RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Serotta Legend Ti(19 posts)

Serotta Legend Ticincy1
Dec 18, 2002 9:35 AM
I'm going to spring for a custom Ti frame in January. My wife had a very good experience with her Seven. I'm a very tough fit just like she was so I'm going all the way custom. I want to try a Serotta but I haven't read anything that says they customize ride characteristics as well as size (like Seven does). Can any of you owners of these bikes shed some light on this? I'm 200lbs and want the frame to exhibit a good compromise between BB stiffness and shock absorbancy.
re: Serotta Legend TiLen J
Dec 18, 2002 10:08 AM
They do customize ride characteristics & do have a Chainstay tube set for the "Hefty" bunch. I was going to suggest you post this on the Serotta forum, but I see you have.

BTW, I just ordered a custom Legend TI, I pick it up this w/e. I'll let you know my impressions.

Len
re: Serotta Legend Ticincy1
Dec 18, 2002 10:21 AM
Thanks for the info. I'd be interested to hear your impressions. Also your choice of wheelset.

EG
Built my own wheels.Len J
Dec 18, 2002 11:07 AM
32 spoke Open Pros laced to Dura ace hubs. 2 cross non drive side rear, 3 cross drive side, 14/15 DB spokes, 2 cross front with 15/16 DB spokes in front. I weigh 160 lbs. These wheels are light, strong, comfortable and bullet proof, and they cost me less than $300 in parts.

I just couldn't see the benefit in spending $500+ or more in a high zoot wheel set.

BTW, I spec'd my Legend for comfortable riding of long distances 100 mile plus.

Len
Customized ridejtolleson
Dec 18, 2002 10:17 AM
some folks are more knowledgable about this than I, but many claim the touting of "customized ride quality" (like where Seven has you check a box on a scale) is a bunch of hooey.

Is the "customized" ride of a Seven or Serotta (where we all ask for the same combination of responsiveness and compliance) really different that a well-built production ti bike like a Vortex or Tuscany? Even I am not convinced. The biggest factor in ride quality to me is the right fork once you have appropriate drive train rigidity.

Seven and Serotta make beautiful high quality bikes with custom GEOMETRY for those of us that need it, but some of the claims about a uniquely different ride according to which box you check... well ... I'm not convinced.

Anyone else?
I test rode.Len J
Dec 18, 2002 10:48 AM
My LBS had a Legend Ti that he had built up for a 225 lb Masher, and he had the one he had built up for himself (He's 145 lbs and a spinner). He happened to have the customer bike in the shop being serviced when I went for my test ride. I rode both of them (Granted in a parking lot) one after the other, same fork, same wheels and the difference in stiffness and ride were pronounced, even over a short 1/2 mile. I would say that these two rides were tuned.

Len
2 Different Questions. Or maybe a question of degree.djg
Dec 18, 2002 11:38 AM
I think everyone recognizes that there are standard moves available to beef up or slim down the frame--say, by increasing the diameter (or idealized diameter) of the downtube or the chain stays, etc. So I don't think there's a question about whether they can take into account whether the rider is big or small, or whether the rider wants a monster stiff sprint machine, etc. I seem to recall a pro-cycling review (R. Millar?) where the reviewer asked for a really stiff Seven, something along the lines of a fat-tubbed AL frame, and the manufacturer delivered. But that's not the same as "tuning" a ride--there's a suggestion of making indefinitely fine adjustments in ride quality to deliver exactly what a rider wants, for any rider. That supposes not only many gradations of adjustment (I guess Seven asks for 1-10 indicators, but on several vectors, and with other input as well)--perhaps more than a builder can intelligently manipulate--but also a common understanding of exactly what the rider has in mind, and exactly how the rider will perceive a given adjustment (a common language, if you will, with both syntax and semantics, for all these adjustments). And that's what many people find implausible. I'm one of those people.

That doesn't mean that you cannot get a great bike out of Seven (or any other particular co.). That doesn't mean that they won't deliver just what you happen to be looking for. That just means that some of the hype about fine tuning a ride is just that--hype or puffery.
Got it now. nmLen J
Dec 18, 2002 11:53 AM
AgreeNessism
Dec 18, 2002 11:26 AM
If a frame is built to be stiff in the bottombracket area it will ride stiff as well. I think the flared tubing that Serotta uses, where the diameter of the tube increases at the bottom bracket, does has a influence on bottombracket stiffness, but not to the extent that some tout.

I say, size the tubes to give the desired bottombracket stiffness first, then pick the fork and tires to give the ride quality desired.

Ed
Disagree..koala
Dec 18, 2002 12:12 PM
A frame can be stiff in the bottom bracket and be very comfortable. I have one. Its foco steel without the mega downtube . I am sure there are others who can attest to a stiff bottom bracket as well as comfort from their frames.
Disagree..jtolleson
Dec 18, 2002 2:53 PM
Oh, I'd definitely agree with that. I think my Seven is very stiff in the drive train but has some of that good ti compliance. I'm just not sure that it has felt any more tuned to the boxes I checked on the order form than any other well crafted ti bike with appropriate rigidity.

I still attribute most of the comfort to saddle, tire, and fork choices, IMHO (of course!). Unlike Len, I've never had a true side-by-side comparison of otherwise identical frames, though.
BTW, jtolleson.....koala
Dec 18, 2002 6:49 PM
Who else did you consider besides Seven and what made you go with them? What else could you share about any other builder you considered? I am fact finding for my next frame purchase in ti. Thanks...
BTW, jtolleson.....jtolleson
Dec 19, 2002 6:59 AM
I shopped Serotta and Independent Fabrications. I knew I wanted paint having been on a Litespeed for a while. I also knew I needed custom geometry. So, even though Moots and Merlin make great bikes, the paint and fit service I wanted was more easily had with Seven, Serotta, or IF.

I started out ordering an IF Crown Jewel Ti but after some ball dropping on their part (six weeks after I handed them my $1000 deposit they still hadn't even started my bike due to a communication breakdown between them and my LBS) I made a switch.

Frankly, picking Seven was probably driven by the fact that the best bike shop in Colorado, IMO, is Excel Sports and they are a Seven dealer. I don't think you can go wrong with any of the companies I've listed here though.
Thank You..n.m.koala
Dec 19, 2002 7:52 PM
Seven or Serottabsdc
Dec 18, 2002 10:27 AM
I've been shopping for a custom Ti as well. I keep ending back at Seven simply because they have a good price. A Seven Axiom is about $500 cheaper than a Serotta Legend. I think they both could a produce finely tuned custom bike.
What is the price difference if you add paint to the seven? nmLen J
Dec 18, 2002 10:49 AM
$375 as I recalljtolleson
Dec 18, 2002 11:05 AM
so long as you don't need fancy artwork. I got a two tone metallic fade and I think it was either $350 or $375
So....Len J
Dec 18, 2002 11:12 AM
the net difference in price (if you want paint) is &125 dollars.

My LBS quoted me the Seven Price first (Which was initially less than the Serotta) and then matched that price for a Legend.

Two great bikes, I don't think you can go wrong with either, as long as :

1.) You can afford them (& think a bike is worth this kind of money)

2.) You know & spec it to your intended use

3.) You are fit properly

Ride them, look at them & buy the one that speaks to you.

Len
re: Serotta Legend TiMutual
Dec 18, 2002 2:08 PM
I have owned on Serotta Legend Ti, sold it, and just bought another one... Both have been stock frames. I have found them to be very comfortable bikes. Relative to my other bikes I found them to be a bit flexy(Klein Q-Pro, Max tubed Concorde and TCR). The flex was not a big deal, just noticed due to the stiffness of my other bikes.