RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Poll-What brought you here? What keeps you here?(44 posts)

Poll-What brought you here? What keeps you here?MB1
Dec 9, 2002 11:22 AM
Probably a question gregg would love to ask.

I used to lurk at the MBR general page till I met Humma at one of my fixed gear century rides. I think Greg Taylor told him about the ride. I started posting to see if I could get some more riders out to my rides.

I guess I stay because I enjoy the really varied points of view here. I even find the flamers and trolls a bit-but I try really hard not to feed them.

You?
The humor and the good info.fbg111
Dec 9, 2002 11:24 AM
Found this site when I was buying my first road bike and used it to educate myself on the sport. The periodic caption contests keep me coming back. ;)
re: Poll-What brought you here? What keeps you here?bikenbo
Dec 9, 2002 11:50 AM
Dude, part of it is YOUR ride reports and pictures!! Thanks!
First, the people here. Then the ride reports, stories, humor, information, variety of discussions. -nmTig
Dec 9, 2002 11:52 AM
I can't remember...biknben
Dec 9, 2002 11:55 AM
I think it was around the time of the '00 TDF. I had just gotten a computer at home with internet access. I think I was browsing around on MTBR and ended up here.

I keep coming back because I keep learning new things. My cycling knowledge has increased exponentially just by reading what everyone has to say. I'm also horribly bored at work and need an escape every now and again.

I enjoy the ride reports with pics. It's interesting to "see" what gear everone has and where they ride.
Everyone else considers me a freak.WHIZZard
Dec 9, 2002 11:55 AM
Friends, neighbors, relatives, co-workers, etc., all think I'm crazy to ride when it's cold, hot, raining, a holiday, late, early, before I mow the lawn, and on and on...
Nobody seems to understand why I try to maintain (or lose) weight, why I won't eat the cake at the office party, or birthday, and on and on...
They also don't understand why I race. I'm not a pro and they can't believe I SPEND MY OWN MONEY to race. Nobody PAYS you to train!? Are you crazy (see paragraph 1) and on and on...
People here make me feel absolutely normal! I'm even amazed by your "snow rides" MB1 (not to mention mileage). It's inspiring. Also, it's a good place to trade info, stories, experiences.
And, perhaps most importantly, a good way to kill time at work.
re:Shared obsession - nmdzrider
Dec 9, 2002 11:59 AM
The sense of communityUprwstsdr
Dec 9, 2002 12:21 PM
I was intorduced to the Consumer Review network when I was buying some stereo equipment. I have used CR for info buying a car, camping equipment, MTB, and road bike. I stay at RBR for the sense of community, the information and the entertainment.
re: Poll-What brought you here? What keeps you here?tarwheel
Dec 9, 2002 12:34 PM
I first found RBR through the MTB Review web site in 2000, when I was searching for a used road bike. I actually bought a bike through an ad in the RBR classifieds. Initially I mostly frequented the classified and reviews sections but stumbled onto the message boards after a while. I had lots of "newbie" questions because even though I had ridden a road bike for more than 25 years, my bike was 15 years old and I was unfamiliar with many more recent innovations -- such as index shifting, threadless forks/stems, carbon forks, etc. I keep coming back because I enjoy following the discussions and occasionally contributing and feel like I've made lots of cyber-friends here. Where else could you find so many people willing to talk about cycling without being bored to tears? I also really enjoy the ride reports by MB1 and others, and hope to learn how to post pictures and share some of my own adventures one day. Unfortunately my browser doesn't seem to be able to handle the new classified and review sections, so I am not able to make much use of them anymore.
Shared sanityPaulCL
Dec 9, 2002 12:49 PM
Because all of the non-cyclists think I'm nuts. I read this board and hear of people who share the same passion. No-one else understands it but the people on this board. On this board, I'm not weird because I shave my legs, lust after a set of bicycle wheels, or find Italian made components sexy.

