RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


POLL: Whose posts do you always read?(56 posts)

POLL: Whose posts do you always read?OldEdScott
Dec 10, 2002 6:30 AM
In the 'what brought you here/keeps you here' thread below, mohair_chair (I think) says: 'I'll read anything by lonefrontranger. She is the coolest, most knowledgeable person on this whole site.'

Got me thinking. I've lurked here for two-plus years, don't post much, but have a pretty good sense of who's worth reading and who's not. Surely if you've been here awhile you get selective -- you avoid the predicable threads and the brainless posters, and you have a mental list of 'always read' and 'usually read.'

What's your list? Here's mine:

ALWAYS READ

Lonefrontranger also: Smart, insightful, no wasted breath. If she has something to say, she's worth listening to.

Tjeanloz: Young and brash, and awfully stodgy politically for someone so youthful. But like LFR, knowledgeable. Widely knowledgable, in fact. Sometimes posts too much, but generally worth it.

Grzy: The monkey man posts too little these days. I think he got tired of our stupidity. Usually right, but hilarious when he's wrong. I'd let him work on my bike.

Spoke Wrench: The voice of wisdom & some hard experience without being overbearing about it. I'd let him work on my bike before grzy, which is no slap at grzy.

Ahimsa: The most intelligent & literate voice on the board, Sails over everyone's head. Surprised to find out how young he was.

Chen2: For purely techical stuff, he's worth a read every time.

sn69: Preliminary assessment. His early posts have been interesting.

USUALLY READ:

Kerry: Usually pretty knowledgable about fitness (and other)stuff most people are just anecdotal about.

Kristin: Her Calamity Jane persona seems to be fading, but I tune in just to see if anything dramatic is up. She's been the board's 'girl poster' for so long that I think we all feel invested.

Wayne: Always interested in unusual stuff. Can surprise you. Never know what might pop up in one of his posts.

Spirito: Posts too much, and you have to cull. But his passion for the beautiful old stuff can be a real inspiration, and he has the prettiest bike on the board.

BONUS RANKINGS TO PISS SOME OFF:

Most over-beloved poster: MB1. Seems a great guy, everyone loves him, but his exploits are too otherwordly for me to mantain any interest in.

Most over-respected poster: DougSloan. The board isn't a peleton, and doesn't really need a patron to keep order.

OK. Post your lists.
hummah hah, MB1, grzy, gregario, kristin, dave hickey nmbigrider
Dec 10, 2002 7:02 AM
re: POLL: Whose posts do you always read?netso
Dec 10, 2002 7:02 AM
MB1, Kristin, Tjeanloz, Dinosaur, PsyDoc,Grzy, Ahimsa, PaulCl
Doug Sloan, Allison Hayes, Akirasho, Hummah Hah (nm)OffTheBack
Dec 10, 2002 7:11 AM
At the moment...Anyone but DuraAceBob...biknben
Dec 10, 2002 7:15 AM
I go by subject not necessarily the poster. If the subject interests me, I'll read. I also go to most of the posts that have pics. A picture is worth a 1,000 words.

I don't pay too much attention to the names. There may be 20-30 handles that I recognize often. There are also probably thousands of lurkers or occasional posters like myself. Their info or opinion is no less worthy so I treat everyone the same.
Spot on.Eager Beagle
Dec 10, 2002 7:42 AM
no one (me included of course) ever gets it right every time on this board. There are some who tend not to post (factual stuff) unless they have a pretty good idea that they are right - and lots who just post anyway, and/or always sound off about their particual achillies.

It would be boring were it otherwise.
It is not the poster, it is the subject for me.MB1
Dec 10, 2002 7:17 AM
Except for the flamers and trolls who I NEVER, EVER open the subject is what lures me in.

Always Open; Illustrated ride reports, fixed gear posts, SS posts.

