and new.
re: Opinion Seeker--How much for a real USPS team bike?Fez
Dec 25, 2002 9:48 AM
How did you buy this directly from Trek?

I heard Trek auctioned some USPS bikes, but I thought they were mainly Lance's bikes.
re: Opinion Seeker--How much for a real USPS team bike?teoteoteo
Dec 25, 2002 12:42 PM
These were offered to dealers a few weeks back and I bought because it fit and was a smashing good deal. The auction was a simple call in a bid and only went two days.

No bikes of LA's were in this lot. Heras, Julian Dean, Rubiera.
re: Opinion Seeker--How much for a real USPS team bike?raptorUW
Dec 25, 2002 10:16 AM
as the other posters stated, there's a balance to be struck between a collectible and a regular bike.

I'd say this one is worth more as a regular bike than it is as a collectible. that's certainly the position from which i looked at it. from what i heard before these went to auction, the parts are in brand-new condition...nice one-off wheels (32 hole rolf tubbies, iirc?)

if you wanted to sell it, i'd say $2200-$2500 would be a good place to start. from what i've seen, rbr classifieds usually sit near cost for new stuff, somewhere between cost & pro-deal for 2-3 year old bikes & somewhere below that for old stuff...ebay is a sellers' dream...used stuff regularly goes for maybe 10 or 20% off retail there...although the market there is style & salesmanship, not substance...
re: Picsteoteoteo
Dec 26, 2002 7:37 AM
Here are photo's for those that asked. The res is not so good on my borrowed shop camera but the price was right.
re: Picsteoteoteo
Dec 26, 2002 7:40 AM
Front view..cables a bit long as orig stem was removed for test ride but still in my posession
re: Picsteoteoteo
Dec 26, 2002 7:41 AM
re: Picsteoteoteo
Dec 26, 2002 7:42 AM
The last pic
re: Wheels in pics mine came with nice Tubulars(eom)teoteoteo
Dec 26, 2002 7:57 AM