Besides...there is always someone here to answer my questions. Hopefully, I have answered a few along the way myself.
Where else can I go to get such a high level of verbal abuse...Juanmoretime
Dec 9, 2002 1:11 PM
of course with the exception of the group I ride with. I respect the fact if you don't have the evidence to back up a point of view, everyone with usually dump on you. Plus, it's great to share knowledge.
TourismPeterRider
Dec 9, 2002 1:16 PM
... I bike only for tourism, and I look at this forum for biking :)

I learn quite a lot here. For instance, after asking last week what people wear when it is between 35 and 60, I went out to REI to buy a thermal underwear. Paid the expensive sum of 36$ for a power-dry thing, I was very satisfied with it, and like it a lot... thanks for the advice ! This is a piece of clothing I would never have thought of otherwise, I didn't know this kind of things existed. It kept me warm and healthy.

Pierre
re: Poll-What brought you here? What keeps you here?Scot_Gore
Dec 9, 2002 1:21 PM
What brought me here in the first place:
I wanted to buy a road bike. My knowledge of roadbikes was more than 10 years out of date, so I did a Google search on "bicycle reveiws". That search landed me at RBR in the reviews. Read a bunch of stuff, went on my way. After looking around at new bikes, I decided to buy used and started regularly watching the classified ads here. As long as I was here anyway, I lurked on the "General" board. While lurking I got caught up in and began to feel part of a community of like minded folks.

What keeps me here:
The feeling of community mostly. Most of my face to face friends were not made through bike riding, I'm mostly a solo rider. The ones that do bike, the interest is conincendental to our friendship, so mostly we talk about other things in the precious time we have for each other. But at RBR it's all bike riding all the time. My wife, my friends, my co-workers would never put up with it.

Another big factor is how much collective knowledge is out here on RBR. I've learned a ton. 2 years ago I'd be hard pressed to tell you the pros and cons of threadless vs quilled headsets, now, I could probably have a 20 minute conversation on the subject....hmmmmm is that good thing???

But seriously, Kerry, Doug, MB1, Teo, and numerous others are a well of knowledge that would be hard to find anywhere else. Yes, you occasionally have to strain out some grounds, but mostly the coffee here is first rate.

my 2 cents

Scot
I did something similar...JL
Dec 9, 2002 1:45 PM
Searching for bike reviews online I came across MTBR just before RBR went out on it's own. I was getting back into cycling after years off and wanted to check out "stuff". I started lurking in the general board, which I still do every day, and asking some questions.

The community, as others have said, keeps me coming back. Where else can you discuss all this bike related stuff or get decent answers on various issues with people all over the globe? Sure, there are a lot of the same questions asked over and over, but every now and then a new "information nugget" pops out. I think the ride reports are great and they inspire my own riding. I prefer this board over the newsgroups and while there is the occasional troll, they're usually weeded out quickly.

I'm always interested in what the "regulars" are up to and look forward to reading posts whenever I can.

Happy riding.

John
Good humour, interesting people, knowledgeable commentaryJon Billheimer
Dec 9, 2002 1:46 PM
I've even made a very good internet friend, an interesting and colourful guy who has a "magnificent obsession" with cycling.
the characterslonefrontranger
Dec 9, 2002 2:10 PM
Years ago, (Allez Rouge will back me up on this) I was a member of what was a very busy cycling forum at the time; the Compuserve Outdoor forum.

Found RBR while browsing their classifieds. Enjoy the atmosphere and traffic level. Met all kinds of folks from the Front Range on the Racing board.

Just like any family - the board has its mad uncles and mediators, and even enjoys a good healthy brawl on occasion, but for the most part it's a friendly and informative spot.
It's my connection to the cycling world....DINOSAUR
Dec 9, 2002 3:10 PM
I live in the sticks, the closest cycling club is about 60 miles away. They have rides in my area during the summer but it's too difficult to hook up with them. Just about all my rides are solo, this is where I go to talk about bikes. I've learned a lot here, met nice people in person. You get mixed opinions on most things. I built my current bike my reading forums such as this. I came over from the Bicycling Magazine forum, which was really frequented by a bunch of teenage kids with a lot of time on their hands. You get to know people here and who to depend on when you have a question. I've asked stuff and not followed recommendations and end up making the wrong choice, so it's a good place to be. Lot's of knowledge here, most guys forgot more than I know. I guess in a nutshell you could say to learn..you never stop learning...
A link from the MTBReview site ...Humma Hah
Dec 9, 2002 3:33 PM
I used to post regularly on the MTBReview Singlespeed site, but I was putting many more miles riding pavement than dirt, and was starting to do epic distances again ... the questions I had were more relevant to road riding, even though my choice of rides was a bit bizarre.

