RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Soooo ..... i got a new ride - anybody wanna Merckx for Xmas(15 posts)

Soooo ..... i got a new ride - anybody wanna Merckx for XmasSpirito
Dec 13, 2002 11:51 AM
thought to offer the merckx here before listing on ebay ...

53 x 54.5 c-c (73.5 seat) - frame & fork only. will send gregg & co a seasons greetings card with a couple of $'s for spamming here. email for details and specs. low miles and hard to spot its used. blah, blah, blah ....$500 shipped and insured within the 48 states. i love it but its too small - it will be under your tree in time for x-mas.

dupe@mac.com

Spirito "postcards from a man in love ....." 8/15/02 10:27pm

the new ride is inheriting the parts off the merckx and its a nice frame built by an italian family. both of which are pictured below.

ciao
well ... I'm gonna have a very Merckxi Christmas, myselftarwheel
Dec 13, 2002 12:05 PM
I finally bit the bullet and ordered the Merckx Corsa 0.1 frame from Cycles Bikyle that you told me about. Kyle is a super nice guy and spent quite a bit of time analyzing my size for fit, so I decided to buy from him. It should arrive in time to have built up by Christmas.

Oh yeah, excuse my ignorance, but what kind of new frame did you buy? Is that a De Rosa?
Congrats......that's a sweet looking ride. I've heard nothing..ATLien
Dec 13, 2002 12:22 PM
but good reviews on the Corsa! I'm still giddy every chance I get to ride my most recent acquisition.

I hope every Christmas is this good!!
There ya go...No_sprint
Dec 13, 2002 12:31 PM
I was going to write that if it's a TeamSC 52, you bet I want a Mercx for Christmas.
congrats!velocity
Dec 13, 2002 12:31 PM
Cool looking. Know you were looking for one for a while. You'll have to post a pic once you've built it up!
cool ... i hope you enjoy, happy Merckx-mas ;-) NmSpirito
Dec 13, 2002 12:39 PM
SCORE!!!! WELL, IT'S ABOUT TIME! congrats, TW (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Dec 13, 2002 1:29 PM
don't think of it as biting the bullet...merckx56
Dec 13, 2002 1:46 PM
think of it as joining an elite club. Not everyone has a Merckx, nor should they! I have a Corsa 0.1 and love it. It was my primary/race bike for many years and now serves as my fixed gear. It's not the lightest arrow in the quiver, but is the best riding one! I will own two makes of bicycles for the rest of my days, Merckx and Look, in that order!
re: cycles BiKyleSpirito
Dec 13, 2002 2:02 PM
ive never ordered a thing from them but i remember my phone conversation with them and came away thinking they were super helpful, knowledgable and the real deal bike shop.

when he mentioned the fair shipping cost, gratis frame alignment check and that they would face and prep the frame with a weigle framesaver treatment i was almost in disbeleif as i didn't think anybody dealt that way anymore.

good for you and for them.

ciao
re: cycles BiKylebianchi boy
Dec 13, 2002 5:36 PM
When I first talked to Kyle about the frame, he didn't try to sell it to me but wanted to make sure the fit was right. They had me fill out a detailed fit form, using a bunch of different measurements. They also had me e-mail some photos of myself on my two bikes in different positions. Based on that information, Kyle thought I was really better off on a frame larger than what I was originally looking for. He also suggested some ways I could improve my form, and actually fit a larger size frame better. I thought about it for a while, tried the things he suggested, and concluded that he was right.

They also had several other frames that would have fit -- the Merckx, a Giordana and a Pegoretti. Kyle didn't try to pressure me at all, but explained the pros and cons of each. Although the Merckx was the heaviest frame of the bunch, I concluded it would suit my purposes and fit best based on what he told me. At 5'11" and 190 lb., the lightest weight frame is not necessarily the best. On top of all that, they knocked $100 off the price during the time I was looking at the frame. So I felt pretty good about the whole process.

tarwheel
I'm happy for you, but beware.look271
Dec 13, 2002 3:39 PM
I have a friend who 2 yrs ago bought a DeRosa from them. Everything seemed groovy, and as you said, they were great to deal with. However, this past summer he noticed the ride was a bit "noodley". Upon further investigation, there was a crack in his BB. Fortunately for him, he had a local frame builder in his area who brazed it and it's as good as new. The builder noticed lots of rust inside the tubes. Unusual for a frame that was SUPPOSED to be treated.Hope this was an isolated incident!
Well, that's a pretty fine-looking frame for a bike that's notHumma Hah
Dec 13, 2002 5:14 PM
... 30 years old! I'm normally a pretty retro kinda guy, but a bike like that sure turns my head.
Good choice..DINOSAUR
Dec 14, 2002 10:13 AM
I see you finally decided on a frame. I read a review on the Corsa 0.1 in Cycle Sport Magazine after I had ordered my Colnago Master X-Light. If my deal on the MXL would have fell through I would have gone with a Corsa. Matter of fact, it might be something I might do later down the road as Eddy Merckx is my favorite cyclist and I always wanted a bike with his name on it. And I like lugged steel to boot.

Curious, where did you order yours?
Above...This was in response to Tarwheel's post...DINOSAUR
Dec 14, 2002 10:19 AM
I don't know how it got dumped down here...(we talked about frame choices before)....

I gotta admit I'm a cycling whore and would ride anything out there as long as it fits...nice to have a couple of different bikes to choose from.....
Good choice..bianchi boy
Dec 14, 2002 8:09 PM
I ordered it from Cycles Bikyle in Pennsylvania, near Philly. As far as I can tell, they were the only shop in the US with a Corsa in my size. Gita has been totally out of stock for a while and isn't getting any more except by special order.

I seriously considered a Colnago MXL, as you know. It came down to the Merckx just being a better fit in my size. That and the fact that I never could decide what color scheme to order in a Colnago -- to many choices and I couldn't tell if I would like them or not in person.