RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What is the "SUV" of the bike world?(21 posts)

What is the "SUV" of the bike world?bigrider
Dec 5, 2002 7:14 AM
I have heard so many complaints about the excessiveness of SUVs and how they are not needed for most of the people that own them, etc. We scorn them for the fact they are willing to pay extra for the priveledge of riding a bigger, comfortable, multipurpose, all options included vehicle.

Here is the question?

What is your viewpoint of that same excessive self-indulgent desire in the bike world? We are quick to identify the absurdity of it all when talking cars but we sure do gloss over it when talking bikes.

How about this?

A 55 year old scratching his gut through his XXL jersey while stopped at the convenience store in the middle of his 15 mile ride eating twinkies and talking about his 5000 dollar sub 16 lb. bike.
Any bike with one of those attachable motors. (nm)onespeed
Dec 5, 2002 7:18 AM
IntenseDougSloan
Dec 5, 2002 7:25 AM
Balfa_rt_
Dec 5, 2002 8:41 AM
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/michelecbc2(2)(1).jpg
is that the guy who tried to jump the great wall in china?Fez
Dec 5, 2002 8:47 AM
lol. that's a girl._rt_
Dec 5, 2002 8:54 AM
michele, somewhere in Vancouver.

(pic stolen off mtbr passion)

rt
Running to the corner shop on a b-stay. nmEager Beagle
Dec 5, 2002 7:27 AM
my viewpoint on excessive self indulgenceSteve_0
Dec 5, 2002 7:31 AM
I feel Americans, in general, are entirely too self-indulgent. Many of my posts in the past reflect that I (personally) think it's ridiculous to spend 5 grand on a bike. Heck I'd wouldnt spend 1 grand on a bike.

Thats not to say that I care what others do with their money, but I personally get the equal enjoyment and near equal performance with my 12 (15, dont even know) year old beater as the guy who buys a new litespeed every 3 years.

Personally, I'd rather give the extra 4500 dollars on charity, vacation for the wife, kids education funds, retirement, whatever.

My perspective on material goods changed dramatically after going to a few third-world (or 'developing nation' to be pc) countries. There are a lot of people in this world who are perfectly content, yet have little more than their health and their family. Here in the US, i see a lot of angry, unhappy people living in 6000 Sqft houses (for a family of 3), driving 60g vehicles, riding 5g bikes. We live the life of royalty (for some nations), and dont appreciate it. More appropriately, dont need it.

I think if some of these people downsized a house, refrained from the SUV, or bought the trek1000 rather than (whatever), they'd get a LOT more satisfaction from educating an innercity child or buying a needy family a car. Theyre just too self-indulgent to try.

Guess I'm trying to say that I try not to 'gloss' over excess when talking bikes.
You know what. I agree with you for the most part.ColnagoFE
Dec 5, 2002 8:06 AM
Still I'm not giving up my Colnago tomorrow. I've also gotten used to my nice house and the ability to buy pretty much anything I need without having to worry excessively about affording it. I do agree that buying expensive things doesn't make a person happy, but I don't see anything wrong with owning a few things you really treasure. I do have a problem with people who build monuments to themselves (ie 6000+ square foot homes for 1 or 2 people to live in) or those who own like 3000 pairs of shoes for no reason other than that they have the means to afford them. We can definately make do with much less than we made do with in this country. We are pretty spoiled.
no doubtSteve_0
Dec 5, 2002 8:21 AM
nothing wrong with treasures. I occassionaly buy my wife jewelry. Certainly indulgent. I enjoy my scotch. No real need for that. If biking's your love in life, I can see upgrading from your 1978 fuji.

Its when expensive turns to gluttony or feelings of entitlement (lack of appreciation), i get annoyed.

Ride on Mr Colnago.
my viewpoint on excessive self indulgenceFez
Dec 5, 2002 8:29 AM
Valid points to some degree. However, I wouldn't extrapolate these findings to every US citizen who has a spacious home, nice car, or great bike.

Have you considered the following:

1) That YOU may be considered self-indulgent and excessive?

2) That most of those angry, unhappy people living a life of excess would still be angry and unhappy regardless of how much or how little material wealth they have? Money is usually neither the cause nor solution to their lack of happiness.