Why did I stay? One really big reason's initials are Doug Sloan. His moderating influence in the early days of the forum was instrumental in quelling the flame wars and other nonsense.

Doug and many of the others were tolerant of my bizarre ways, and their knowledge of cycling and training were very helpful.
I came here for the waters. ... I was misinformed.Elefantino
Dec 9, 2002 3:34 PM
re: Poll-What brought you here? What keeps you here?jrm
Dec 9, 2002 3:57 PM
I can ask stuff here and not get flamed or ignored.
another mtbreview refugeemohair_chair
Dec 9, 2002 4:11 PM
Clicked on the link, the rest is history.

Not sure why I stay. I've been here long enough that all the content has been hashed and rehashed to the point where it's fairly predictable. But every once in a while, a post catches my eye.

Plus, I'll read anything by lonefrontranger. She is the coolest, most knowledgeable person on this whole site.
man, now I'm all embarrassedlonefrontranger
Dec 9, 2002 9:45 PM
Thanks dude, that was awful cool. Especially since I've kinda been taking crabby lessons from grzy lately :)

so, now I have to ask, what IS the inspiration for your handle? It's one of the more intriguing ones on the board.
the handlemohair_chair
Dec 10, 2002 7:20 AM
Actually, I used to post here under another name but changed it to start anew.

Anyway, the handle. One day on a ride I stopped at a store in a very small town called Zayante in the Santa Cruz Mountains. On the wall were all kinds of notices and ads, but the one that stuck out was a sign advertising in big letters a "Mohair Chair" for sale. My first thought was that that would be name of my next band. It rhymes and has a funny sound to it, and I have no idea what mohair is or why anyone would make a chair out of it. Since I won't be forming any bands anytime soon, I made it my handle instead.
Mohair=a nice way to say Goat Hair.MB1
Dec 10, 2002 7:41 AM
No reflection on you of course.
My grandmother had a mohair chair . . .ms
Dec 10, 2002 8:03 AM
a couple of mohair chairs and a sofa, too. The material looks like velvet or velour, but is stiff and prickly -- one of the most uncomfortable seating fabrics that I ever have encountered. The mohair furniture was in the "parlor" which was reserved for special occasions. The mohair was an insurance policy to make sure that no one would use the room -- the furniture, which was purchased in the 1920s, had no wear whatsoever when my grandmother moved to a nursing home in 1990. You have an interesting handle, but, based on your posts, I don't think that you really are a mohair chair.
Because I like to talk bikes.cydswipe
Dec 9, 2002 4:42 PM
I came over from Mtbreview. com looking for advice on a road bike. I never went back. I like the fact that I can contribute here and there to bike talk. I don't hang around the LBS because I don't want to buy anything most of the time, so, they aren't real interested in jabbering. I check once or twice a day to see who's posting what. This board is great for beginners as well as "experts".
Well.......Len J
Dec 9, 2002 4:51 PM
I was researching a bike buy came to the reviews, saw the board, lurked for a while & then posted.

I stay for a couple of reasons:

1.) The people. I've become accostomed to this gang of regulars to the point that I miss them when they don't post or I don't visit.

2.) I like talking bikes.

3.) I learn something most of the time.

4.) I like helping someone every once in a while although there are many posters that have forgot more than I know.

5.) I like the diversity. Where else can you interact with such varied ages, sexes, socioeconomic classes, backrounds, beliefs and knowledge, and still take what seems to fit you & leave the rest.

6.) Oh yea, and MB1's ride reports (& riding with he & Miss M.

