RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any disadvantages to Kurt Kinetic and/or 1Up trainers...(9 posts)

Any disadvantages to Kurt Kinetic and/or 1Up trainers...SS_MB-7
Dec 2, 2002 8:26 AM
Are there any disadvantages to Kurt Kinetic and/or 1Up trainers? In particular, since these trainers automatically adjust resistance based on cadence vs those that have a manual resistance adjuster (ex: Tacx Cycleforce Swing). If I wanted to simulate a long, grunt of a climb with high resistance and low cadence, could this be done with the Kurt and/or 1Up? Or, since my cadence is low, will the resistance also be low?

All the trainers I have used in the past have used a manual resistance adjuster so I have no experience with auto resistance a la Kurt and 1Up.

I need to purchase a new trainer this week and am considering the Tacx Cycleforce Swing, Tacx Grand Excel, 1Up and Kurt Kinetic. I like the simplicity of the Tacx Cycleforce Swing (wish it had a computer to measure speed, distance, etc though), 1Up and Kurt, but love the features of the Tacx Grand Excel. Dollar-to-dollar, I can get the Tacx GE, 1Up and Kurt at the approximately the same price since the shop I race for can get the Tacx (I pay cost), whereas, the 1Up and Kurt would need to bought direct, which adds a lot to the price since I am in Canada.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
1upUSAPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Dec 2, 2002 9:29 AM
I've been looking at the 1upUSA and it looks like a good product. Personally since shipping is free, you can use a bike computer on the trainer and it looks better than the Kurt I might get it.

From what I understand resistance is controlled by wheel speed and not cadence but when you shift into your largest gear there should be enough resistance to do a seated hill. Email the owner and ask.

Keep me posted on what you decide! I'm interested in the 1up...

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
Shipping is free, but...SS_MB-7
Dec 2, 2002 9:42 AM
Yes, the shipping via UPS is free, but you'll get dinged brokerage fees. Another local rider has the 1Up (he is pleased with his), but informed to be prepared to cough-up and additional $120 CDN to cover taxes (GST and PST) and the UPS brokerage fee. This brings the 1Up within a couple dollars of the Tacx Grand Excel. Decisions, decisions.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
re: Any disadvantages to Kurt Kinetic and/or 1Up trainers...cresting
Dec 2, 2002 10:19 AM
Last month, I was trying to decide between the 1Up and the Tacx. I decided to go with the Tacx Basic (same resistance unit as the Grand Excel). I am very satisfied with the Tacx. It is quiet, has a good flywheel, provides substanial resistance and power monitoring.

I am planning on about upgrading it to the I-magic. Tacx recently released a free upgrade for the Imagic, a windows program called "Catalyst". It provides all of the funtionality of the Grand Excel through a PC. I expect I will be using this program regularly as I assume the the Virtual Reality program will get tiresome.

If you are able to get a Tacx Grand Excel at that price, it is an easy decision. You still have to decide between the Grand Excel and the Imagic. The only downside to the Imagic is having to deal with a PC.

Good luck!
Any complaints with the Basic?...SS_MB-7
Dec 2, 2002 2:17 PM
The reason I ask is because a teammate has had a couple issues with his I-Magic. In particular, he had problems with the fork mount used for steering....some of the parts were busted and others weren't aligned properly. This isn't an issue with the Ergo models since they don't use this feature, but it is indicative of the quality control of Tacx products.

Also, he had some anomalies with the power setting feature in which it was jumping all over the place during an exercise. This is controlled by the Catalyst software used by the I-Magic and may not be an issue with the Grand Excel since it uses the Analyser software. He's unfortunately received zero customer support from Tacx, despite repeated attempts.

I really like the features of the Grand Excel, but am worried about the quality and customer support based on my teammates experience with his I-Magic. The 1Up and Kurt are more of a KISS (keep it simple stupid) trainer with little to go wrong. Granted, they don't have nearly the features of the Grand Excel.

When using the software to regulate power, do you notice the change in resistance? How often does it change the resistance? All of my training thus far has been on trainers and Spinning bikes with manual resistance changes so the resistance is always consistent. I'd hate to have the auto resistance trainer jumping all over the place during workout.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
Any complaints with the Basic?...cresting
Dec 3, 2002 7:27 AM
When using a set wattage, the computer on the Basic has no trouble smoothly adjusting the resistance to compensate for changes in cadence and gearing. I find adjusting the wattage to be far more effective that the adjusting the slope (i.e. braking level). When I first got the basic, I used the slope to regulate my training and had a similar impression.

As for the I-magic, have not tried it, but would be surpised if it did not provide similar performance. Suggest to your teammate that try using wattage instead of slope.

In regard to quality, my only issue was that the documentation did not clearly describe the assembly of the lever that applies pressure to the roller. I called Tacx in Holland and spoke to the production manager. He tried to help but there was a bit of a language barrier. I then called the US distributer who was very helpful.

One last note, the pricing of the basic and the Imagic upgrade is about the same as the Imagic product. The advantage is that you can use the Basic computer, when you don't have a PC available.

Personnally, I was not planning on getting the steering unit. I thought the point of all this was indoor suffering, not games :)


Good luck!
re: Any disadvantages to Kurt Kinetic and/or 1Up trainers...toronto-rider
Dec 2, 2002 1:41 PM
I just received my Kurt Kinetic trainer and I live in Canada as well. The trainer is great, I got the super duty one as it was only a couple of $ more.
About costs, I called the 1800# and because I was ordering from Canada I got an unbelievable deal, I know the price to US customers is $299 for the basic model. The customer service is great and when I asked for them to ship it I asked that it be sent USPS and that the invoice be sent in a separate envelope so that customs would not know the price. For customs declaration I asked that $100 be put on the box. The shipping dept. at Kurt screwed up and I got dinged with a $120+ bill to collect the trainer. $46 for UPS handeling charge which was reimbursed by Kurt but I had to absorb the GST & PST on the $299 USD price even though I paid much less for the trainer. I thaught of asking for more from Kurt to cover their mistake of not sending the invoice seperately, but when I calculated the total cost I paid for the trainer it was cheaper than if I had being living in the States and paid the $299USD. I saved over $400 CDN if I would have purchased from Dorneals ( the only dealer in Ontario)
Give them a call you might get the same deal as me.
Are you sure???....SS_MB-7
Dec 2, 2002 6:12 PM
From my search, most were ~$560 + tax = $644, including D'ornellas and Freewheel Cycles in the GTA. Please explain how you saved over $400CDN? What exactly did you pay for the trainer?

I'm located in Ottawa and none of my LBS' stock the Kurt, so I'd likely be buying direct.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
Oops, it was Ryeka and Freewheel, not D'Ornellas that have the Kurt road for $560 (nm)SS_MB-7
Dec 3, 2002 7:07 AM