Never Open; Lightspeed posts, Posts with "Sucks" in the header.
your Litespeed fixed gear ride report sucks! :-) nmDougSloan
Dec 10, 2002 8:02 AM
sucking up will get you nowhere nmDougSloan
Dec 10, 2002 7:20 AM
I got a nice chuckle out of it. nmMB1
Dec 10, 2002 7:26 AM
Anybody remember that artist...Qubeley
Dec 10, 2002 7:41 AM
who has a collection of drawing of different personality on the bboard, like lurker, big dog, Kong Fu master, etc?
Anyone has the link to his(/her) site? I need that RIGHT NOW!
Got it...biknben
Dec 10, 2002 7:57 AM
http://www.winternet.com/~mikelr/flame1.html
Thanks, man. I feel much better now.. nmQubeley
Dec 10, 2002 10:13 AM
Bowl of Noodles...DINOSAUR
Dec 10, 2002 7:58 AM
Now there is a name from the past....

I look at the subject line first and see if it's something I'm interested in reading.

Maybe we need another forum for most popular posters...
Bowl of Noodles.. that's a doozy.Sintesi
Dec 10, 2002 8:06 AM
You're in the pantheon Dino. Me? I nominate Trollman as my alltime favorite. Don't know why but the guy made me laugh.I don't care if Kristin and Doug outed him or not. : )
Remember Eugene?Dave Hickey
Dec 10, 2002 8:09 AM
He could take any cycling discussion and turn it into a "save the planet" debate.
These are the moments of our lives. : )Sintesi
Dec 10, 2002 8:16 AM
Another late, great one.
Don't speak that name out-loudKristin
Dec 10, 2002 8:29 AM
You'll invoke the wrath of the gods and the demon will awake from its slumber. Do you want to torment us all man!!
"Trollman thinks you need a sponsor" once moreDougSloan
Dec 10, 2002 8:28 AM
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?printerFriendly@@.eedb4a1

Thioderek "The endorphins arent happening the way they used to." 9/5/01 9:52am
Breck, whatever happened to Breck.MB1
Dec 10, 2002 8:41 AM
Hardly posts any more, I always wanted to get up to the High Desert to do an epic moonlit night ride with Brek and the guys.
Best wishes to Breckmickey-mac
Dec 11, 2002 6:57 AM
Breck lives in Julian, a small town that had a devastating wildfire over the past summer. Many homes were destroyed. Unfortunately, I lost Breck's e-mail and haven't been able to get in touch with him since the fire. Breck, if you still check in on the board, please let us know you're out there.
Anyone who knows more than me.........PEDDLEFOOT
Dec 10, 2002 8:01 AM
...which seems to be just about everyone here.
Anyone who knows more than *I* ......... :-) nmDougSloan
Dec 10, 2002 8:08 AM
your an idiot ..... ;-) nmJS Haiku Shop
Dec 10, 2002 8:13 AM
i no I am, but what are you? <8-| nmDougSloan
Dec 10, 2002 8:44 AM
"know" nmRyan
Dec 10, 2002 10:52 AM
<8-|DougSloan
Dec 11, 2002 6:53 AM
<8-| = dunce, i.e., I'm stupid.
I was going to use I , but it didn't sound correct.......PEDDLEFOOT
Dec 10, 2002 10:11 AM
....I appreciate the correction. :-)
I was just being silly, in the context of your post :-) nmDougSloan
Dec 10, 2002 10:52 AM
the rule on "I" in this case is going the way of the dodoColnagoFE
Dec 11, 2002 8:32 AM
You hear it wrong often enough and people start forgetting the correct usage. Instead of sounding correct you just sound like some pretentious twit. ;) How often do you hear "She and I went to the store?" in normal conversation? You're more likely to hear "Me and her went to the store" even though that sends bristles up my spine evertime I hear it.
sure, butDougSloan
Dec 11, 2002 8:51 AM
Rolling through stop signs, speeding, erratic driving, drunk driving are all common, too; that doesn't make them acceptable.

While grammar is not nearly as important, some people still believe it is important enough not to permit total chaos.

In any event, I was not serious about correcting someone here. That's silly and irritating (and we all make mistakes). If you read the post to which I responded, the attempted humor should be somewhat evident.

