RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cold ears(12 posts)

Cold earsGuidosan
Dec 9, 2002 4:57 PM
My wife doesn't really like to ride much, but every so often we will cruise the neighborhood together. Her biggest complaint is that her ears get cold. Since we live in Southern California, it doesn't get real cold, but it's still too cold for her. Does anybody have any recommendations for the cold ears? She already has enough trouble getting her helmet to be comfortable with all the hair, and I can't imagine she would be able to get a skullcap or a Balaclava to fit well either. I am also concerned about those headbands. How do people with longhair get a headband on over the ears without bunching up the hair and being real uncomfortable?

Thanks,
Mark
Try a Headsweat skull capLone Gunman
Dec 9, 2002 5:09 PM
They are not thick, think about the thickness of a bike jersey, thats all. I wear mine and am comfortable down to about 45F, they are large enough and stretch over my 1/2 ears. Then again, I don't have the "big hair" problem either.
Does she get head aches when her ears get cold too?Kristin
Dec 9, 2002 5:49 PM
I'm prone to getting these agonizing headaches when my ears get cold. It can be 55 degrees and windy and I'll get one. If she's extremely sensitive like I am, then she'll like a neoprin earband from Performance. I have both the earband AND the balaclava. They're quite thin and still keep me warm down to the low 30's. No problem with my helmet fitting over them.

A tip for wintertime riding and fitting helmets. If she can't get her helmet to fit, run down to the local sportmart and look for a clearance helmet that's larger. I picked up a winter helmet for $15.
Does she get head aches when her ears get cold too?Guidosan
Dec 9, 2002 6:08 PM
Yes she gets headaches when her ears get cold. I think that is why she doesn't try riding very often. It also gets frustrating for our boys. Since she gets cold and then headaches, she makes them bundle up and then they overheat.
I might try getting an earband just to try out. My son used to have a lot of ear problems and we got this band that he would wear while swimming. I tried to put this on her, but she has too much hair and it seemed to bunch up and then the helmet just didn't fit very well. A larger helmet just might do the trick.

Thanks,
Mark
re: Cold earszeke
Dec 9, 2002 5:53 PM
Try "Swedish Ear Bags". One 'bag' for each ear, no headband to screw up helmet fit. Each bag has a metal frame which snaps into place and holds itself on the ear. convenient!
swedish ear bags workmicha
Dec 9, 2002 6:37 PM
Got my Swedish Ear Bags from "Plow 'N Hearth". If you can't find them, call 1-800-earbag1. They come in 3 sizes and 4 colors, including "Leopard."

As an aside, I've got protruding ears and am thinking about using them to get more aero, regardless of the weather.
re: swedish ear bags workGuidosan
Dec 9, 2002 8:15 PM
Hey thanks to Zeke and Micha for the tips on the swedish ear bags. I have a feeling I might try these as well as a headband. I am willing to get several options if it will help her to get out on the bike with us.
Thanks for the input.

Mark
When you go to purchase these, make sure to askKristin
Dec 10, 2002 6:35 AM
if it effectively blocks wind from getting inside the ear. It sounds like she has essentially the same problem I do. What causes the headaches is not a cold outter ear, but rather wind that blows inside the ear--to the eardrum. It probably occurs in people with a certain shape to their ear that allows cold air to funnel too far inside. I'll bet you a million $$ that she also has excellent hearing and is a tremendously light sleeper.

Another tip: Cotton balls. On especially cold or windy days, I put a half a cotton ball in each ear underneath my balaclava for added protection.
they dozeke
Dec 10, 2002 11:56 PM
The fit of each bag around the ear is tight. I like to wear them on non-cold windy days just to keep the wind out of my ears. Also, in case you are wondering, sound still passes thru the bags, so there is no danger of not hearing a car behind you.
Balaclavapmf1
Dec 10, 2002 5:42 AM
Hands down the best bang for the buck cold weather accessory. If she has so much hair that she can't get a helmet on (probably doesn't want to mess up the hair is more like it), then get her some little pink furry ear muffs. Have her wear them upside down so the strap hangs over her chin.
Rox Dog Earz - Helmet Mounted Ear WarmersPdxMark
Dec 10, 2002 7:44 AM
These are the best I've found. They are a pair of triangles that attach to the helmet straps. No overheating or helmet fit problems. Just nice happy warm ears. Woof. Here's a link at Branfordbike.com.

http://www.branfordbike.com/wintwear/wintwr11.html#item5
re: Glad I didn't bet a million $$Guidosan
Dec 10, 2002 9:25 AM
Wow lots of ideas for me to try and yes Kristin she does have good hearing and wakes up way to easily. I will try to make it to the LBS today and will definitely ask if they block the wind. This way I can see if the material of all these items suggested are stretchy enough to get over her head of hair. Hate to walk into the LBS because I always see something I justa gotta have!
Still interested in those Swedish ear bags and the Helmet Mounted Ear Warmers too.
Thanks again,

Mark