RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Can Someone Recommend a Good Cycling Jacket?(12 posts)

Can Someone Recommend a Good Cycling Jacket?WHIZZard
Dec 9, 2002 8:27 AM
I have a jacket that's terrible! It flaps, and flutters and leaks cold air through the zipper. Anyone have a jacket that's good to 40 degF or so? I live in TX, so I don't need a heavy duty jacket (I'm not as hardcore as MB1!). What about the Voler jacket? Or the PI Zephyr? Appreciate any replies\input. Thanks.
re: Can Someone Recommend a Good Cycling Jacket?KEN2
Dec 9, 2002 8:38 AM
PI Zephyr2 jacket is the ticket IMO. Very soft, wind resistant, folds up very small, fits well, looks good. I prefer the Hi-Viz yellow for increased visibility to motorists. I ride in San Antonio and use it down to 30 degrees over a long sleeve jersey plus wicking undershirt.

The Voler is probably fine too, I just haven't ever tried one.
Hey! I live in San Antonio tooWHIZZard
Dec 9, 2002 11:15 AM
I appreciate the replies. LEN@, what part of SA do you live in?
I have MB1's jacketpmf1
Dec 9, 2002 8:52 AM
and I like this one better:

http://www.boure.com/5146.html

Especially for riding in 40's. I find the all plastic jackets get too hot unless I'm riding in pretty cold weather. This one has panels on the front, but not on the arms or the back.

BTW, here is MB1's jacket. I recently bought it. Not a bad deal for $105. It could use so more velcro so the cuffs would close better. To each his own I guess.

http://www.lickbike.com/i3139150.htm
So that is where I left it! nmMB1
Dec 9, 2002 11:28 AM
Microfiber's the stuff...cory
Dec 9, 2002 9:00 AM
I got two jackets made of polyester microfiber from Ross that have worked out really well in cool weather, or over fleece when it's cold. One is Nike, marked down to $19.95 from $80. The other is New Balance, a little baggier, I think $24.95. The manager is a friend, and she said they put the bright colors on the clearance rack because they don't sell (black and dark gray in the same style were around $40). Microfiber's good because it's light and reasonably breatheable, but cuts the wind and is water-resistant in drizzle and mist. Either one will fit in a jersey pocket.
I have the Assos Ghibli jacket!Bill J Pappas
Dec 9, 2002 9:25 AM
It's a microfibre jacket that's very wind/rain proof, and breathable thanks to the covered rear back vent. I bought it in high viz yellow, which is good for this time of year. It can easily be packed into a small size, and stored in a rear jersey pocket. It has a cycing specific cut, so on me it doesn't flap at all, unfortunately this jacket being intended only as a shell, it has no pockets.
I picked mine up at Parker International(Branford bike also stocks it!), since they had the best price for it, also Assos has recently renamed/remodelled this jacket, calling it now the "Oxygen". Apart from color design, no diff. between the 2.
PI Kodiak Barrier Jacketfbg111
Dec 9, 2002 11:47 AM
Looks good, fits snug and aerodynamically, warm down into the high 30s with just a Nike Dri-fit tshirt underneath. Breathable. No cold air leaks through the zippers. I live on the NC coast and ride near the shore where the Northeaster wind is fairly cool (30's - 40's) and strong in the winter. So far this jacket has kept me warm during all my rides with minimal layering. I liked my all-black one so much that I bought a second blue/black one, one size larger, to wear casually. All my friends and my sister's boyfriend want one now too, and they're not even bikers.

I am 5'11" with a 42.5" chest and use the size L for riding and the XL for casual wear. The L fits snugly enough to be fairly aerodynamic and out of my way during riding, while still having enough room inside for extra layers if necessary.

Review:
http://www.mtbreview.com/reviews/Jackets/product_86321.shtml

Buy:
http://www.gearshark.com/finder/details/Pearl-Izumi-Kodiak-Barrier-Jacket-Men-s/274753.html
pearl izumi vagabondtarwheel
Dec 9, 2002 12:21 PM
The big problem with cycling jackets is that it's easy to get overheated if the temperatures warm up while you're riding, which is often the case. That's why I like the PI Vagabond, because you can zip off the sleeves and turn it into a vest if it gets too warm. The PI jackets seem to run large, so I got mine in size L rather than my usual XL, and that minimizes the flapping. The jacket has two side pockets and one rear, all of which zip shut.
I really like my Patagonia Integral JacketAlex-in-Evanston
Dec 9, 2002 2:06 PM
I paid retail, but they're nicely discounted at Sierra Trading Post right now. They clain to be water-resistant. I've ridden in a slush storm for an hour and stayed dry.

Alex
re: Can Someone Recommend a Good Cycling Jacket?zeke
Dec 9, 2002 5:58 PM
Yes, the Boure Pro wind and rain cycling jacket. Extremely lightweight, folds very small to fit in jersey pocket and perfectly windproof. The perfect shell!!

http://www.boure.com/5504.html
re: Can Someone Recommend a Good Cycling Jacket?zeke
Dec 9, 2002 6:02 PM
I should have mentioned that I wear the Boure 5146 PRO thermal cycling jacket over the shell I listed in my earlier post. The shell and the 5146 are a perfect combination. If it gets too hot, simply remove the shell and put it into your pocket!