7.) Spirito's 1 act plays.

Len
the place has soulDougSloan
Dec 9, 2002 5:13 PM
I came here within a few days of the forum starting (1999?), when I was just lurking a bit at the MTBReview site. I found the discussions at MTBReview very discouraging, as they were full of adolescent flame wars and nasty personal attacks. This forum was different from the beginning, much more informative, friendly, and mature.

I tend to get into anything I'm doing by going overboard. "If it's worth doing, it's worth over doing." I have a passion for cycling, which neither my wife nor most of my friends share. This site fills the void.

I have learned tons, developed friendships (like HH, Dino, etc.), and tried to help others, too. Often, I think we learn just as much from helping as when we are being helped.

I've taken breaks from the forum, and actually should be on one now. I came to ask one question, and got rolling again. Like the alcoholic, I can't have only one.

There are many people here who I deem friends, even though we may share almost nothing in common, other than cycling. People I might never hang out with, even if we lived close by, I enjoy reading here. There are some people who contribute frequently who give the place real soul and substance, people like LFR, HH, Dino, Akirasho, JTolleson, MB1, Kristin, TJeanloz (and lots of others, but I gotta stop somewhere...). Several people have spontaneously sent me parts to use for my bikes. Some have given me true inspiration to do things I otherwise might not have. Some have been a moderating influence, causing me to rein in my passion in an effort to be a better husband and dad. I'm very appreciative, even for the "tough love" at times.

Yes, there is a community here, in every sense of the word. It shows that physical proximity is not necessary for friendships and valuable conversation.

I've broadened my perspectives while here. I've repeatedly learned that mine is not the only valid view or way of doing things. These ideas go far beyond the cycling itself, too. In other words, I feel I'm a better person for having been here.

I probably spend too much time here, but then, I love it. It's not all that destructive, so I'm not convinced doing something I love, hanging out with friends, is bad for me -- as long as the work and family don't suffer. I'll likely continue for a long time.

We've had problems now and then, but heck, doesn't every community, family, or group of friends? The events of 9/11 come to mind, but despite some nastiness, we all joined together once again, realizing that it's the passion for cycling, not politics, that brings us together. We've had trolls, flamers, jerks, as well as overly sensitive types -- I think the overwhelming majority of people here do what they can to avoid being at either end of the spectrum or permitting others to get away with it, too. We have a real investment in this community, and we'll not allow anyone to ruin that.

Even if this place disappeared, I'd have lifelong good memories of it and miss itand the people here as much as any group of friends I've had in the past. I hope it doesn't.

Doug
Cheers, Salute, Ganbai. Here's to all of you ! :-) nmrwbadley
Dec 9, 2002 5:39 PM
well said...Frith
Dec 9, 2002 8:00 PM
If I were to try to articulate it, I might just end up cutting and pasting DougSloan's entire post.
The free doughnuts and coffee every morning. . .js5280
Dec 9, 2002 5:41 PM
Just ask Gregg to put you on the VIP list ;-)

Actually I ended up here from the MTBR board as well. I've been avid MTB'er for a while and decided that I wanted to do some longer road rides and charity events. In particular, the Ride for the Roses to celebrate my 5th year cancer free. Came over here to research road bikes which I knew nothing about at the time and have not stopped learning since.

I stay because I learn a lot from people here, enjoy hearing about their riding experiences, and sharing my own. Cycling has become more than just an activity to me, it's an important part of my life. Like most of us here, it's part of my identity; I am a cyclist. Most of my close friends aren't into cycling like I am so RBR and MTBR is my chance to socialize with fellow cyclists. I like the camaraderie, have made several friends in both forums, and have ridden with many more. Now, it's a daily part of my life and am compelled (okay, addicted, what's really in that HTML Gregg?) with keeping up with it. If RBR or MTBR just went away, I would miss most of the people here and wonder how they are doing.
Came for info, stayed for the funms
Dec 9, 2002 5:51 PM
I started riding in the Summer of 2000 and did a great deal of net surfing for information. At some point that summer, I stumbled upon this board. Initially, I visited because I knew little and learned a lot. Now, I know more (but not anywhere near as much as many people on the board), but I stay because it is an enjoyable place to share information about cycling. When I have asked questions, I have received well-thought and informative answers. When I have shared information with others, I feel that my responses have been appreciated. The ride reports, both illustrated and verbal, make me want to ride more and travel with my bike (I have asked for a digital camera for Christmas -- so the sharing of ride reports may not be one-way in 2003). With rare exceptions, there is a warmth and respect on this board that I find inviting and rewarding.
To find out why Campagnolo is betterInhighgear
Dec 9, 2002 5:59 PM
Ha just kidding,