Doug
Any post with "nm" in the topic line. nmMXL02
Dec 10, 2002 8:15 AM
that's a wise one, because I always have hidden message..nmQubeley
Dec 10, 2002 10:18 AM
Not this time though.
what does the (nm) mean anyway because it's annoyingbenja15
Dec 10, 2002 3:12 PM
Easy answer......Len J
Dec 10, 2002 4:06 PM
nm in the caption line tells a reader that there is "no more message (NM) It's a courtesy so you don't have to open it to find out there is No Message.

Len
grzy, Tjeanloz, rollo tommasi, AllisonHayes, Spirito...lonefrontranger
Dec 10, 2002 8:17 AM
rollo is really, really knowledgeable tho she lurks a lot and doesn't post a ton.

phillipe's rare but informative posts are always gems. All of his contributions have that certain je ne sais quoi. a plus mon ami, and kindly forgive my appalling Francais!

I refrain from TJ's political posts because they usually piss me off, but his tech knowledge on the Components board is always worth reading.

grzy always leaves me with a big grin on my face, no matter what he's up to. He and Spirito qualify for the those I'd be most interested in having a beer with (tho NOT anywhere near that damned couch!).

JS Haiku has been remiss on his moniker and I am in serious withdrawal, but his stories are the best from a pure cycling POV.

Kristin reminds me of me a decade ago when I was a newbie rider on the Compuserve Outdoors forum.

our opinionated pack of limeys are good for a rousing brawl on slow days (you know who you are). Watching the fur fly after someone yanks their chain is one of the board's guilty little pleasures.

Akirasho, varmint and PaulCL are interesting reads for me because it means hearing what folks are up to in the Miami Valley. Used to race 'cross with varmint and miss him the most of all my homeboys.

I open all the stuff from Doug or MB1 because it's cool to see what they're up to.

I'll read any illustrated ride report that's posted. I'll also open any newbie plea for help, tho generally peloton, TJ or Kerry have already chimed in with more informative help than I could provide.

The Racing and 'Cross boards are infested with Coloradans, so I read a lot of that stuff.
Funny howEager Beagle
Dec 10, 2002 8:22 AM
anyone who's opinion differs from your own is opionated. Especially so when you don't know the nationality of those about whom you speak!

Chuckling quietly...
TJ, LFR, Kerry, Merkx56McAndrus
Dec 10, 2002 8:23 AM
TJeanloz - the voice of reason.
Lonefrontranger - forgot more about cycling than I know.
Kerry - another voice of reason.
Merkx56 - I know him and he likes to be a provocateur. And it's fun to talk about the rest of y'all when we're riding.
for me it's gotta be...gregario
Dec 10, 2002 8:33 AM
Tjeanloz. I donno, i've gathered from his posts that he is rather young but sounds intelligent as hell and thoughtful (not that the two are mutually exclusive) no matter what the topic is. There are others of course, so don't feel left out, but he comes to mind first.

this is a good question. Most of the time it depends on the subject matter. For example, I'm interested in what people think about a particular frame or company. I don't often look at the illustrated ride reports, mostly because I know I'll probably never be there and the photos take a long time to load. I tend to go in and out of this forum very quickly to see what's up and then get back to work, that's probably why I don't usually look at them. Having said that though I have seen some really nice photos in the ride reports.

I tend to look at posts about Colnagos because I have one that's 18 years old and I think their geometry fits me. I also look at posts by who I think are the bigger guys because I'm over 6' tall with long legs and have a hard time finding stock bikes that fit.
Always? No one, but...mohair_chair
Dec 10, 2002 8:40 AM
Usually the subject gets me more than the poster, but there are certain posters I will usually read:

LFR: I already said she's the coolest and knowledgable, but I also gained a ton of respect for her when she scolded me a few times in the past for shooting off my mouth in various ways. Her manner conveyed her disgust/anger at me but was so "professional" I had to sit up and take notice, and eventually learn the lesson. I hope.

