RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Your opinion, Giant TCR, which model??(12 posts)

Your opinion, Giant TCR, which model??Peter E
Dec 2, 2002 2:46 AM
I have seen some deals on Giant TCR but can't really decide which one i should go for.
Here are the chocies i narrowed it down to:

TCR composite with ultegra and Ritchey Pro (wheels and other)
TCR composite with Dura-Ace and Ritchey WCS (wheels and other)
TCR alu with Dura-Ace and Ritchey WCS (wheels and other)

The price difference is +110 USD from alu DA to composite ultegra. And another 770 USD from composite ultegra to composite DA (+880 USD from ALU to composite in DA)

would like to here your advise on this.
I say cr**w Giantelviento
Dec 2, 2002 7:29 AM
thumbs down for their sizes S, M, and L. Are bikes like T shirts now?

But if you are happy with the size, get the Ultegra Composite.
Agree on all counts.MXL02
Dec 2, 2002 7:34 AM
If you must get a Giant, get the composite. The aluminum is too brittle and you'll feel every pebble in the road.
re: Your opinion, Giant TCR, which model??Jwh445
Dec 2, 2002 8:28 AM
With that price difference, I would opt for the TCR composite w/ Ultegra. The Ritchey wheels are suspect, but I will say I have ridden them for 2 years. I have broken at least 6 rear spokes, but the bearings are silky smooth. I have never seen wheels spin this easy.

As for Giant, I bought my wife a TCR1 last year. She loves it and we have never had a problem. If you are an average size person, you will not have a problem fitting a S,M or L. I for one am happy to see a company cater to the average person and pass the R&D savings on to the same average person. Let's here it for normalcy!!! :-)

But, the key question, and only you can answer: Are you normally average?

John
How will you use it?McAndrus
Dec 2, 2002 8:31 AM
If you're going to race, I'd say go with the aluminum. It's supposed to be a little lighter than the composite and the aluminum frames are wickedly responsive in criterium situations.

If you're a casual or fast-group rider, then I'd say the composite would probably be more comfortable.

By the way, I have a TCR aluminum in a large size and it fits me perfectly. Some people are ultra-finicky about fit and they'll slam Giant for its lack of frame-size variety.
RE: How will you use it? and Ritchey wheelsBeaver
Dec 2, 2002 9:29 AM
Have to disagree about the weight issue. I have mediums in both an aluminum TCR 1 and a carbon TCR 0. The carbon is lighter.

My stock carbon TCR 0 with Dura Ace weighed in under 15.5 lbs with Speedplay X2s and before I put on Tacx Tao water bottle cages and changed the tires over to Conti GP 3000s. So I'm guessing not much of a weight gain there.

My aluminum TCR 1 weighs about 17.4 lbs with Ultegra, 24 hole Dura Ace hubs on Mavic Open Pros...2x front, 3x rear and I think 14/15 gauge spokes. It might be a little lighter now that I changed to saddle to a Selle San Marco Aspide from a Selle Italia Pro Link, but not much.

I just don't see where a near identical setup can account for more than a pound and half weight difference. Ultegra versus Dura Ace can't be that much, nor can Kysrium SL's verus my Dura Ace wheelset.

I think the aluminum frame being lighter started around the Tour when ONCE let out that Beloki was riding a special one-off aluminum climbing bike that was lighter than the carbon. You can see pictures of Beloki riding this bike in the Pyrennes at cyclingnews.com. He didn't ride the bike in the Alps. You can tell them apart by the decal package, the one-off had 2002 decals, the carbon, 2003 decals.

Now regarding Ritchey wheels. I had the Ritchey aero wheels on my TCR 1, but switched them to the Dura Ace setup after breaking 2 spokes. The first spoke was a front and the second was a rear. The first spoke broke while in the truing stand and the second spoke broke while pulling away from a stoplight...good thing the lbs was only a half mile away. I decided to have my LBS rebuild the Ritcheys with non aero spokes....DT something or others, I forget the gauge right now....as I like the hubs and rims. Haven't ridden them since the rebuild though.
Your thoughts on the composite frame?JD88
Dec 2, 2002 5:51 PM
Can I please have your thoughts on the Composite frame. Ride quality, stifness, good for the sprint etc..
re: Your opinion, Giant TCR, which model??aliensporebomb
Dec 2, 2002 9:24 AM
I have the TCR2 which is the aluminum framed 105 equipped
bike.

Currently I've got 775 miles on it since 7/3/2002. I've
done rides in the the forty mile range with no problems
at all (wife calling versus "bike being painful".)

It's lightweight, corners like it's on rails, is fast-
accelerates like it's shot out of a cannon or the like.
It's a great bike.

The cons would be down to the CXP21 wheelset it was
shipped with but that being said, the design is
faultless.

I've heard a lot of "oh, it's painful, you'll feel every
road crevice" type noises from people but that hasn't
been my experience. Maybe if I lose weight that will
be the case but not now.

I'm sort of a clydesdale (> 200 lbs) so for me the
carbon in the fork, stem, seatpost and seatframe (the
Selle Italia prolink they were shipping last year has
carbon encased ti rails) really smooths out the road
and the ride.

My guess is: if you can afford a carbon version maybe go
for it. But you won't be unhappy with the alu version
should you decide to go there.

My two cents.
re: Your opinion, Giant TCR, which model??fbg111
Dec 2, 2002 9:50 AM
I have a '02 aluminum TCR2 as well, and I'd recommend getting the TCR carbon with Ultegra (unless price is no object, in which case get the Dura Ace, or better yet the TCR Team with Record 10 and ONCE markings). The composite ultegra appears to be the best value in your list. The aluminum TCR2 is nice, but big cracks in the road are transferred directly to my backbone, despite the carbon seatpost and my ti-railed saddle. Ouch. Luckily, such cracks are rare, and they're big enough that any bike short of a dual active suspension mountain bike will not do much dampen them. However, I've test ridden the TCR Composite 0 and it has a softer ride over rough road surfaces than my aluminum does. The composite frame is also lighter; in fact Giant claims it's the lightest production frame in the world.

http://www.giantbicycles.com/us/010.000.000/010.020.050.asp

"The Giant TCR Compact Road frame is a combination of unique product design and extremely lightweight aluminum construction, and at one kilo (2.2 pounds) is in fact the lightest production road frame available today."
Oops, ignore that link and quote...fbg111
Dec 2, 2002 9:53 AM
they're a bit outdated. I'm just rushed and didn't notice the "aluminum" part till after I posted it. I thought 2.2lbs sounded a little heavy for the composite. Anyway, I'll post a better link if I can find one.
re: Your opinion, Giant TCR, which model??aliensporebomb
Dec 2, 2002 10:07 AM
2003 Giant catalog literature says composite frame is
2.1 pounds, aluminum is 2.3.
Thanks...fbg111
Dec 2, 2002 10:45 AM
Considering the new alum frames are based on the fatter down tube and seat tube of the '02 TCR Aero, that 2.3lbs (>2.2 of '02) makes sense. I thought the composite frame was lighter, though.