RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What's the average speed most of you ride?(22 posts)

What's the average speed most of you ride?skippy pinfish
Dec 18, 2002 6:10 PM
What's the average speed most of you ride when by your self and if I ride at 21mph alone, what speed could I maintain in a group ride? Just curious...... Thanks SKIPPY
re: What's the average speed most of you ride?seyboro
Dec 18, 2002 7:04 PM
21 by yourself is a pretty good clip. I'm sure you could hang with most club rides.
re: What's the average speed most of you ride?MPH74
Dec 18, 2002 7:31 PM
21 is very good. depends how long you're maintaining the 21 for. i find that most grp rides avg. 16-19. i have also noticed that cat 5 road races about 50 miles in length avg. 23 mph while cat. 4 road races of about 60 miles average about 24-25 mph. i'm in austin so it's a bit hilly over here...
re: What's the average speed most of you ride?Johnny Sako
Dec 18, 2002 7:37 PM
When I ride on my own I ride about 1 Million miles per hour, when I ride in a group I ride about 2 Million miles per hour except when the guy in front of me is farting in my face. I hate that shit.
heh, (nm)bm
Dec 18, 2002 11:52 PM
Forget about it, SkippyUncle Tim
Dec 19, 2002 6:16 AM
You can't keep up with me.

I normally hold about 25mph, and that's uphill, against the wind, and dragging along a trailer packed with lead.

Does that answer your question?
hey uncle timMJ
Dec 19, 2002 7:51 AM
MJ "How car drivers view us." 12/10/02 7:38am
20-21mphtheeatkins
Dec 19, 2002 6:18 AM
When I'm by myself, I like to try and maintain 20-21mph. Last summer I was with a group ride. I went out with the "fast"
group and did 28mph for over 2 miles. Not bad for an old fart of 50!
20-21mph53T
Dec 19, 2002 6:55 AM
It must suck living where there are no hills.
too many factorsDuane Gran
Dec 19, 2002 8:20 AM
Don't expect to glean much useful information from your question. A few hills make a dramatic difference in average speed. Other factors are wind and traffic, but the biggest factor may be the different ways that people calculate average speed. I've found that most people guestimate it from a common speed they see while riding, not from the calcuated speed/time.

It is natural to seek a benchmark or comparison. Nothing is wrong with that, but the question requires so much qualification that I doubt you'll get much insight from the answers.
including the fudge factor.OldEdScott
Dec 19, 2002 9:16 AM
Would never accuse any particular individual on this board of exaggerating speed, mileage etc. Let's just say 98 percent do, leaving plenty of room for you -- you know who you are -- if you're about to leap up and insist that your claim of '150 miles at an average speed of 28 miles per hour' is absolutely God's honest truth.

This board is fantastic in many respects, but it's at its lamest when people talk about average speed. (Wait till you read the fishing-for-praise post that pops up once a month or so that goes something like: "I just got back into road riding. Yesterday, I went for my first ride in ten years. It was only 60 miles, and I only averagaed 25 miles per hour. I think I could have done better except for the headwind and the fact that I haven't ridden in ten years. How bad am I? Will I ever be a cyclist again?")

If you're averaging 16 mph or better over varied terrain (that means some hills thrown in), you're doing just fine.
That's the best response I've read to this off-asked questionPaulCL
Dec 19, 2002 10:09 AM
I hate this question. It has no meaning. Its' only affect is to make some feel slow or point out others as clueless or exaggerating.

So, I'll give you my answer: I don't know. How's that? On a century last year - flat century with 3 other guys, we did it in under 4 1/2 hours or around 23mph average. On the other hand, I often ride a solo 70 mile hilly, hilly, ride that I feel lucky if I average 17mph stops included. In the early AM of weekdays, I'll ride a rolling 30 mile stretch at about a 20mph average solo. So, which one is my average speed??

Go have fun. Disregard the numbers. Try to hang with the fast guys for as long as possible.
I'll second thatmickey-mac
Dec 19, 2002 10:15 AM
On my weekday morning solo rides, I do 26-32 miles at 18.5 to 20 mph in morning rush hour traffic. On the weekends, I do solo rides of 40 to 80 miles on rolling hills with some decent climbs at 17 to 19 mph. Apparently, all the people on this board who average 21-25 mph on all their solo rides don't live in my area because I'm not passed all that often.
including the fudge factor.UofAracer
Dec 19, 2002 11:39 AM
Same way with mileage claims.
Q-"How many miles did you ride this year?"