Kristin: I can't help but think of her as the "little sister" of the board. I mean that in a good way. Interesting comments and every once in a while that wicked sense of humor comes through.

DINOSAUR: He rode the roads I ride now, but 20-30 years ago (correct me if I'm wrong) and has some interesting perspectives on them. His CHP perspectives are good, too.

Spirito: Fridays aren't the same without his wacky posts, and his sometimes bizarre sense of humor and style is often worth the effort of opening the post.

Doug Sloan: Usually knows what he is talking about and almost always has something interesting to say. He can even be convinced he is wrong, which is unusual for a message board.

JS Haiku Shop: I wish he would do more Haiku, because he is brilliant at it (Favorite Backstreet Boy: Howie). His down home sensibility comes through on all of his posts. Another of the guys who rarely flames if ever. And every once in a while, he'll tell a tale of his (former?) wicked ways. I can't even remember his McDonald's stories but I remember they were hilarious!
found it!mohair_chair
Dec 10, 2002 9:01 AM
JS Haiku Shop's McDonalds haiku
pulitzer material nmJS Haiku Shop
Dec 10, 2002 9:49 AM
classics...mohair_chair
Dec 10, 2002 9:58 AM
from your alter-ego, Spiritual Haiku:

My personal favorite. Where have some of these people gone?
who you might be: net personality versus actual identity

Another good one:
hai-kurate response to post with all that physics stuff

And, I'll make you look this one up yourself:

We feed the rats to the cats and the cats to the rats
And get the catskins for nothing
My post are very insigtful as wellDuraAceBob
Dec 10, 2002 9:01 AM
Please use the (nm) thing! (nm)PEDDLEFOOT
Dec 10, 2002 10:17 AM
response (in deference to JSHaiku)_rt_
Dec 10, 2002 10:23 AM
if you say so: true
self-importance inflated
mom thinks you're great catch
San Jose/Los Gatos Area?DINOSAUR
Dec 11, 2002 7:16 AM
I lived off Foxworthy (near Meridian) from 1973-1990. I did most of my riding on Hicks Rd, Shannon, McKean, SR-9, Mt. Hamilton, Morgan Hill and so on...I did a lot of my riding on weekday mornings and seldom saw a car when on Hicks Rd. I imagine it has not changed much over the years. I used to do a lot of running in Quicksilver Park also. The best thing about the bay area is the traffic and the vast amount of cycling shops and resources...my LBS used to be a little shop on Foxworthy (Foxworthy Bike Shop). They relocated to Meridian Ave near Willow. The owners were great people, the lady died a couple of years ago and her son, Bill, now runs the shop with the help of his dad who helps with the book work. Reading this back makes me homesick...those were good years...
Dino
always ? .... just one ...... Phil LiggettSpirito
Dec 10, 2002 10:36 AM
there are many sage's here who i usually read for all their differing input ...... but i cant say ill always check what they have to say and tend to read the thread title(s) upon where i will check in ...... i can however say that there is hardly any regular posters here who i dislike or who's posts i find uninteresting. the melange is always good for a read and i appreciate it all.

all cyclists are family

but always ... there is only Phil ......

Phil Liggett "Attention cycling fanatics!" 4/28/02 3:22pm

ciao
Nobody,TJeanloz
Dec 10, 2002 10:37 AM
I don't have a policy of reading anybody's posts, and there are some topics that I avoid wholesale. Ride reports, for instance, I can't stand- I have no idea why I dislike them so much, except that they remind me that I don't get to ride as much as I'd like.

But like some others, I'm more selective in topics than in posters. I prefer to work in topics that I know a lot about- particularly industry questions. I also enjoy clearing up smoke blown by LBS's, recognizing that even the best LBS's sometimes blow smoke. I like to think that I can give some consumers some insight into what it's like on the other side of the counter.

That being said, I foresee I time where my information will be largely obsolete. I haven't worked in a shop for almost two years now, didn't go to Interbike last year for the first time in 6 years, and can see the diminishing value-add of the things I do know. For example, I'd love to be able to answer questions about Dura-Ace triples, but I've never worked with one- and there are a lot of new bits and pieces coming out to further obscurify what I do know. And when such time comes that I have no valuable information to add, except war stories about the time Litespeed bought Merlin, I assume I will fade away.

