RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


cycling books(12 posts)

cycling bookshank
Dec 16, 2002 3:10 PM
I need a new book to read. One that might inspire. I have already read; Yellow Fever, Yellow Jersey, Its Not About The Bike and The Rider.
re: cycling booksbent_spoke
Dec 16, 2002 4:17 PM
I've got Tour de France/Tour de Force which was pretty good, especially if you enjoy the TDF.

Major Taylor by Andrew Ritchie is outstanding book on the life, time & challenges of Major Taylor who was a black bike racing champion/sensation around 1900. You cann't go wrong with this one.
try these...seyboro
Dec 16, 2002 5:26 PM
1. Bobke-A ride on the wild side, by Bob Roll
2. Northwind in your spokes, Hans Blickensdörfer
3. World of cycling, John Wilcockson
4. The quotable Cyclist, edited by Bill Strickland
All four make good reads.
what were yellow fever, yellow jersey about? . . i'm interestedbm
Dec 16, 2002 6:36 PM
Yellow Fever = 1998 TDF doping (nm)PseuZQ
Dec 16, 2002 10:47 PM
re: cycling booksbrian n
Dec 16, 2002 7:21 PM
there is a book on the velopress webpage about the 1949 giro d'italia and the struggle between coppi and bartali which was a collection of the daily articles from italian newspapers. that was a very interesting read if for nothing more than the flowing and sweeping writing styles of the italian sportswriters. _The Giro d'Italia Copi vs. Bartali at the 1949 Tour of Italy_ was the exact title.

I also enjoyed _Off to the Races_, a collection of articles written over the years By Samuel Abt. quite a good bunch of stories about everything from the classics to the tours to quirky stories about sport that could only arise in cycling.

Scott Parr's _Tales From the Toolbox_ is a good collection of stories from the professional mechanic's persepective.

Paul Kimmage's _Rough Ride_ is an interesting look into racing and doping during the 1980's. A good "I told you so" book in light of the Festina Affair and all the fall out that we still feel.

I highly recommend any book by John Fante or _Hunger_ by Knut Hamsun for non-cycling reads...

-Brian
The Giro Book --Gregory Taylor
Dec 17, 2002 5:12 AM
...is an interesting read. The author, Dino Buzzati (I think I've got the name right) was a poet that didn't know squat about bike racing. He was hired by a newspaper to cover the race as an experiment. The book is a series of newspaper columns (interspersed with pieces that were done by regular sports reporters) that he wrote as he followed the race. They do a good jub capturing the feel of post-war Italy. One of his pieces evokes the ghosts of fallen American and German soldiers that haunt the ruins of Monte Cassino, site of a fierce battle during WWII. Really well done. The coverage of the race is done in that wonderfully overblown style that would make walking to the corner for a pack of cigarettes seem epic.
1) Metal Cowboy 2)Cold Beer & Crocodiles.PseuZQ
Dec 16, 2002 10:44 PM
The first is by Joe Kurmaskie (had a column in Bicycling for awhile, too) and is a series of touring vignettes.

The latter is by Roff Smith, and is about an American reporter in Australia who rides around it.

Kurmaskie's a bikey and it shoes. Smith is a guy who wanted to get away and just happened to pick a bike -- almost grudgingly it seems sometimes -- to do it, IMHO.
Cold Beer And Crocodiles - A buddy of mine was the editorGregory Taylor
Dec 17, 2002 4:59 AM
Good book, by the way.

Other good reads --

Major Taylor -- Andrew Ritchie

A Social History of the Bicycle -- R. Smith (Out of print, but check your local library)

Three Men On The Bummel -- Jerome K. Jerome (A killer -- written in the early 20th Century, it is the story of three British Gentlemen on a bicycle tour through the Kaiser's Germany. Pre-WWI, it has interesting social commentary along with the hilarity)
Here's a Couple --Gregory Taylor
Dec 17, 2002 5:34 AM
For cycling and social awareness

"The Immortal Class" by Travis Cully. He's a playwrite who took a gig as a bike messenger in Chicago to make ends meet. The book goes in a lot of different directions -- you get a peek into the brotherhood/sisterhood of bike messengers, a lot about bike activism and Critical Mass rides (I part company with him on that one...), and a bit about making ends meet as an artist. He's very thoughtful and articulate, and his discussions about the impact that automobiles have had upon how cities have developed in America are especially well done. Not everyone will agree with his point of view or social agenda, but "Immortal Class" is a really good read, and puts out a lot of ideas that we should be talking about when we bemoan unreal traffic and the decay of our cities.

Racing

Eddy Merckx -- by some Belgian Dude with a name that has very few vowels. Published by VeloPress. Great read, good photos. About the best book out there on "The Cannibal". You can't read it and not want to go out and drop your riding buddies....

Fun

Three Men on the Bummel -- Jerome K. Jerome: Jerome is one of those wonderfully droll English humorists, along the lines of P.G. Wodehouse, that just crack me up. This book was written at the turn of the 20th Century, and features three hapless British Gentlemen on a bicycle tour through the Kaiser's Germany. Hilarious.
French Revolutions by Tim Moorems
Dec 17, 2002 6:29 AM
This is a humorous account of an amateur's riding the course of the Tour de France. It may not "inspire," but it is fun. I also second the recommendations of the book about the 1949 Giro and Immortal Class by Travis Cully.
I didn't like French RevolutionsPsalm 147-10_11
Dec 17, 2002 11:49 AM
Walking up the climbs and taking cabs around the mountains... c'mon. For hilarity, try a Walk in the Woods, by Bill Bryson. I think this was the type of humor Moore was trying to achieve.

The Rider is a must read. I actually borrowed it from somebody on the forum. We swapped books for a month or two. I got the Rider, he got Boobke.