RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Question: Does anyone not like their bike?(30 posts)

Question: Does anyone not like their bike?yeah right
Dec 4, 2002 8:37 PM
Just a silly question, but on this board, when ever anyone asks for any advice, the answers are always of the form "this is what I have and you'll love it."

It makes me wonder how much critical thinking people do about their bikes.

I also wonder how many of peoples complaints would have to do with fit.

I'll start: The Serotta Colorado TG I'm riding now while my bike is going back to the factory weighs a ton and isn't responsive at all.
re: Question: Does anyone not like their bike?The Human G-Nome
Dec 4, 2002 9:09 PM
it's a good point. if you read the bike reviews, the amount of 5 out of 5 is preposterous. it's hard to find a review where someone rates their bike less then perfect. i think part of that is because someone will only bother to rate their bike when it's still new to them. hopefully, if you researched and test rode your bike, you've layed down your money on something that sang to you. or else why would you have bought it in the first place? i can't imagine someone throwing down thousands of dollars on a bike and then writing "my new bike sucks!". also, people are apt to take lots of personal pride in their ride. you spend a lot of time with it, you get to know it. you become an expert on it. you want to love it despite its faults. seems natural.
YesFez
Dec 4, 2002 9:13 PM
But I'm fine with it. One of my bikes is new and very nice, but I secretly wish it had an upgraded all-carbon fork, sleek King headset, and a Zepp XL bar/stem combo.

But that upgrade is very expensive and a hassle. Probably would have to pay the LBS to do the fork and headset part. And it probably won't make that much of a difference performance wise. So I just ride it.

I'm just splitting hairs between a really nice bike and a dream bike. So I guess I am 98% happy with it. Its just that I would have to pay another $600+ for the last 2%.

Now if I had a fit problem, then that would be a different story.
Here's a list for ya :)empacher6seat
Dec 4, 2002 9:30 PM
Reasons I dislike my bike:
-Weighs in at just over 40 lbs
-rather serious fit problem: top tube is too short.
-quick release skewer on rear wheel doesn't close properly sometimes, which can be VERY VERY SCARY!
-Did I mention it's heavy?
-Drive train is worn out, I experience chain slip on hills very often

However... this is a mid-80's bike that I bought for $500 (Cdn) so I guess I can't ask for too much from it, plus some of the problems are one's I could've avoided by being an imformed consumer (top tube length).
re: Question: Does anyone not like their bike?fbg111
Dec 4, 2002 9:46 PM
I haven't noticed "this is what I have and you'll love it". I've noticed "this is what I have and I love it, maybe it will work for you too." I know I've only owned one road bike, so I can't really give experienced advice on what to buy, but I can certainly give an objective description of what I own, especially when someone posts a thread asking specifically about that model.
My steel ain't real ...bsdc
Dec 5, 2002 1:16 AM
I read a lot of steel is real comments, so I climbed back on my old steel bike with it's steel fork and headed down the road. It's true! It had a lot of road feel. I could feel every hairline crack in the road. I could also feel my filling starting to come loose with jolt.

I think a lot people praise their new bikes, not only because they spent a lot of money, but because their new investment is a significant upgrade from their old bike. I find the bike ratings on this site useful. Not every bike or component is rated 5 of 5. People are just as quick to trash a rating because a part failed on them. If this happens only once or twice an item will maintain a high rating. If problems occur a lot, the rating goes down and I start to become wary of the product.
What kinda steel is it?ColnagoFE
Dec 5, 2002 8:11 AM
I hate the ride of my Bianchi Eros. Like a noodle. But I love the ride of my Colnago MXL.
My DB has a steel fork that picks up all the road vib.Kristin
Dec 5, 2002 8:18 AM
I haven't read a lot of reviews of steel forks, but my guess is that how much road buzz travels to your hands has more to do with the design of a fork than the material.
the rating system is dumbcollinsc
Dec 5, 2002 1:26 AM
the numbers that is. seeing all the 5/5 entries is pretty nearly worthless.

however, reading the comments and seeing the numbers of comments is extrordinarily useful.
Great Questionbigrider
Dec 5, 2002 4:57 AM
Most people love their bikes like a man loves a big fat woman on a deserted island. They just don't have anything to compare it to.

You can't go out and buy 4 or 5 2000 dollar bikes so when you upgrade from a garage sale cheapie to a decent bike it is perfect, and really is in their perspective.

My Story is this:

I started riding again seven years ago and pulled out a Fuji bike from 1976. I rode it around a thousand miles and decided to upgrade. I bought a Bianchi CDI steel bike for 1100 dollars brand new.

