RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Would like to hear some opinions on Assos bibs.(11 posts)

Would like to hear some opinions on Assos bibs.GEORGIADOG
Dec 11, 2002 4:53 PM
I'm wanting to get something better than my present shorts, and I'm not all that familiar with this brand, just know that they're not cheap. Thanks ahead of time for any feedback. GOOOO DAWGS!!, SIC'EM, SIC'EM, SIC'EM!!!
re: Would like to hear some opinions on Assos bibs.Breakfast
Dec 11, 2002 6:17 PM
A while back I spent $170 on a pair of Assos Campionissimos and they were wonderful. However, they're the only bibs I've owned that have had a complete break down of the lycra, and by that I mean that they get thin and the stretch goes away and the surface gets a white balled-up substance showing that the fabric is history.

I won't buy another pair.
Re: washingBreakfast
Dec 11, 2002 9:26 PM
Mine were always washed in cold water, gentle cycle, and hung to dry. Never used Vaseline either!

Still the lycra got thin, other brands haven't.

I don't doubt other's experiences with Assos, just stating mine in case there are collaborating stories.
Machine wash works for meboneman
Dec 12, 2002 12:48 AM
I've used Assos bibs for quite some time. One pair is close to 20 years now. The only problem came about 10 years ago when the foam pad under the chamois which was bonded/glued came loose and I had to sew it in place. They've since changed the design. No issues with the lycra and in fact I find the quality of lycra to be better than most. I machine wash all my cycling clothes in cool water and then hang dry. I stopped the hand wash nonsense after the wool era.

That being said, I haven't bought their bibs in the last 10 years as there are better value products currently available.
re: Would like to hear some opinions on Assos bibs.curlybike
Dec 11, 2002 8:00 PM
I have several pair, I love them. I have been using them for 3+years and they are holding up well. I wash them in cold water, gentle cycle using Ivory Snow soap ang hang them to dry. You should not use Vaseline in the shorts as it will have a tendency to damage the lycra.
Luv Emnetso
Dec 12, 2002 4:11 AM
I have only wore mine 3 times, however they are great! The most comfortable shorts I have worn.
re: Would like to hear some opinions on Assos bibs.Jwh445
Dec 12, 2002 6:00 AM
I used the ole "you get what you pay for" when I plunked down the cold, hard cash for my Assos shorts. The pad was so big I thought I was carrying extra gear in my shorts. Within one year the material had stretched out and started frizzing up, all the logos peeled off and the shorts were virtually unwearable. Not a problem, I went back to wearing the cheap shorts I had purchased years ago which are still wearing well today. The moral of my story is; more expensive is not always better. Find a brand that is comfy and wears well and stick with it.

John
try the F1-13s...the pad is virtually unnoticable when ridingColnagoFE
Dec 12, 2002 6:35 AM
I can't say they are worth the $200 they ask, but they are the best shorts I've worn comfort-wise. Not sure about durability since I've only worn them 6-8 times now. I use Assos chamois creme, hand wash em and hang to dry so if they fall apart it won't be because I abuse 'em.
Great but overpricedColnagoFE
Dec 12, 2002 6:31 AM
My F1-13s are the most confortable bibs I've ever used but overpriced at $200. My Performance Elites are almost as good and I can get 4 pairs for the same price when they go on sale.
Recommend themms
Dec 12, 2002 7:02 AM
I have two pairs of the Assos Campionissimo shorts. One pair I have had for close to two years, the other pair I received last Christmas. Each pair has been worn and washed (cold water, gentle cycle, no dryer) at least once per week. Both pairs are in good shape. In terms of comfort, they beat all of my other shorts, although my Castelli Progretto Y2/VT's come close.
To my amazement.....spc15
Dec 12, 2002 8:09 AM
I purchased a pair of Assos Prosline bibs for about $155 USD this summer. They fit ok, are comfortable, more so than my PI Microsensor. After a pair of Cannondale shorts I had for several years fell apart I purchased a pair of Nalini Bibs on eBay for $29. To my amazement they fit and were as comfortable if not more comfortable than the Assos bibs I spent 5x more on.

This made me feel very stupid right off the bat(for spending 5x more). I will see how the Nallini's hold up to wear, but for $29 I was pleasantly surprised.

ymmv, of course
SPC