RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Need a small digital camera.. what are you all using?(11 posts)

Need a small digital camera.. what are you all using?Gall
Dec 22, 2002 1:49 PM
Hello again,

I m in the market for a small digital camera to take along on rides. I want something small enough to fit into a jersey pocket but good enough to take some quality pictures.

Thanks for your help!
Canon PowerShot S300MB1
Dec 22, 2002 1:59 PM
It is a lot better than needed to take cycling pix and posting on the net.

Although it is small enough to fit in a jersey pocket I wouldn't too much sweat. Find someplace else to carry it or keep it in a plastic bag.
Olympus D-510 Zoomastrobiker
Dec 22, 2002 2:45 PM
Been very happy with it. Ditto on the sweat issue... I too was planning to put it in my jersey pocket, but I hadn't thought about sweat getting all over the LCD screen on the back or the lens. I got a cheapo aftermarket camera pouch with a velcro flap and just hang it on the handlebar - works great to pull out and shoot on the run.
Olympus D-520 zoomTig
Dec 22, 2002 7:16 PM
Small, good optical zoom (don't waste your time with digital zooms), 2 megapixel is plenty good for a travel camera (the 3 megapixel is bigger in size). All in all, it is an excellent camera, and the software is solid. I shopped for a month before settling on it and bought it from an eBay store for a much better price than the local stores had it.

Great for outdoors and ride shots.

Excellent macro capabilities (taken today).

It helped me sell a few choice parts on eBay.
Minolta dimage/xDuane Gran
Dec 22, 2002 7:17 PM
I'm really happy with the Minolta dimage/x. It is a 2 megapixel camera (which is average), but it is thin & light and easily fits into the jersey pocket. It doesn't come with a camera case, but the Minolta "casual case" is perfect for bike use and costs about $10 USD.
Minolta dimage/xnewhouse
Dec 22, 2002 9:18 PM
i've also got the dimage/x and it's great. the size is its greatest feature (it'll easily fit in a jersey pocket) and it's easy to use. you can get them fairly cheap and mine fits in a palm pilot case (it also fits in a mp3 player case).
Canon S230 Digital ElphB2
Dec 23, 2002 10:32 AM
Just purchased this camera about six weeks ago. If you've never seen the Canon Digital Elph series, check it out; they're very compact. This camera is 3.2 Megapixel and I believe the smallest 3.2 Megapixel out there?? Nice array of manual features. Took a totally awsome 300 degree panorama from the top Mt Dickerman in the N Cascades using the photostitch option.

On the down side, the optical zoom is only 2x. The LCD screen on the back is exposed so I wouldn't carry it around without a case.

Picked it up new with full warranty on Ebay for $348. So far I am very satisfied.

Bryan
Canon PowerShot S30Spinarooni
Dec 23, 2002 11:35 AM
3.2 megapixal. Price recently went down to $450
Only complaints are the proprietary battery and lack of battery life meter.

This shot was taken by my brother yesterday.
http://web1.greatbasin.net/~ajones/persfiles/800x600_1.jpg
Not fair - you've got snow (nm)B2
Dec 23, 2002 11:59 AM
Minolta Dimage Xi or Canon Powershot s230fbg111
Dec 24, 2002 10:27 AM
I've been shopping for one as well, and have narrowed it down to these two. Both are 3+ megapixel cameras, and the smallest with the best features in their class. The Minolta has an impressive 5.7 – 17.1mm (35mm equivalent: 37-111mm) optical zoom lense built into the body, similar to the way mirror-based telescopes work. The Canon's zoom is 35-70mm equivalent. The Canon's MSRP is ~$400 while the Minolta MSRP is ~$500, although you can find better deals on them here:

http://tomshardware.bizrate.com/marketplace/category/cat_front.xpml?cat_id=402&de_id=300
http://www.pricescan.com/digiphoto/08010100.asp

Here are their respective websites:

http://www.minoltausa.com/eprise/main/MinoltaUSA/MUSAContent/CPG/CPGProducts?NS=true&cname=dig&fname=dig_ps&Mname=DiMAGE_Xi&mDetail=Introduction
http://www.powershot.com/powershot2/s230/index.html

And here is a nice review of both, plus a models from Sony, Toshiba, and Casio, at Tom's Hardware Guide:

http://www.tomshardware.com/video/20021224/index.html

The basic conclusion was that the Canon has better colors than the Minolta, but the Minolta has better zoom capability.

I'd love to hear more from owners of these cameras. I'm especially interested in any differences in their memory cards' performance. The Minolta uses newer technology SD and MM memory cards, while the Canon uses older (and larger) Compact Flash cards. A 256MB SD card goes for about $160, while a 24X 256MB Compact Flash card goes for about $180. However, it's difficult to compare their relative data transfer speeds, and other performance aspects. Anyone have any opinion on the storage mediums used by these cameras?

For info and reviews on the different memory formats:

http://tomshardware.bizrate.com/marketplace/category/cat_front.xpml?cat_id=465&de_id=300
More good reviews:fbg111
Dec 25, 2002 3:02 AM
Canon s230:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canondigitalixus330/

Canon s330:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canondigitalixus330/

Minolta Dimage Xi:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/specs/Minolta/minolta_dimagexi.asp