RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Chorus vs. Centaur(24 posts)

Chorus vs. Centaurbsdc
Dec 12, 2002 5:28 AM
Is there any real diference between Chorus and Centaur other than a few grams and level of polish? I've got a few grams I could lose and I'm not too polished myself, but I don't want to have anything that doesn't have quick crisp shifting.
re: Chorus vs. CentaurGileyD
Dec 12, 2002 5:32 AM
I have Centaur 10 and can't knock it for the money.

Centaur if you want value for money.

Chorus if you are putting it on a high end frame that deserves it, or if you follow the logic that says if you spend more at the outset you will spend less in future on upgrades.

Want -v- Need. Want usually wins with me!!!!!
there are differences...C-40
Dec 12, 2002 5:36 AM
The Chorus ergo levers have ball bearings where the Centaur levers have bushings.

The Centaur crank uses a cheap bottom bracket with a 111mm spindle length that is not compatible with the higher quality Chorus or Record 102mm spindle bottom brackets.

Chorus will function identically to Record. It's just a little heavier. Chorus is the best value in the Campy line.
Centaur BBBreakfast
Dec 12, 2002 7:18 AM
I put Centaur 10 speed on my bike except I used the Chorus crank and BB.

A great value group and a savings of $300-$400 over Chorus.
not that much cheaper...C-40
Dec 12, 2002 9:45 AM
The difference in price between Centaur and Chorus runs between $185-$270. If you substitute a Chorus crank and bottom bracket, the difference should drop by another $60-$80.
re: Chorus vs. CentaurLeroy
Dec 12, 2002 6:05 AM
For the $ you cannot go wrong with centaur. Chorus will feel 'smoother' when you shift; centaur will give you a crisper click feel when you shift - at least mine feel like that. There's not a thing wrong with the ac-h bottom bracket used for centaur. That it's cheap is a plus in my book. I'm not talented enough to be able to tell the difference: my chorus bike has a phil wood bb and my centaur, has an ac-h. Even the hubs are comparable.
BrakesEager Beagle
Dec 12, 2002 6:05 AM
I think this year there is still a differnce in the brakes - someone shouted on this a few weeks back. Single v double pivot was it?
BrakesLeroy
Dec 12, 2002 6:11 AM
That's right. The chorus rear brake is a single pivot like record. The thinking is the weight savings is ok because the front does more of the work. They look good but I really like double pivots on both wheels. It feels better to me. Although I probably need to sand down my brake pads on the chorus brakes. Centaur front and rear brakes are the same design.
BrakesPdxMark
Dec 12, 2002 10:10 AM
I believe the thinking about single pivot in back (Record & Chorus) is that the increased stopping power of double pivot provides almost no discernible increase in stopping power.

Essentially, beyond a certain point, rear brakes do not provide increased stopping efficiency no matter how hard you squeeze the pads against the rims. All the extra power in a rear double pivot brake does is take brake rubber off the pad.

With a Centaur bike & a Chorus bike, I notice no difference in the rear braking.
re: Chorus vs. CentaurFranchise
Dec 12, 2002 6:31 AM
Pretty much the same as everyone. Centaur/Daytona is fine, and a lot of bang for the buck. Chorus, on my CT-1, is lighter, and is a litte more techinically interesting. Daytona shifters are great once the are broken in, and you really can't tell that much of a difference.
re: Chorus vs. Centaurlonefrontranger
Dec 12, 2002 7:21 AM
probably the biggest difference that you'll feel is in the crankset / BB. Some folks claim that the longer spindle coupled with the lower level Centaur crank just feels noodly. Therefore, if you're big and strong or just picky, you may want to do Centaur everything else with a Chorus crank / bb.

Some people have found that the Centaur level shifters wear or get play/slop in them quicker since they don't have the "BB" system, but the ones on my cross bike are doing just fine under a lot of abuse. FWIW the Centaur on my cross bike and the Record on my roadie are about the same age and both still work equally well - blindfolded I couldn't tell the difference, but then I have a TA crankset on the 'crossie, which is a pretty stiff (and spendy) part.

No matter what level Campag you are using, the new shifters take a week or two of riding to lose the heavy notchiness that is characteristic of the line. This is merely due to the beefy Campag springs; I find it very quickly transitions from the initial chunky feel to a smooth, positive click that isn't as vague as STI, but it's not for everyone.
I know I keep saying thisEager Beagle
Dec 12, 2002 7:34 AM
over and over, but:

Cranks don't flex, BB's don't flex - put them in a vice and try them.

