RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What defines a "Hot Topic"?(11 posts)

What defines a "Hot Topic"?Col1
Dec 17, 2002 10:51 PM
Just wondering how the hot topics are chosen. Is their a moderator for this site that chooses them or are they based on views and responses etc? Another thing I've noticed is that as soon as you have posted a topic their is already 1 view. Is that your own view from posting the topic or has a moderator already checked your post?
Gregg, our faithful site managers chooses the Hot Topics.Scot_Gore
Dec 18, 2002 4:45 AM
I believe the initial one view is your own post. Posts go up and are available as soon as you click OK, there's no time for Gregg or anyone else to review.

Also, I've seen posts pulled by RBR, after I'd looked at em and said "that won't last long once Gregg gets to work". Just ask, Spirito :)

HTH
Scot
Any ride report from MB1no excuses
Dec 18, 2002 7:33 AM
NM
It DOES seem like ride reports areOldEdScott
Dec 18, 2002 7:44 AM
the only 'hot topics' these days. Which is a little weird, since ride reports don't really generate much 'hot' discussion, or any real discussion at all.
I have nothing to do with it.MB1
Dec 18, 2002 8:26 AM
I speculate that it is to draw new viewers attention to the site and what gregg hopes are posts that will keep them returning.

Which means flame wars and troll fests will not often be hot topics.

YMMV
I think....Len J
Dec 18, 2002 7:46 AM
that Gregg does it based on highest number of views. I also think that it is not automatic & some days he gets busy.

Len
Everyone is correct-a-mundo!gregg
Dec 18, 2002 8:58 AM
I should probably just rename them "Ride Reports" and others "Hot Topics". I used to pick more non-ride report Hot Topics, but it seems like a lot of the Hot Topics got out of hand more and more. I know I'm always safe picking a good ride report, and (like MB1 said), I think it will catch people's attention and have them return to the site.

And, as Len J stated, sometimes I am just too overwhelmed to keep as up-to-date as I probably should. Which also means I can't keep as close an eye on the Hot Topics as I would like. Doesn't take much for a Hot topic to get too hot! (and other topics I wouldn't touch with a virtual 10 foot pole!)

Fortunately for me, the RBR regulars do a pretty good job of keeping things in order, and letting me know when things get out of hand. Thank you all!

-gregg
gkato@roadbikereview.com
that said, just made some changes to the board (nm)gregg
Dec 18, 2002 9:20 AM
If you're that busy....Frith
Dec 18, 2002 11:25 AM
And you need another web programmer... i might be able to help you out when my contract ends at the end of january.
That said i should warn you. i spend alot of time at work reading rbr posts :)
actually, I'll take you up on that offer!gregg
Dec 18, 2002 2:36 PM
Frith,

I appreciate the offer. And in fact, I DO need some help. It's not glorious, but it's the number one priority on our site (heck, its our name). It's not programming either.

What I need help with is adding new products to our site for review. We have a web based tool that we use to add the product info.

If this sounds like something you'd be interested in helping out with, please let me know via email (gkato@roadbikereview.com). I don't have funds to pay you, only some small swag items.
Or, if this project doesn't sound interesting, I can use some HTML help keeping the Hotlink section of MTBR current.
Either way, LMK.

Thanks,

-gregg
i'd be happy to help out...Frith
Dec 19, 2002 10:58 AM
once i'm unemployed...beats watching soaps and eating bon bons (that is what unemployed people do right?)
i've got your e-address on file now so you can expect a message sometime late jan.