3) In a free market economy, as long as people earn their money thru lawful and ethical means, they are free to spend it however. And did you consider that some of those people who you chastise as living a life of excess may do even more in terms of charitable and selfless deeds?
my viewpoint on excessive self indulgenceSteve_0
Dec 5, 2002 8:53 AM
Agree. In fact, i avoided such extapolation by saying "generally", "i feel" and "my perspective". I also avoided judgment on people with such opulence, and merely cited the fact that i've observed unhappy people with such excesses.

regarding
1) Yes, i admitted I have indulgences in my follow up post, and qualified that by saying I see nothing wrong with personal treasures, but get upset when expense turns to gluttony.
2) I dont agree here. Perhaps some, not all. I know MANY people who gave up wealthy lifestyles and material goods for happiness.
3) I agree free market economies allow people to spend money how they see fit. Reread my second paragraph.

Lastly, I chastised noone. Rereading my text, i cannot see where you would draw such an inference. I also never criticized anyone for NOT giving to charity (another inference on your part), merely stated my belief that many would experience more joy than buying a new litespeed.

No sure as to why youre so fired up about my opinion.
my viewpoint on excessive self indulgenceFez
Dec 5, 2002 9:23 AM
No sure as to why youre so fired up about my opinion.

Not fired up, and actually I probably agree with you more than I disagree. I just wanted to bring out some alternate viewpoints.

And lastly, the point about the big houses and the giving to charity was that it is possible to do both; its just that people only notice the big house and car and not the charitable donation (unless it gets publicized).
my viewpoint on excessive self indulgenceSteve_0
Dec 5, 2002 9:33 AM
ABSOLUYTELY AGREE with your last point....wasnt trying to say otherwise.

my wife worked with a charity who received unfathomable donations from anoymous donors (talking 7 figures annually). Most of these people held quite comfortable lifestyes (obviously). There's all sorts of great people out there with money AND a good heart. Certainly wasnt to implying you cant have the two. I Cant deny them from enjoying it themselves.

.
FreeRide Moutain bike???biknben
Dec 5, 2002 7:31 AM
I would argue that the freeride mountain bike is the SUV of the bike industry.

Those mega-hucking rigs take the cake though. Totally necessary for those guys on the North Shore but not for the masses. I sat on a 50lb. Tomac rig last night at the shop. The owner had brought it in with a broken pedal. Seven inches of travel. 3-inch wide tires. Not a scratch on it. I can think of only two places in the state where this thing can actually be used for its intended purpose. I doubt the owner has ever heard of them.

To each their own.
re: What is the "SUV" of the bike world?Trent in WA
Dec 5, 2002 7:31 AM
Actually, for me the problem with SUVs is that, even by the exalted standards of the typical North American automobile, they're environmental catastrophes that are all too often owned and operated by people who have little concept for what their proper, safe use entails, but who got them (or got them for their 16-year-old newly minted driver) because they're confident that, when (not if) they're in a crash, they're not going to be the ones carted off in a body bag.

So, for me, the SUVs of the bike world would be those bikes and riders who pose hazards to themselves and others because they don't know or don't care about how their actions impinge on the safety of other folks on the road. My nominees:

--Lean, hard, stoked, 'tude-rich 23-year-old racerboys who blow through stop signs and sneer at you when you have to panic-brake to stop for them, followed closely (perhaps physically!) by

--Hammerheads on aero bars trying to ramp up their AT and / or set their personal best while going double the speed limit on the local multi-use trail.

Trent
Jeep makes mountain bikesColnagoFE
Dec 5, 2002 7:59 AM
http://www.taspromotions.itctv.com/t/taspromotions/default.asp?S=500&A=F&CategoryID=476130
78Lbs - Hahahhahahahahahah!!!!nmEager Beagle
Dec 5, 2002 8:09 AM
sends shivers down my spine.......nmMrCrud
Dec 5, 2002 8:52 AM
nm
The "SUV" would have to be the rider, not the bikeFez
Dec 5, 2002 8:46 AM
The SUV villification is partly due to the the SUV itself - its weight, size, poor fuel economy, greater emissions, etc. The other part is due to the poor behavior of the SUV driver.

With roadbikes, I doubt the bike itself is offensive. It is the rider that can be offensive. So I would beware of any rider, regardless of the bike he is on, that doesn't follow the rules of the road or puts other folks in danger, whether it is on the road or the bike path.

That fat 55 year old with the $5,000 bike would be just as offensive on a $500 bike - just .5 mph slower!
Is Carbon Fiber recycleable?czardonic
Dec 5, 2002 3:01 PM
Isn't it basically reinforced plastic? It is certainly indulgent.