Therefore, if they are properly connected and torqued, the two don't flex when connected.

If anyone had a "noodly" Centuar crank experience - they are either badly assembled, or more likely, feeling frame/wheel/pedal/shoe/whatever flex.
that's finelonefrontranger
Dec 12, 2002 8:41 AM
never said it was my impression, merely others. Everyone's entitled to their opinion, logical or no. I am merely offering the most common "complaint" I've heard from the user masses.

If you would like a specific reason some people do not like the Centaur level, then the Q-factor is considerably different on a 111mm spindle Centaur crank / BB combo than the 102mm spindle Record / Chorus spec. Doesn't bother me, but it's a reasonable and understandable complaint for, say, a pro level racer who spends hours on the bike.
I wasn't weighingEager Beagle
Dec 12, 2002 9:01 AM
in on you, it's just one of those "RBR urban myths" that gets some form of credibility through repetition, and I'm sure costs those who don't know better, money. It's balony, in simple terms, along with that other great line "stiffer cranks" as used between 105 v DA etc, which you see on this board from time to time.

You're factually right of course, but that isn't going to make a properly fitted unworn Daytona crankset flex, no matter who's riding it for how long. The only way those components can flex, is if there is movement between crank and BB on account of incorrect fitting (or a freak bad manufacturing issue).

Just trying to help folk spend precious cash wisely.
LFR, question for you...No_sprint
Dec 12, 2002 10:47 AM
What is the BB system? I've always wondered, never heard it discussed anywhere, never seen it on the Campy website, only on my carbon shifters.
BB means ball bearingslonefrontranger
Dec 12, 2002 2:24 PM
Record and Chorus use Campag bearings rather than bushings as the shift mechanism. Smoooth.
Yummy!!!!!No_sprint
Dec 12, 2002 2:36 PM
Thanks. I do love it. I've never taken them apart.
Are you running 10 speed on your Centaur CX?Look381i
Dec 12, 2002 11:12 AM
I have Record 10v on my main road bike, Chorus 10v on my back-up and am about to build up a Redline CX with Centaur 10v. In the main, I'd like to be able to use any set of wheels with any bike and otherwise be able to swap parts. I am going with a Centaur BB and crankset in part because I am worried that other chainwheels will not function properly with the 10v chain, etc.

Am I off base? Will other cranksets work well?
yeslonefrontranger
Dec 12, 2002 12:52 PM
I am using Centaur 10 shifters and chain with a TA 9v crank. Works great. In order to get the low gearing ranges I was looking for (46/36) I had to opt for the TA 110 bcd instead of the Centaur.

I know of several people who use 9v cranks with 10v drivetrain.
Good to know. Thanks. (nm)Look381i
Dec 12, 2002 2:54 PM
re: Chorus vs. CentaurMXL02
Dec 12, 2002 7:26 AM
I have Centaur on my first/rain bike, and Record on my new/dream bike. Record is definitely lighter and smoother. Do I need it? Of course not! Do I love it? Of course! Centaur is fine for most recreational riders, especially if riding is more important than collecting. Bottom line, IMHO, if you can afford it, Chorus is nice. If you can't but need a good solid gruppo for your riding, Centaur will suffice nicely.
I agree with MXL02...PdxMark
Dec 12, 2002 10:04 AM
If money is limited, Centaur is almost indistinguishable from Chorus in performance... If the money difference is not a major issue, get Chorus to avoid later regrets.

I have Centaur on my commuter and Chorus on my road bike. Almost the same in performance, though Chorus is prettier and I kinda discern a slight difference in feel, but that might all be in my head.
Beware the front Deraileurrrrrrrrrr (sp?)...miposy
Dec 12, 2002 12:32 PM
Hi,

I've been riding since 1983, have two years and about 6000 miles of Seattle weather on my Daytona/Centaur Groupo, and my only complaint is the front derailleurrueururururueru. I had it set up by a mechanic I trust, and readjusted, but it occasionally drops the chain when shifting quickly, or just doesn't shift well.

This is compared to my MTB transmission which is usually gunky and muddy, so I think I am accurate here.

The only other thing I don't like is that the hubs are not very water resistant relative to Shimano hubs. They have to be adjusted and repacked with grease frequently.
Fine adjustmentEager Beagle
Dec 13, 2002 1:51 AM
I had be same problem with mine when it was new. I think the adjustment is just very precise - far more than Shim. Eventually, after the cables settled down and I spend some time fiddling with it, I have solved it and never lose a chain now. 1/2 a turn on the screws is enought to make a difference though.