A-"I got in 33,000. Pretty lame, but I had to take a break after the wife had triplets and I made partner at the law firm. I might be up to 40k if you include the 6 hr roller rides and the 50-mile commutes to work at Mt. Fuji. Thank goodness for Conti Super Sonic tires. One set lasted me all year with only one flat (ran over a Mongolian war mace)"
re: What's the average speed most of you ride?The Human G-Nome
Dec 19, 2002 9:13 AM
if i can averge over 18mph (and sometimes just over 17 according to my cyclocomputer), then i know i'm riding very hard. of course, i'm talking about PCH and northbay san francisco.

all depends on the terrain.
How fast is the group?Humma Hah
Dec 19, 2002 11:02 AM
Riding with a skilled group of powerful riders, willing to ride at whatever pace you can handle, you might pick up 2-4 mph riding in a paceline with them.

Riding with a group of rec riders out for a nice ride, bet on losing 3-6 mph.

On a day-long ride, I average 12-14 mph typically, have been known to do 20+ miles at 16 mph, on the singlespeed cruiser.
I forgot to mention the gender effect ...Humma Hah
Dec 19, 2002 11:06 AM
If you're a guy, and happen to be in a group ride with an attractive young lady who's also faster than you, THAT's when you find out how fast you can ride! Not wanting to be seen as a weenie by a young lady to make you dig deep! Add 2 mph on top of the paceline aerodynamics.
60MPH average...ColnagoFE
Dec 19, 2002 12:51 PM
...down a big hill. Average speed is largely meaningless unless you're riding the same course in the same conditions.
On flats? Hills? Fixed gear? SS?look271
Dec 19, 2002 6:00 PM
Too many variables. Like comparing an orange to say, a Rotweiler.
re: What's the average speed most of you ride?Starliner
Dec 19, 2002 7:49 PM
My odo shows 135 miles on it since I last zeroed it out, avg speed @ 16.2 mph. That includes solo 70 miler with about 5000 ft of climbing, with the remaing 65 miles being a mix of city/country spinning.
Also depends on the group compositionSingleThreaded
Dec 20, 2002 4:47 AM
I read quite a few posts that say if your normal solo rides are at 21 mph than you should have no problem hanging with the group rides at 24-25 mph. That's not always the case.

My solo rides (10-50 miles) always end around 19.5 - 21 mph average (coastal RI, mainly flat). Only race this summer was the bike leg of half-iron man (56 miles) at 21 mph.

However, at 235lbs, I generally descend much faster, cruise on flats easier, but climb like a diesel. Problem is drafting does not always offset the effects of gravity. You get in a fast group cruising on flats at 25-29 mph, well that's fine, but then when the group starts hitting inclines and the speed drops back to 23-26. Suddenly, the light and moderate weight riders are exerting themselves just a bit. The heavier riders go into survival mode. If you lose the group, then you've got to TT at 25-28 to get back with them. How long can you maintain that speed alone while others are drafting rather effortlessly?

My point is, your speed improvement depends on your ability to handle the hardest that a particular group can throw at you. You may go faster longer with a group that is just moderately faster than you, rather than with a group that is much faster than you.
Also depends on the group compositionSingleThreaded
Dec 20, 2002 4:49 AM
I read quite a few posts that say if your normal solo rides are at 21 mph than you should have no problem hanging with the group rides at 24-25 mph. That's not always the case.

My solo rides (10-50 miles) always end around 19.5 - 21 mph average, mostly 21 (coastal RI, mainly flat). Only race this summer was the bike leg of half-iron man (56 miles) at 21 mph.

However, at 235lbs, I generally descend much faster, cruise on flats easier, but climb like a diesel. Problem is drafting does not always offset the effects of gravity. You get in a fast group cruising on flats at 25-29 mph, well that's fine, but then when the group starts hitting inclines and the speed drops back to 23-26. Suddenly, the light and moderate weight riders are exerting themselves just a bit. The heavier riders go into survival mode. If you lose the group, then you've got to TT at 25-28 to get back with them. How long can you maintain that speed alone while others are drafting rather effortlessly?

My point is, your speed improvement depends on your ability to handle the hardest that a particular group can throw at you. You may go faster longer with a group that is just moderately faster than you, rather than with a group that is much faster than you.