Six months later I bought a used italian steel bike with downtube shifters for 200 dollars and discovered it rode better than the Bianchi. After a year I upgraded the shifters on the italian steel bike, bought a used trek 5200 for 500 dollars and sold the Biancchi for 600.

The summary of the story is I would have rated the Bianchi as a superb bike before I had somehting to compare it with.
Now it is just a decent steel entry bike.
I've been lucky enough to own several nice bikes...Ray Sachs
Dec 5, 2002 5:09 AM
...and there were several of them that I didn't like very much. I currently have six bikes and have owned many more and I've only owned one bike that I've completely, totally, and unequivicably (sp?) bonded with. I'll never sell it and I hope I never wreck it badly. It's not even close to being the most expensive bike I've owned or the lightest or the most tricked out, but it's the best bike (comfort, responsiveness, stability, reliability, etc.) for the way I ride 90% of the time. My other five bikes fight over the other 10% of my rides. They're nice too, and for certain circumstances, they're the best pick, but mostly they serve to remind me how much I like the NUMERO UNO.

Of course, the other side of the equation is that I've never had a bike I truly hated either. I've liked all of them in some way, but some of them I didn't like enough to pull out and ride enough to justify keeping them.

-Ray
So which one is the 'Keeper'?rwbadley
Dec 5, 2002 7:45 AM
Rivendell RoadRay Sachs
Dec 6, 2002 11:35 AM
Pre-custom - they were limited production bikes then and cost "only" about $1000 for the frame and fork. The darn thing still feels like magic every time I throw a leg over it.

BTW, not a sales pitch. Probably wouldn't be best for folks that more racing oriented or even full-on touring oriented. But for the kind of "faster touring" type of riding that I like to do, for my particular dimensions and preference, just friggin' perfect.

-Ray
It's hard not to like your bike when you love riding.dzrider
Dec 5, 2002 5:32 AM
I've certainly liked riding some bikes more than others, but ultimately they all enable me to ride.
Like the bike, hate the shifters/barsn69
Dec 5, 2002 5:55 AM
Bike: 02 Dean Culebra. Love it for all the usual reasons. At 6'2" and 180, weight doesn't concern me that much. With Ultegra it's something like 19 pounds.

What I don't like, however, are the stinking STI shifters and the way they interface with the Ritchey WCS bars. Prior to this bike, I only owned tri bikes with pursuit/aero bars. I stuck with the Ultegra gruppo on this one, but finally made the jump to STIs. Unfortunately, they don't fit my hands very well, and that combined with the curvature in the WCS bars makes for an uncomfortable position on the hoods. In retrospect, I should have given Chorus more considerations and I should have stuck to Deda 215s, which I know I like.

FWIW, I've had no rattle problems with my shifters, but I check the screw frequently.

Still, I give a big thumbs down to Ultegra's shifters and a moderate thumbs down to the WCS bars.
It's the shiftersbsdc
Dec 5, 2002 6:22 AM
I have the same problem with not being comfortable on the hoods of STI shifters. I think shimano has a nice product except for this one problem. I test rode a bike equiped with Chorus and loved the flat, comfortable hoods. I'll be a Campy convert soon ... if only for one not so minor ergonomic issue.
Be joyousEager Beagle
Dec 5, 2002 6:25 AM
for now you are ready to enter the world of Campy, and all will be resolved...
Be joyoussn69
Dec 5, 2002 7:58 AM
Actually I'm getting punchy and twitchy to procure an older lugged steel frame and build it up with NOS Campy parts. I blame Spirito...he did this to me!!!!
Done thatEager Beagle
Dec 5, 2002 8:25 AM
well actually it came build - lugged steel with Record parts built as a single speed.

It's the way ahead - everyone should have one in the stable.
If you researched before you bought...onrhodes
Dec 5, 2002 6:24 AM
I would think that if you are an intelligent consumer you would have done research and test ridden all the bikes you could have before plopping down some serious cash.
In my college days when I sold bikes, I always told potential customers "to not shop on price alone. Go ride several bikes that you are interested in. One of them is going to just feel better then the rest. That is the one you want to buy."
Seriously. Would you buy a TV, computer, lawnmower, CAR, etc without doing some research? I hope not. So it is justifiable why people like there bikes so much. I had a GT ZR 2.0 frame. It was an okay bike, but nothing special. I had a Litespeed Arenberg that was a total dog as a race bike, but kicked butt on Century rides. My Giant TCR was the best race bike I had owned, but still a little harsh for some one in the 135 LB category. My current Look 361 is the most comfortable bike I have ever had and makes an excellent race bike too.
Last but not least, Everyone has different tastes. Lighter doesn't mean better, nor does more expensive me higher quality.
Even still, you can choose wrongKristin
Dec 5, 2002 6:53 AM
I didn't tons of research. Ask the board. If you don't know bikes and haven't ridden much, fit is almost impossible to understand.