Just for info on my first bike build this summer. What a glorious summer it was with fantastic rides all around the counte=ry and the thrill of building a Litespeed Vortex from scratch.
Thank you - everyone!rockbender
Dec 9, 2002 8:23 PM
Well, I like others first came here in search of information to purchase a new bike. After lots of reading and asking a few questions, it was amazing to see how cordial everyone here is.

The boards here on RBR have definately become part of my daily 'routine' (my apologies to my employer!). I love all the trip reports that everyone take the time to share - along with all the same answers to the same questions... rarely do you see someone just say "do a search for ksyrium wheels for crying out loud!"

Also, I just wanted to make a quick generalization about the cyclists here on this board. It seems that most folks here are quite educated and articulate, which is so very nice after brief encounters with other groups (both cyber and real) that unfortuanately lack the worldly views and courtesy here. Cheers everyone!
got bored with Porn ...... learning how to spell ... B-) NmSpirito
Dec 10, 2002 12:50 AM
Wait...you mean this isn't the "Leather Maidens Forum?"....Gregory Taylor
Dec 10, 2002 5:41 AM
Man, no wonder it seemed slow....

Been hanging around for a while because its a good place to electronically shoot the breeze. I've made some new friends in the DC area (Bill, MB1 and the peripetetic Ms. M), had some questions answered, answered a few questions, and generally had a good time.
Wow, an Aristotelian reference. I guess you just one upped Doug. nmMB1
Dec 10, 2002 6:15 AM
Too bad I misspelled it. Dang. (nm)Gregory Taylor
Dec 10, 2002 6:23 AM
A thiefKristin
Dec 10, 2002 7:03 AM
A theif steals a Trek.
A victim of crime seeks a new bike
That Trek 1000 looks pretty
Google search: Trek 1000
Google answer: Road Bike Review dot com
256 Trek 1000 owners submit reviews of thier bikes
Trek 1000 good. Sora bad.
What is Sora?
Ask questions here --> www.RBR Discussion Forums.com
Question asked: Why does sora suck and who will fix it?
Responses many. Answer: Sora is sora. Sora is cheap. Trek 1000 is cheap. Buy Colnago.

I stay like a small child who can't tear his eyes from a parrade until the last float has passed by. Besides you guys talk about bikes like its the most important subject in the world. (Sorry, it IS the most important suject in the world.) And I think that's pretty damn cool.
I'm afraid of people and real relationships.Sintesi
Dec 10, 2002 8:13 AM
I prefer to keep you animals at arm's length. : )
You mean these relationships aren't real?........nmLen J
Dec 10, 2002 9:23 AM
The relationships are real, but are the posters?MB1
Dec 10, 2002 9:43 AM
The proof is in showing up for a ride or a chance meeting on a ride somewhere.

Of course reality is overated.
My wifeFez
Dec 10, 2002 9:48 AM
I used to bore my wife to tears talking about cycling and associated topics. (She's not a cyclist).

So she sent me here to read and talk cycling.
a shared obsession..dotkaye
Dec 10, 2002 10:39 AM
started riding for triathlons because I couldn't run much anymore, when my first frame cracked I couldn't afford a new bike so started shopping the classifieds for a frame.. Built up a frame from the RBR classifieds using this site's tech board and the rec.bicycles.tech archives for instruction. Hem.

Still learning things from the discussions here. Don't have time for club/group rides, so this is a good place to hang out and share the obsession..