The sooner the better, in some people's opinions...
The one that grabs my attention.Len J
Dec 10, 2002 10:58 AM
Either by topic or by who is responding or both. Topic attracts me based on where I am at the moment & what info is pertinent to a problem I have or may have.

What is clearer is whose posts I ignore:

Trolls/you know who they are.

Len
The Usual Suspectswillem72
Dec 10, 2002 2:15 PM
Including guys like Bill, Len etc who are so encouraging. The other Aussies are a hoot as well.

Rusty Coggs needs to do more - he's a right laff. Also Elephantino with his daring tales of dodging Elephantina, wearing pink jersies and overcoming 'orrible injuries.

It's all good.

W72
Adventure Themespeter in NVA
Dec 10, 2002 2:30 PM
I like riding for the adventure and am drawn to any posts with ride reports, unusual locations and equipment discussions.

I look foward to all LFR, DougSloan, grzy, MB1 and HummaHah - but read everything. Don't get enough riding and reading about it is the next best thing.

Post mostly on the cross site, and these days ride my road bike off road as much as possible.

Anything with Ritchey since I have 4 Ritchey bikes.
Spirito! I miss Lazywriter and Radical ron Pruitt.hayaku
Dec 10, 2002 11:30 PM
Wonderful pics and humour, on ya!
M.
Subject is important... butfunknuggets
Dec 11, 2002 6:51 AM
what about PODIUMBOUND?

For whatever reason seems like people like to bash the guy, but honestly he seems to consistently have good ideas and knows his stuff when it comes to strength training.

Also, what about PaulCL, he always seems to have something positive to contribute...

Other favorites are Kristin, Spirito, and JS Haiku Shop... although I have no time to think about my own haikus.
PODIUMBOUND had a shaky start hereColnagoFE
Dec 11, 2002 8:24 AM
But seems to have been thick skinned enough to take advice and I really enjoy most of his posts these days.
Always? To my dismay...SpiritoKristin
Dec 11, 2002 11:01 AM
Like a bad accident passed on the road, I find I must look even thought I know it will be painful and shocking--and will probably lead to my dismissal. He is the patron saint of road shoes and thus has my undying gratitude.

Scott, I'm glad I amuse you. Calamity Jane is probably a good way to explain it. Fortunately, it comes by nature and genetics so I've no need to practice. Lately, my calamities have all occured at home. I've developed a keen talent for creating many holes of various sizes in permanently afixed objects--such as walls and cabinets. One who lacks upper body stength should not wield power tools. All of the decorating and subsequent fixing of decorating mistakes has left Bernardo a bit neglected.

Like everyone else, its the subjects that lure me, and the posters I read most often are the ones who post most often. I'll read anything that has "Poll" in the title. I'm also fond of clever flamebait. There hasn't been much creative flamebait recently. Also, any Haiku is welcome, along with newbie type posts that may have scraps of useful information for me to glean.

Some of my favorite posters:

LFR - who gives the best training advice and can trackstand a road bike. I bow.
The haiku meister - Always entertaining
The Sloan meister - The most transparent poster. You get to know him through his posts.
MB1 - The best ride reports, and the most awe inspiring rider.
LenJ - Most inspirational. Spiritual sage.
Kerry & Peleton & Wayne - Knowledgable about all things fitness related.
Humah Hah - Reminds us that its not about the bike! Has access to old MIT projects. Very cool.
Spinchick - Very funny poster, who seems to be in lurking at the moment. Remeber Lama Love? Girl power.
Mr. Spin...who seems to have gone missing
Wayne - Very smart guy who challenges me to think--sometimes to my exasperation. I've only gained as a result.
Trollman - Post easy to read an annoying some

I know I'm forgetting many many people who I've enjoyed reading here. That's why it took me so long to answer this. I like the board as a whole. There not one poster I would wish to leave.