All the stuff that made the DB appealing on test rides, was exactly the stuff that makes it a bad fit for any new riders. Its a crit frame. Designed for speed at that cost of comfort. Well, what new "recreational" rider--not an mtb'r or runner--is ready for that kind of shock on their system? It was fun to test ride and fun on the fist few group rides, but the honeymoon ended quickly. Theres a lot to be said for hind sight.
Mine's not fast enough, doesn't go up hills like a goat, etc. nmpben
Dec 5, 2002 6:36 AM
Yes, I do not like my bikeKristin
Dec 5, 2002 6:48 AM
You know its sad when you own a DeBernardi, and you find yourself pining for your stolen Trek 720 Hybrid on long rides.

My bike simply doesn't fit well. I've done a number of things to try to correct this, which have improved my position, but not perfected it. The biggest problem is a funky geometry that doesn't allow me to raise my bars to the same height as my saddle. When I first got the bike, I had a 6" drop to the hoods. I've replaced my stem for a 3rd time, with a H20 90mm and reduded that too 2". What makes it interesting, is that I only have 2.5" of standover...so technically I should be able to get my bars the same height, but I can't. My fit is better now, but I'm still not comfortable.

I think that its easy to make the wrong choice on your first road bike. Bill said it best when I first started posting, "you don't even know what questions to ask yet..." This is true. You must ride to understand road bike fit. I will ride my sucky fit for a while longer so that I'm better equipped to shop for my next bike. It won't hurt if I get a magical raise in the meantime.

What do they say? Oh yes, "What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger..."
Use much thicker bar-tape. nmEager Beagle
Dec 5, 2002 6:59 AM
Like this...Kristin
Dec 5, 2002 7:29 AM
Yeah, plus 4 pairs of gloves. nm.Eager Beagle
Dec 5, 2002 7:30 AM
Trying out bikesbsdc
Dec 5, 2002 7:20 AM
I've found Ebay to be a good way to try out bikes. You can buy a used bike with different components and/or different frames and ride it for a while. If you don't like it, you can usually get back most of what you paid for it. You might even be able to find a lightly used Trek 720 hybrid.
Some better than othersterry b
Dec 5, 2002 6:57 AM
I like them all, but there are a couple I like a wee bit more. Generally the little dislikes have more to do with some component that's not working as I'd like it to.

However, I researched the heck out of each of them prior to buying and so to me it's not a big surprise that they all are loveable. I try to buy bikes that approximate good examples of the various technologies available (CF, Ti, light steel, combos) so while they are all different, they are all okay.

I will agree with you on this though - many people spend a lot of time spouting art critic talk about the subtleties of their bikes. Judging my 6, I think they all pretty much behave the same and if you're going to buy an expensive bike it's pretty unlikely that you'll have something bad to say about it.
I think if you have just one bike...rwbadley
Dec 5, 2002 8:13 AM
there will be points the one bike may be weak on. It would be unfair to complain about the Bianchi commuter being too flexy and heavy for fast group rides.

The 'race bike' may have a seating position I would not want to ride century on.

Having several bikes allows for the ability to ride the proper bike for the purpose.

My old Paramount rides like a dream, and in it's day was a pretty fair race bike. By today's standard it is a little heavy (ok, a lot heavy) but it still handles better than any bike I've been on.

I recently picked up a new bike, and while I'm still dialing the fit in and making a few changes, I have rode it enough to know it is lighter, faster and rides really well. The jury is still out on the handling, I havn't made a fearless blast down Ebbetts pass at 30mph on it yet. It does have handling that on the surface doesnt' seem quite as neutral, but I still have to put on the 'good tires' and just now flipped the stem over from the pointed toward the sky position.

They're all good, some are just better (for the purpose) than others.

RW
re: Question: Does anyone not like their bike?No_sprint
Dec 5, 2002 9:18 AM
I'd rather my Ciocc had a fork with less rake, that's about it. I go back and forth all the time considering putting an Ouzo Pro in it. Now that I think about it, I'd like a couple pairs of Lews too.